Supercard DSTwo questions is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Unoalpho, Sep 26, 2010.

Sep 26, 2010
  1. Unoalpho
    OP

    Member Unoalpho GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I heard people say that the GBA Emulator freezes after around a month of use
    I want that card mainly for the GBA emulator. I like to play the pokemon hacks.
    Also they said the spring breaks easily
    Has this happened to you?

    I'm asking this because I dont want to spend 35 dollars on a card that will break.
     


  2. riverchen

    Member riverchen GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Country:
    United States
    perfect, i've had it for like 3 months, spring hasn't broken, and gba works like a charm.
     
  3. joker777

    Newcomer joker777 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Country:
    United States
    worth it

    plus if you really want a ds game, you dont have to wait weeks, only minutes(getting the rom)
     
  4. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    The GBA Emultaor froze for me a few times before, but has since been updated a few times... Haven't frozen since..
    and the spring is still working for me, never had a problem. (also I might add that I have an m3 simply since the time when the r4 basically didn't have any clones, and that spring never broke for me either... so maybe I'm just careful!)
     
  5. haddad

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    had the ds2 for almost a month now, working perfectly, and is so worth the 35$ and i had no problems with gba emualator so far
     
  6. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    for me, it only freezes when the card loses contact, and then when i restart it it doesn't recognize it, so i have to just press it out and back in and works fine

    Seems to only happen when I put the card in a certain way, I'm trying to figure it out, but it should be perfectly fine.

    and i've used the spring a LOT, it's still perfect
     
  7. RoMee

    Member RoMee ??

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    ??
    Country:
    United States
    same for me I've never had any problems with the spring or GBA emulator, other than minor incompatibility issues with some GBA rom

    I had mine for about 4-5 months now and it still works fine

    I'm willing to bet, the guy who told you that don't even own a dstwo
     
  8. Sterling

    Member Sterling GBAtemp's Silver Hero

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,023
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Definitely, had it since launch and nothing has broken or froze so far.

    Also it has an open SDK, so anyone can port existing stuff over for better compatibility and such (Probably best to be a coder). [​IMG]
     
  9. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    I've never had any problems with my DSTWO so far. Everything that I ask my DSTWO to do works perfectly and without flaw.
     
  10. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    Does it eat through the battery life?
     
  11. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    a bit...
    if you use it for DS games only,you're fine...
    but if you use the emu's+RTMenu,it takes up the battery faster(and my DS is 3-4 years old now!)
     
  12. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    Whats the average hours of use?
     
  13. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    Can't say,since like I said,mine DSlite is a bit old...but it lasts around 1.5 hours [​IMG]

    still a great card though [​IMG]
     
  14. Bluelaserman

    Member Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    The Land down under.
    Country:
    Australia
    1.5 Hours [​IMG]
    I get around 5 with my R4...
     
  15. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    maybe it's just me...lol
     
  16. Saddamsdevil

    Member Saddamsdevil GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I get around 4.5 hours out of mine O.o
     
  17. WaffleDee

    Newcomer WaffleDee Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Pillow Land
    Country:
    Canada
    I also get around 4.5 with the GBA emulator on my 4 year old original DS...
    I don't know what's wrong with yours [​IMG]
     
  18. ultimate.fake.ac

    Member ultimate.fake.ac GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    Isn't battery life directly related to the brightness setting you use? I don't have a DSTWO but I assume it has multiple brightness settings like all the other cards. Turn down the brightness if you want longer battery life. Though 1.5 hours seems kinda low still :wtf:
     
  19. Saddamsdevil

    Member Saddamsdevil GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The DSTwo uses the battery supply to power the extra CPU it has onboard
     
  20. ultimate.fake.ac

    Member ultimate.fake.ac GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, but lowering brightness would still increase battery length to some degree I assume, but maybe it isn't significant. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page