SuperCad SD Maximum Capacity

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by melloncollie, Oct 5, 2006.

Oct 5, 2006
  1. melloncollie
    OP

    Member melloncollie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    What's the maximum capacity of the SuperCard SD?
    I've been getting a slew of different answers.
    Some say 2GB. others say 4GB.
    So, what is it exactly?
    I need to know before I actually make up my mind whether I should buy the SuperCard SD.
    The only reason I'm looking at the SuperCard SD is because I can purchase a 4GB SD for $40.
    So, it'd be greatly appreciated if someone could clear the fog.
    Thanks.
     
  2. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    The supercard works with certain 4 gig cards I believe. But you may run into compatibility problems with some 4 gig cards as well as 2 gig cards, best to search around for feedback on the best cards to use.....but there are 4 gig cards that work fine.
     
  3. melloncollie
    OP

    Member melloncollie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Would a vanilla SanDisk or a SanDisk Ultra II work?
    Or at least, do you know where a SD compatibility list is?
     
  4. flaming_monkey

    Newcomer flaming_monkey Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    not aware of any sd compatibility list for supercard, but I don't see why not. Usually all flashcarts don't have a problem with sandisk in terms of compatibility.....performance maybe affected but I think the latest supercard firmware/software solves all that already.
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    ahhh that's what I was missing, something wasn't clicking the more I thought about it, must be thinkin fat32 with m3 the whole time. flamingmonkey would be correct I believe in using 2 gigs max with fat16.
     
  7. melloncollie
    OP

    Member melloncollie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm, apparently you can format a 4GB card in FAT16 using 64kb cluster.
    Does anyone else know any further details?
     
  8. melloncollie
    OP

    Member melloncollie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone?

    EDIT: Alright, FAT32 is supported by M3 right?
     
  9. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
  10. melloncollie
    OP

    Member melloncollie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I'm limited to $100.

    Should I get the M3 SD Pro Chinese version with a 4GB SD card
    -or-
    SuperCard SD with 2 2GB SD cards
     
  11. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    it's really about what you're using the device for, supercard wins in homebrew and nds suppor.....m3 wins in gba+nds support....not so familiar with the sd pro but that sounds like a nds only cart....in that case I would get the supercard.
     
  12. simpson17

    Member simpson17 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
  13. Jesper64

    Newcomer Jesper64 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Australia

Share This Page