Super NES emulator for GBA?

Discussion in 'GBA - Emulation' started by kerpalz, Jan 9, 2004.

Jan 9, 2004

Super NES emulator for GBA? by kerpalz at 7:17 PM (50,754 Views / 0 Likes) 531 replies

  1. kerpalz
    OP

    Newcomer kerpalz Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    just wondering whether there is a program that can use on Gba SP playing Super NES games?

    coz i like front mission bery much..... dunno whether i can play it a not...?
     


  2. Darkforce

    Former Staff Darkforce DERP!

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope but go back a generation to the NES, Master System, GG, GB etc.. and you'll find emus for them around.

    Unfortunately the GBA is just way too under powered to run a SNES emu. If you must play SNES games on the move would could always check out a GP32, SNES emulation is coming along pretty nicely for that.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. TyrianCubed

    Member TyrianCubed Gamer 1989 to present

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,138
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    There are many topic about this, try using the search feature next time, ok? [​IMG]
     
  4. bolton2

    Member bolton2 bolton2

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Everywhere and Nowhere :P
    Country:
    United States
    im sure nintendos next handheld can emulate snes, hopefully nintendos next hanheld will use cartridges......so i can buy a flashcard for it lol
     
    Pacheko17 likes this.
  5. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it will be disc based (100% sure) as no-one has really broken the Cubes disc system properly. streaming via broadband is poor.
     
  6. bolton2

    Member bolton2 bolton2

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Everywhere and Nowhere :P
    Country:
    United States
    well then i guess ill be keeping my gba as it most likely wont be backwards compadible, and if thats the case then i might as well keep my gba and save alot of money, cause i aint paying 30 or more dollars for thier new games, ill just keep my gba for eternity then [​IMG] as far as nintendo consoles go ill continue to buy thier games, but as far as handhelds if thier is no way to crack the new security, well then there is no reason for me to get one
     
  7. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    I could play SNES games (not 100% speed, but 80% or even 90%) on an old PC:
    480 SX2 - 50MHz 8 MB Ram with 200 MB disk space...

    it's less powerful than GBA...



    edit: [​IMG]
    (you guys please use the "search function")
     
  8. Leo111

    Banned Leo111 One day I was going to GBATEMP and lololo !!!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    Brazil
    arent u talkin´ about a 486 SX/DX2??? Tough the SX version doesnt have an mathematical co-processor, which gba´s processor certanly has...
     
  9. bolton2

    Member bolton2 bolton2

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Everywhere and Nowhere :P
    Country:
    United States
    eitherway snes on gba will never happen, and nintendos next handheld will probably be pirate proof unless sega puts another error in on of thier games lol until i see seiken densetsu3 the translated version on my hanheld, i will never be satisfied with handheld gaming...ok maby not that far, but id really like to see that [​IMG]
     
  10. FluBBa

    Member FluBBa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh, so the 16MHz GBA with 256kByte of RAM and up to 32MByte of ROM (ie diskspace) is more powerfull then your PC?

    And no the GBA doesnt have a math co-processor (not that you would need one to emulate the SNES though).
     
  11. TyrianCubed

    Member TyrianCubed Gamer 1989 to present

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,138
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    I think the decision to go disc for the next handheld is 100% right, we will have our gba or gbplayer to play all the games we're currently playing, and I don't want to see the "gba2" to lose against the psp like N64 did with ps1 (also for cartridges), and to have a higher cost for a feature I don't need.
     
  12. hikarushindo

    Member hikarushindo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Singapore
    Yea, just like what flubba said (Fubba?!)

    Pai say loh.. this isn't gonna work for the games you like..
    play it in a Snes emulator.. its bound to work XD

    In final words.. it ain't gonne work...

    Ok ma? ting de dong ma?

    I am more interested in PSP then ever, it uses UMD.. we might be able to play it in there... probably..
     
  13. Lord Graga

    Member Lord Graga He's the llamamaster!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    865
    Country:
    Denmark
    guess what I got...

    and I seriously mean it.

    I got a working SNES emu for gba. it currently plays SMB3 without too much slowdown.
     
  14. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Funny I already have SMB3 on my GBA :/
     
  15. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah I couldn't even be bothered commenting on that one [​IMG]

    hey I had an Amstrad 1512 and the GBA is more powerful than that, mind you it couldn't play sh!t and was dog slow (but I really loved it [​IMG] )
     
  16. amongmyselves

    Newcomer amongmyselves Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Now Lord Graga, it isn't nice to bring emu to the forum unless you have enough to share with everyone! Care to let us know at least where/how you got it and some of its features, or are you just getting our hopes up? Besides, wasn't Super Mario Brothers 3 a NES release?

    Jeez, I too would love to be able to play my translated version of Front Mission on my GBA...
     
  17. bolton2

    Member bolton2 bolton2

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Everywhere and Nowhere :P
    Country:
    United States
    sure and im president bush, we all know smb3 is for nes and gba

    so unless you mean mario allstars then your bluffing
     
  18. PhaTdrU

    Member PhaTdrU GBAtemp's Phattest Member (o_O)

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    737
    Country:
    Indonesia
    hey hikaru, who da dilly are you speaking chinese to? cut that shit man, sounds weird, im chinese my self but i dont go bragging my own language in an english forum say something that everyone can understand....
     
  19. Lord Graga

    Member Lord Graga He's the llamamaster!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    865
    Country:
    Denmark
    [​IMG]

    Oh, and it's SMW [​IMG]
    I'm not familiar with SMB [​IMG]
     
  20. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow, Lord Graga! Wow.

    I know you mentioned the SNES emu a long time ago to me, and I've kept my mouth shut since, but now you've told the public... expect nothing but questions and requests!
     

Share This Page