Emulation Super NES emulator for GBA?

Darkforce

DERP!
Former Staff
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
2,911
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
XP
269
Country
Nope but go back a generation to the NES, Master System, GG, GB etc.. and you'll find emus for them around.

Unfortunately the GBA is just way too under powered to run a SNES emu. If you must play SNES games on the move would could always check out a GP32, SNES emulation is coming along pretty nicely for that.

smile.gif
 

MadBob

Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
1,554
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
645
Country
it will be disc based (100% sure) as no-one has really broken the Cubes disc system properly. streaming via broadband is poor.
 

bolton2

bolton2
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2002
Messages
805
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Everywhere and Nowhere :P
Website
Visit site
XP
242
Country
United States
well then i guess ill be keeping my gba as it most likely wont be backwards compadible, and if thats the case then i might as well keep my gba and save alot of money, cause i aint paying 30 or more dollars for thier new games, ill just keep my gba for eternity then
smile.gif
as far as nintendo consoles go ill continue to buy thier games, but as far as handhelds if thier is no way to crack the new security, well then there is no reason for me to get one
 

Costello

Headmaster
Administrator
Joined
Oct 24, 2002
Messages
14,007
Trophies
2
XP
17,147
I could play SNES games (not 100% speed, but 80% or even 90%) on an old PC:
480 SX2 - 50MHz 8 MB Ram with 200 MB disk space...

it's less powerful than GBA...



edit:
rolleyes.gif

(you guys please use the "search function")
 

Leo111

One day I was going to GBATEMP and lololo !!!
Banned
Joined
Oct 3, 2003
Messages
794
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
24
Country
Brazil
arent u talkin´ about a 486 SX/DX2??? Tough the SX version doesnt have an mathematical co-processor, which gba´s processor certanly has...
 

bolton2

bolton2
Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2002
Messages
805
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Everywhere and Nowhere :P
Website
Visit site
XP
242
Country
United States
eitherway snes on gba will never happen, and nintendos next handheld will probably be pirate proof unless sega puts another error in on of thier games lol until i see seiken densetsu3 the translated version on my hanheld, i will never be satisfied with handheld gaming...ok maby not that far, but id really like to see that
frown.gif
 

FluBBa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
130
Trophies
0
Age
46
Website
www.ndsretro.com
XP
986
Country
I could play SNES games (not 100% speed, but 80% or even 90%) on an old PC:
480 SX2 - 50MHz 8 MB Ram with 200 MB disk space...

it's less powerful than GBA...
Oh, so the 16MHz GBA with 256kByte of RAM and up to 32MByte of ROM (ie diskspace) is more powerfull then your PC?

And no the GBA doesnt have a math co-processor (not that you would need one to emulate the SNES though).
 

TyrianCubed

Gamer 1989 to present
Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2003
Messages
1,138
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
Italy
Website
www.gamescollection.it
XP
198
Country
Italy
I think the decision to go disc for the next handheld is 100% right, we will have our gba or gbplayer to play all the games we're currently playing, and I don't want to see the "gba2" to lose against the psp like N64 did with ps1 (also for cartridges), and to have a higher cost for a feature I don't need.
 

hikarushindo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
65
Trophies
0
XP
71
Country
Senegal
Yea, just like what flubba said (Fubba?!)

Pai say loh.. this isn't gonna work for the games you like..
play it in a Snes emulator.. its bound to work XD

In final words.. it ain't gonne work...

Ok ma? ting de dong ma?

I am more interested in PSP then ever, it uses UMD.. we might be able to play it in there... probably..
 

MadBob

Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
1,554
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
645
Country
I could play SNES games (not 100% speed, but 80% or even 90%) on an old PC:
480 SX2 - 50MHz 8 MB Ram with 200 MB disk space...

it's less powerful than GBA...
Oh, so the 16MHz GBA with 256kByte of RAM and up to 32MByte of ROM (ie diskspace) is more powerfull then your PC?

And no the GBA doesnt have a math co-processor (not that you would need one to emulate the SNES though).
Yeah I couldn't even be bothered commenting on that one
smile.gif


hey I had an Amstrad 1512 and the GBA is more powerful than that, mind you it couldn't play sh!t and was dog slow (but I really loved it
smile.gif
)
 

amongmyselves

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Central Florida
Website
jonathan.prtahcios.net
XP
230
Country
United States
Now Lord Graga, it isn't nice to bring emu to the forum unless you have enough to share with everyone! Care to let us know at least where/how you got it and some of its features, or are you just getting our hopes up? Besides, wasn't Super Mario Brothers 3 a NES release?

Jeez, I too would love to be able to play my translated version of Front Mission on my GBA...
 

PhaTdrU

GBAtemp's Phattest Member (o_O)
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2002
Messages
737
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
129
Country
Indonesia
hey hikaru, who da dilly are you speaking chinese to? cut that shit man, sounds weird, im chinese my self but i dont go bragging my own language in an english forum say something that everyone can understand....
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: i love how the crowd still cheered when thousand miles played lmao