Supercard and their crappy GBA support...

Discussion in 'GBA - Console and Game Discussions, Help and Tips' started by XtremeResident, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. XtremeResident
    OP

    Member XtremeResident GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    ok, so i finally managed to get this game on my supercard, and suprisingly enough, it booted correctly (comepared to other GBA games that would gave me an immediate black screen)

    anyway, i was just wondering..gba games that arent compatible with the supercard, are they most likely to crash at boot up, or is there a possibility it can mess up during mid game?

    i would hate for FF IV Advance to just not work anymore halfway through the game...

    anybody?

    thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    read a SC gba compatibility chart sometime
     
  3. XtremeResident
    OP

    Member XtremeResident GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Canada
    Will the compatibility list tell me if the game is going to stop working after several hours of gameplay?

    i didnt think so.
     
  4. Vince989

    Former Staff Vince989 Still lurking around, sometimes...

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,429
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    And it most likely won't, either. Most people just check if it boots, if it seems to play fine, then save and load their game, and they post their results accordingly. Sometimes people who will have played the game up to a certain point will add some more detail, but that's not the norm.

    And about FFIV Advance, it does work, except for some slowdown during the intro and when you get in the ship, if I recall correctly. There is also a slight "lag" in the fights, but you do get used to it, and just keep in mind that it wasn't running exactly "perfect" on a real cart anyway... [​IMG] (This judging from the time I played it on my EFA, which is usually considered to be pretty much 100% support.)

    - Vince989
     
  5. Ked22

    Newcomer Ked22 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
  6. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With the new supercard rumble being released and not being able to play GBA games. I think the supercard team have given up with getting the GBA roms working properly. I got my supercard mainly to play DS roms, being able to play most of the GBA roms I see as a bonus. I have a GBA flash cart for my GBA SP to play GBA roms.
     
  7. fischju_original

    Banned fischju_original I used to be a jerk before i got banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,014
    Country:
    United States
    i have never played a gba game on my SC
     
  8. asher

    Member asher ^ Liar

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    Mexico
    does anyone knows if dotstream or orbital work in the new patcher?
     
  9. tamuraya

    Newcomer tamuraya Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    "Orbital" looks works fine on SC miniSD when turn off "Enable Restart" option.
     
  10. macgeek417

    Member macgeek417 妁眼のシャナ

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    563
    Country:
    United States
    *facepalm*
    You bumped a thread from almost 4 years ago
     
  11. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    I just realized that too......I was gonna write something about it but I guess it doesn't matter.
    Let me just tell you that I'm fine now with an M3Perfect and as much as I loved my slot2 supercard I admit that the slowdowns in some games really make the cart not worth it, if you only plan on using it for GBA games that is.......( I think NDS compatibility is way better and the patcher still gets updated ! What a team !).
     
  12. tamuraya

    Newcomer tamuraya Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Ah, sorry for replying to old thread...
    I play GBA games on Gameboy micro, not use NDS.
    so, my SLOT2 Supercard is still active.

    sorry for my poor english, thx.
     
  13. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    I think this is the oldest bump Ive seen. Gosta love it.
     
  14. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    You're fucking serious right now?

    FOUR YEARS WASN'T DEAD ENOUGH FOR YOU!?
     
  15. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Can we have a policy in which threads are auto-locked after 1-2 years of inactivity?
     
  16. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    I disagree.
    In this specific case, maybe yes, as the answer wasn't that hard to find and there are lots of compatibility charts out there for this somehow outdated piece of hardware.
    But sometimes you run into a problem that wasn't solved in the first place, and maybe after a few months/years later people found a workaround by themself and somebody (maybe that run into the same issue ) might help you out.
    Bette then create a new topic every now and then to as the same thing (after all newbies have short memory! )......like people still asking if it could be possible to run N64 games on the DS.........come on !
     

Share This Page