SuperCard DS(ONE) OS Update v0220

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by shaunj66, Jan 20, 2007.

Jan 20, 2007
  1. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom







    SuperCard DS(ONE) OS Update v0220

    Out now...








    The Supercard team have today released an update for the Supercard DS(ONE). There's no change list for this version, but it seems to hide the SCSHELL folder and enable patch mode by default. Let us know what else you find new!

    They've also updated the ROM DAT used for detecting save types. This DAT includes information on all games up to #0818.
     


  2. THeLL

    Member THeLL GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Good to hear they keep updating [​IMG]
     
  3. TheRocK

    Member TheRocK GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    Germany
    I might update, but seems like there's nothing special in that version.
     
  4. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'll take ANY updates! I can't wait until they fix that damn Moonshell error on boot up!
     
  5. NowhereLand

    Newcomer NowhereLand Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Spain
    Repost the images. Under "heyyouguys" permission

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. rkenshin

    Member rkenshin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    United States
    So the patcher software is pretty much useless now given that it has on the fly patching functionality?
     
  7. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Would we want that patcher on or off?

    What is the benefit of having that on?
     
  8. id242

    Member id242 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean
    Country:
    United States
    rkenshin, if you already have files patched using the SuperMode software, turn the MoonShell patcher to OFF or your programs will not work.

    ...or you could just copy clean roms over and use the built-in MoonShell patcher.... but then you wouldnt get the "Trim" option.

    So there is benifit to each... either able to Trim your roms with SuperMode or simply use the MoonShell patcher for clean roms. I think this is pretty nifty, dont you?
     
  9. aslacker55

    Member aslacker55 I like pie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    So Cal
    Country:
    United States
    If you use the built-in MoonShell patcher on clean roms it slows down some of the games, like Osu Tatakae Ouendan [​IMG] . Its still better to patch the games with the SuperMode software.
     
  10. peepoop

    Newcomer peepoop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    This is very true. :'(

    When I used the Windows software to patch, Castlevania: POR never crashed.

    Now using the built-in patcher it crashes (freezes) all the time!
     
  11. NowhereLand

    Newcomer NowhereLand Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Spain
    The new Supercard DS one shipment will add the new Moonshell release with some improvements. I've received an email telling me, that they SC team had some problems with the delayed release of Moonshell 1.6, now fixed. So, the next supercard will have the Moonshell 1.6 native and I suppose this new firmware
     
  12. id242

    Member id242 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean
    Country:
    United States
    peepoop, is this with resetting your speed back to 4x ? Your previous card settings were reset when the Moonshell software on your MicroSD was updated. I have messed with PoR over the past half hour and haven't had a problem with it yet (Kingston).
     
  13. peepoop

    Newcomer peepoop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I set the speed back to 28 (as fast as my SanDisk Ultra II will go) first thing.
     
  14. id242

    Member id242 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean
    Country:
    United States
    so it will be built on to the DS Cart? When I received the SuperCard DS, I had to download the MoonShell software from the internet to a MicroSD card before the SuperCard DS would even work. If what you are saying is true, then there is no need to download any software if it will all be built into the SuperCard DS. Good stuff!
     
  15. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States

    I have a SanDisk 2GB microSD (non Ultra) & I'd like to know how to find the max speed on it. Any help is appreciated! [​IMG]
     
  16. NowhereLand

    Newcomer NowhereLand Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Spain
    No that's not what I meant. I can't explain me good in english. The internal firmware had troubles to update to the new Moonshell. All we know that error message in the boot up. So the next Supercard DS will have a update firmware with improvements, i guess.
     
  17. peepoop

    Newcomer peepoop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    First of all, ignore the "Auto Set SD Speed" in the "Other" menu. It is rarely accurate or correct.

    Go to the Option menu, pick "SD Speed", then pick "Other" at the bottom of the list. Set it to 20. Launch, say, Castlevania: POR.

    If it launches you're good. Set the speed to one higher and try again.

    If you get two black screens, then that's too fast for your card.

    Aaaaactually 28 was my max speed with the December firmware. It appears with this new one my card can now handle 32 (the maximum!)

    Maybe that'll fix my problem. I'll play around with it some more and see if I still get crashes.
     
  18. kenfrenzy

    Newcomer kenfrenzy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    looks like we need to do a lot of experimenting with the patching.

    Save in SD = save to battery first, then save to file after restart
    Save in DS = save directly to microSD

    Has anyone used the new fast read vs normal read setting? Games won't load in fast read mode for me (slow microsd card).

    Also, the on the fly patching means that there's an extra 3 seconds in the initial loading of the games for me.
     
  19. peepoop

    Newcomer peepoop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    I think you have that backwards.
     
  20. peepoop

    Newcomer peepoop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    False alarm. It still freezes - even at 32 speed! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page