Super Smash Brothers Brawl only works when it wants to.

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Dustination, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. Dustination
    OP

    Newcomer Dustination Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Hey there, I was hoping maybe I could get an answer here...

    So, ever since I soft-modded my Wii back in... like 2008, My Super Smash Bros. Brawl disc will not spin in the disc tray. Brawl is the ONLY game that does this. All the others spin and eventually either say it can't read it, or load the game. When I put Brawl in, I can hear the machine start up, but it just like, cuts it off, and it stops spinning.

    I did find a way around this, using Gecko OS. Every time I select launch game, it forces the disc in the tray to spin. For some reason, after about (And it HEAVILY varies) 15 times (Longest I've counted was 47) of selecting launch game, the game will finally launch. Now, obviously this isn't practical, because, well, I'm probably screwing up my disc tray, and, two, because Gecko will freeze after about 9 times after launching the game.

    I don't THINK it's the disc, because I have tried about 3 other discs that my friends were gracious enough to let me borrow theirs.

    If I could get any kind of information on this, I would be forever grateful and appreciative. Thanks a bunch.
     
  2. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,387
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Rip the game to a hard drive. The program is called Configurable USB Loader.
     
  3. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,914
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like your Wii is struggling with discs (dual-layer discs in particular). You might try cleaning the laser. I would also look into USB loading as the_randomizer mentioned.
     
  4. Jayro

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,420
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    My USB version of SSBB also freezes at random points in the game in CFG. Ripped from a clean disc, maybe my settings are wrong for the IOS? Any help is appreciated. :S
     
  5. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,914
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you're using the latest d2x cIOS from ModMii and make sure you're using the latest version of CFG USB Loader MOD. If you still have problems, then it's likely a bad rip.
     
  6. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Sounds like a dual layer disc problem. My launch Wii hasn't been able to read dual layer discs since 2008.
     
  7. Dustination
    OP

    Newcomer Dustination Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, okay. Thanks for all the help, guys. I really appreciate it.
    I'll try the CFG method. Thanks again!
     

Share This Page