supercard software takes so much space

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by kodos84, Jul 22, 2006.

Jul 22, 2006
  1. kodos84
    OP

    Newcomer kodos84 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    I just opened the "add or remove programs" utility from the control panel and i noticed that the supercard program takes 580 MB of space. Why does it use so much?? It takes as much space as microsoft office and photoshop combined! Has anyone noticed this and is it the same with everyone else?
     
  2. twomix

    Newcomer twomix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Indonesia
    it's windows errorness, or installer errorness?
    the one you have to believe is from
    c:\program files\sc
    right click the folder and choose properties
    and see 'size on disk'
     
  3. dafatkid27

    Member dafatkid27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    486
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    There's probably a good chance that you're saving your roms/patched roms within one of the folders in the install path. The way Windows categorizes the size of an install is not by the size of the base install, but by the size of the folder and everything in it that it was installed into.

    Example: You install the supercard program to C:\Program Files\Supercard\

    Let's just say it takes about 10 megs of space. But then you patch all of your .nds roms, and they are output into the C:\Program Files\Supercard\patched\ folder. Let's say your total amount of roms you patched added up to 570 megs. Windows then looks at the C:\Program Files\Supercard\ folder and sees that its total size is 580 megs (because of the sub-folder). That would explain the reason why Windows thinks it's so large in the Add/Remove Programs list.

    That may not be your exact situation, but I think it's close/a pretty good guess.
     
  4. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Software takes up roughly 10mb of space like dafatkid said. Just delete all the patched roms that are in the OUT folder.
     
  5. kodos84
    OP

    Newcomer kodos84 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Ooooooooh, that explains alot. I just thought the size was how much the installed program uses. Thanks guys.

    Edit: Hmm, i deleted the files and it still says its 580 MB, even after restarting. Probably just a glitch but its really bugging me.
     
  6. xflash

    Member xflash Local Ninja

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,102
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Norway
    maybe you're drunk (haha just kidding) but anyhow you should prolly save you're roms in another folder from now on unless ya want it to happen again
     

Share This Page

Loading...