Supercard precautions?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Pyrofyr, May 22, 2008.

May 22, 2008

Supercard precautions? by Pyrofyr at 6:49 AM (1,383 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    I'm considering purchasing a Supercard DS One in a few days (The newer versions, green box, etc) but I'm not sure if it's worth it.

    ATM I currently have an M3 DS Real and the compatibility is shit, so I'm deciding to swap out, however I have a few things I need to know first

    1)I've heard SCDSOne has the best compatibility rates, does it work with every game (tested)? Are there any known problems with specific games that might cause me to miss out on some favorites of mine?

    2)Will it work with the M3 Real GBA pack or might I have to buy a different one (I know it doesn't work with the R4, but not sure about this one), if that's the case, what slot-2 should I buy to work with it (I enjoy me some GBA games :])

    3)Are there any problems overall I should know abuot before buying it? I'll be looking stuff up, and have looked up a bit so far, but I suppose answers straight from people are better.

    4)The review states a 32Gbit(4GByte) maximum, meaning it has SDHC support or no? And is that really the max, I can never get an 8GB? :[

    5)GBA Union intrigues me, does this work well for Pokemon games and the like?

    The review seems to have been done a while ago though, so it's bad rating of the game, probably doesn't mean anything about recent upgrades and such.

    I plan on getting the following:
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.5097
    Disregard 4, I realized the one I plan on getting is SDHC.
     
  2. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    as far as i know it works for pokemon well
     
  3. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you, VERY much :]

    It seems I'm going to aim to get a Kingston 4GB microSDHC right after I can get this. I'm attempting to use prizerebel to get them off of DealExtreme, so I can only hope for the best.

    I'm unsure of the difference between Class 4/6, I'm guessing 6 is faster? (I have no idea though)

    I'm hoping to get this card after I make sure it works fine: http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.11241

    If not, I'll probably settle for a 2GB

    The ndsinfo.dat doesn't seem to be too big of a problem after looking around.

    I think I've made up my mind now that I have those answers, I'll be getting one of these for sure.
     
  4. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    That memorycard should work perfectly.
     
  5. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not so sure about the GBA Union. I know you can do the GBA-to-DS Pokemon linkup if you're using both a Supercard DS and a slot-2 Supercard, but I don't think it'll work with a different slot-2 device. Other games with GBA linkup may work, but I think Pokemon requires the slot-2 device to be a Supercard.
     
  6. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,812
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    If i might interject about a microSDHC card i just got:

    Its an A-Data 4gig (Class 6) for $18.99 US with $5.99 3 day shipping.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx...N82E16820211196

    One comment on that page says it arrived DOA, but mine is working flawlessly (and is quite speedy, i might add).
    I have never really had a problem with getting cheap mem sticks from REAL dealers (i had a problem with one off Ebay a bit back, but i learned my lesson).
    So thats another option for you [​IMG]
     
  7. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. I ordered my SCDS1 via prizerebel (DealExtreme) so I should be getting it in a week or 2. Once I know it's coming, I'll probably just pay for the microSDHC out of pocket.

    That seems like a great price for that card, so I'll make sure to check it out 8]
     
  8. ojsinnerz.

    Member ojsinnerz. Damned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,152
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If you want, I have a review of the SCDS1 SDHC on my blog. Just click my account, view member's profile, scroll down a bit, and you should find it.

    The only game I haven't been able to get it to work is COD4. I have over 150 ROMs, and 1 COD4 doesn't work. Maybe it was a bad dump, because I didn't hear any problems regarding COD4 on the sites.
     
  9. George290506

    Member George290506 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Hellas, Macedonia
    Country:
    Greece
    I am using SCDS1 SDHC and I am very pleased. Reccomended. Every game I have tested worked.
    Only the marioKDS-patch for the paddle did not worked for me. [​IMG]
     
  10. Pyrofyr
    OP

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Oooh I almost forgot one more question, as the site confused me on this.

    After getting the NDS do I have to patch it into another file (That's what I saw, but I'm not sure if it's just for supercard or for SCDS1). :wtf:; I'd hate to have to also change them everytime :[

    In any case however, I'm considering getting the leetrom site discount while possible, so I'll hopefully start ordering it tomorrow/the day after.
     

Share This Page