Supercard Lite gives black screen

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by XtremeResident, Aug 25, 2006.

Aug 25, 2006
  1. XtremeResident
    OP

    Member XtremeResident GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    I dont know if this is just my SCL that is defective, but when i try and select "minigames" from the NSMB menu i get a black screen. does this happen to any of you?

    i had a SC MiniSD before this SCL and used its software to patch my games. all other games seem to work fine.

    My SCL firmware is up to date (1.63)

    please help me figure this out before i have to break my head trying to return this thing [​IMG]

    thanks.
     
  2. FifthE1ement

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, sorry bud you're just a noob no offense. [​IMG]

    You said in your own statement that you used the same patcher for the miniSD version for the SCL which you even admit might be the probem but you don't bother to check? [​IMG]

    You have to use the SuperCard Lite patcher, yes there is a reason they realease a different version for each different model of SuperCard, to patch all of your ROMs and old versions will need to be repatched with the new software. Saves can be just transfered over and will work fine. [​IMG]

    FifthE1ement [​IMG]
     
  3. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    fifthelement, I think the situation might not be as noob as you think. from what I saw from the scdev forums, sc in general has a problem with new super mario brothers mini games....in fact, I read a couple posts indicating that it freezes using a regular mini sd card but having a fast mini sd card like the ultra II works fine. I gave it a try and all I have are ultra 2's and it runs flawlessly through the couple mini games I played. This is not a well known issue of supercard at all.
     
  4. FifthE1ement

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    No, I am correct as this is the thread:

    http://scdev.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5231

    And this is the final post from teh user who started it:

    Thank YOU come again!

    FifthE1ement [​IMG]
     
  5. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
    Well if he could actually run the rom, then he's using the Lite patcher, otherwise it wouldn't boot at all..

    Plus that SCDev link you posted was for the CF version and not the Lite.. And if you bothered to read the 3rd to last post, it has more detailed feedback regarding the CF and MicroSD performance on NSMB minigames..

    EDIT: And wouldn't running off the Supercard RAM fix this problem (stopgap measure till a real fix) since I'm assuming most if not all Supercard users are direct loading all their roms
     
  6. richardv

    Member richardv GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
    Minigames work fine for me with sclite and 512 regular speed Sandisk
     
  7. FifthE1ement

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    They work fine so he must be doing something wrong. I have tried the SanDisk Ultra II and regular 1GB 's and they both work fine.

    FifthE1ement [​IMG]
     
  8. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Getting mini-games in NSMB to work has nothing to do in regards to which type of microSD card you own(standard/Ultra-II), i have an ultra-ii and it gave me black screens as well but eversince i have updated the software to 2.55C and firmware with the following software settings it worked.

    Open NSMB in the software, then right click on it to see Properties.

    Saver Patch: SD Card, ROM Position Patch: SD Card, Enable Restart, Enable Trim ROM, Faster Play Game and Enable Patch Cartridge access.

    It should fix mini-game issue.
     
  9. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    enable patch game cartridge access? that can't be right....I thought that's used on newer games that normally convert to 0kb? like starfox or ff3 etc. It works fine for me as well on 2.55 + 1.63 on my ultra II but I was merely suggesting what a possible problem might be from the scdev forums.
     
  10. XtremeResident
    OP

    Member XtremeResident GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmm im getting alot of mixed replies..i dont knwo who to believe lol.

    ok so i guess i can DL the new patcher (which i cant find on the SC site (yes i looked in the "SOFT" tab and all there is is some moonshell software)


    can it be how my microSD is formatted? (i used FAT)
     
  11. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
  12. hoblingr

    Newcomer hoblingr Newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    France
    Lol so much poeple who speak and dont know what they say !
    new smb minigames do blackscreens with 2.55 patcher(Some other games do black screens with 2.55 eg Bust a move DS after game over).
    Upgrade to 2.55C patcher and minigames works.

    So please, if you dont know the solution dont post responses. [​IMG]
     
  13. XtremeResident
    OP

    Member XtremeResident GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    "Upgrade to 2.55C patcher and minigames works."


    That worked. Thank you guys a bunch [​IMG]

    *plays whack a monty*
     

Share This Page