Super Mario World widescreen mod available now

122607515-0e8d4600-d051-11eb-900b-1b072f5bbbad.png

Vitor Vilela, a Brazilian Super Nintendo hacker also known for his FastROM projects that speed up classic Super Nintendo titles, has officially released a widescreen hack for the landmark Super Nintendo title Super Mario World. This hack renders the entire game as it should look normally, but expanded to fit the widescreen resolution that's standard today. Currently, it only supports 16:9 and 16:10 monitor resolutions, but more additions are planned, such as support for 2:1 or the 21:9 ultrawide aspect ratios. As of right now, a patched ROM will only be compatible with the bsnes-hd emulator.

Twitter user @fraencko shared some images of the game running on a widescreen monitor that can be seen below.

E4O0XIFWEAArTtu.jpeg E4O0XIIX0AYCTlV.jpeg
You can download the Super Mario World widescreen hack and get patching instructions at Vitela's GitHub page here.
 

Thardus

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
383
Country
United States
If there's a criticism to be lodged against this, it would be that it gives the player sight of things the original developers intended to be off screen. Lurking surprise obstacles and enemies may be revealed sooner than intended, and desirable items may like be shown sooner than they should. But really, who gives a fuck? If this gives you a more satisfying SMW experience (with an asterisk, since it is a mod), then go for it.

Personally if I'm playing older games on a HDTV, I prefer 4:3 with the black bars. That still looks 'right' to me.

Because SMW is the BEST Mario game ever, I decided to try this out. It's amazing, but you're right. In the first castle right before you fight Iggy you have dodge mallets from the ceiling, with widescreen there is extra space for Mario to run to making the mallets a non-issue. I'm sure there are more examples later in the game but I wanted to test out how different the game play is.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hanafuda

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,257
Trophies
2
XP
19,898
Country
United States
I'm hoping someone tests it on the snes mini. I would, but I don't want to redo my retroarch settings, because those are reset when you reflash the system.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,257
Trophies
2
XP
19,898
Country
United States
@Glyptofane , I'll check out the genesis versions. I might have to add the genesis version of mega man x to my genesis mini. however, the config file for retroarch is such a pita to get right. I have it set to either return to games' list or open retroarch by tapping the reset button twice iirc. that's was problematic setting up from what I remember.
 

Argonitious

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
100
Trophies
0
XP
223
Country
United States
The widescreen mode in bsnes-hd was already neat, but this really takes it to another level!

For those unfamiliar with bsnes-hd's widescreen mode, here's a video. It's a little buggy (stuff disappears on the sides), which is why I say this new rom hack is an improvement.

 

Mister_X

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
69
Trophies
0
Website
giphy.com
XP
578
Country
The widescreen mode in bsnes-hd was already neat, but this really takes it to another level!

For those unfamiliar with bsnes-hd's widescreen mode, here's a video. It's a little buggy (stuff disappears on the sides), which is why I say this new rom hack is an improvement.


This example is not valid, the new version from the brazilian guy works without this kind of errors.
 

mattyxarope

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
538
Trophies
0
XP
1,774
Country
United States
I wish this could be ported to Switch
It is, it works. Use bsnes-beta core.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

How are you running it? Seems really laggy in Atmosphere Retroarch. Better performance on LineageOS but still seeing some slow down

I have the cpu overclocked to Max and vsync turned off. There are a few audio crackles here and there but it runs mostly well. Not ideal to have such a high overclock but...

Edit: yeah I'm not sure what's going on. It works full speed even with no overclock sometimes, but other times it stutters and crackels. Going to the retroarch menu and going back in game seems to help this. Seems it's happening with other cores as well such as megadrive.
 
Last edited by mattyxarope,

LegzRwheelz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
119
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
Scrolling here learning to mod my dishwasher
XP
194
Country
United States
dies anybody have working cheats for this? I tried tricking the emulator by copying/pasting the entries for SMW and adding the sha256 to the rom but the cheats dont work. I don,t really understand how searching for and adding cheats actually works, so if anyone can offer their cheats, I would really appreciate it.

Side note: not sure if it is relevant, but I also patched the rom with the wall jump patch over at smwcentral. I forgot about it until I fell into a pit and was able to jump back out...pretty cool, if I say so myself.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Finally got my number transferred