Super Mario Galaxy - PAL Wii - Cyclowiz

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by geez, Nov 3, 2007.

Nov 3, 2007
  1. geez
    OP

    Newcomer geez Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Just wanted to post a quick summary of my experiences with getting the recent Super Mario Galaxy ISO that's floating around the web to work. There seems to be quite a bit of contradictory or misleading information, so I wanted to let you guys know what has definitely worked for me.

    First off, I'm on a PAL Wii with Cyclowiz installed and patched up to the latest 3.6BETA firmware. I was also running the latest 3.1E firmware obtained by updating the Wii over the internet in the normal way through the Wii system menus. My language is set to English.

    First thing I tried was to just burn the ISO and fire it up on the Wii, to see what would happen. It immediately asked me to update the firmware, and if I didn't want to do this, I would have to hold the power button down for four seconds. This sounded like a bad thing to do (I had read something somewhere), so I didn't do it and went off and did some more research.

    [It appears that, if I were to just run the update as requested, my PAL Wii would be firmware upgraded with the NTSC (US) firmware that comes on the leaked Mario Galaxy ISO and my Wii would be semi-bricked. Glad I didn't do that. (*apparently, this might not be true. Can anyone provide evidence to prove updating a PAL Wii with the NTSC firmware on the US SMG won't semi-brick it?)]

    So, I went off and found the 1.3 version of Wii Brick Blocker (first time I've used it) and patched a COPY of the original ISO. I burned two DVDs - one with the original un-brick-blocked ISO, and one with the brick-blocked ISO. [As an aside, someone really should port brick blocker to something other than crappy .Net Windows-only. I had to dig out some crap old laptop to be able to use brick blocker. Thanks!]. For those that don't know, brick blocker will remove the bit of the game disk that requires you to update to the latest firmware - it is the updating to this firmware that might brick your Wii, and therefore removing the bit that forces you to update will block any potential bricking that may occur!

    At this point, I tried just running the brick-blocked DVD. This resulted in a black screen and unresponsive Wii Remote (usually the lights flash when the console starts a new game). I restarted the Wii and ejected the disk.

    Then, with the DVD that wasn't brick-blocked, I popped it in, clicked on the game disk channel on the Wii and timidly ran the firmware updater until about the 10-15% mark, at which point I pulled the cable out of the Wii.

    When the Wii rebooted, I ejected the non-brick-blocked DVD and put in the bricked-blocked one instead (the one that wasn't going to try and firmware update me).

    After a quick restart of the console (to make sure the Cyclowiz was properly reset), up comes Super Mario Galaxy in the game channel, and it runs without a problem. Superb!

    As an aside, I do just want to say that this game looks completely awesome. Please please please, if you're going to rip off this game now, please please buy it when it comes out. Support good games on the Wii! I've had my copy on pre-order since the beginning of the year.

    Hope this is of help to someone.
     
  2. beauchampy

    Newcomer beauchampy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    umm, i assumed it was safe to run the update on the disc on a PAL wii if the wii was updated to 3.1E. anyone confirm?
     
  3. Innes

    Newcomer Innes Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes the op is talking crap, you wont get semi brick just duplicate channels.
     
  4. wiithepeople

    Member wiithepeople ^^didn't play it that much, but I love it =D

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    the banned
    Country:
    United States
    Even though my Wii is not modded (yet), this was of tons of help to me. Seems kind of weird to have to boot up a non-brick-blocked DVD, then unplug the Wii at 10-15% downloading, then put in a brick-blocked DVD for it to work... [​IMG]

    This really cleared things up for me. There's like 50 SMG problem posts and everything is so jumbled up.

    BTW great first post, very informative. Most ppl use their first post to ask a retarded, overly-repeated question [​IMG] (I know I did!)
     
  5. geez
    OP

    Newcomer geez Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Constructive. Thanks for your time.
     
  6. snailsupreme

    Newcomer snailsupreme Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Sweden
    Can you be sure that this procedire doesnt screw up future updates on the PAL console?? (Metroid prime 3 experience??)
     
  7. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did this process with Metroid 3 - pal wii and didnt turn the console off. My wii was as up-to-date as it could be so I didnt worry. I didnt patch metroid 3, just let it run the update, reboot my wii and now it works fine.

    Will I have to repeat this process for SMG? My wii is (PAL - 3.1e) hopefully, if I update my wiikey to 1.9g, I wont even need brickblocker to get the NTSC SMG to work?

    Correct?
     
  8. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if you have 3.1E then all u get is double channels if u don't do the flip thing. if you do the flip thing, no double channels.
     
  9. cardyology

    Member cardyology GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Chorley Uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did it.

    Updated wiikey to 1.9g, turned region free back on with the 1.3 setup disc....

    Burned SMG - NO region frii, NO brickblocker.

    Let it update...

    ..Works fine!
     
  10. evadwolrab

    Member evadwolrab GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What's the best region-free thing (patch? chip? modded formware?) and how do I go about installing it?

    Other than that - great guide to SMG and also a great beginner's guide to using a Wii chip. There really should be a sticky on how to get from A) a freshly-modded Wii to B) playing a game.

    I think this guide just about covers it, other than making my Wii region-free.
     
  11. SpartanJ07

    Newcomer SpartanJ07 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it won't semi brick your wii, it just gives you dupe channels, the american news and weather channel appear, but can't be accessed. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page