Super Mario Galaxy DS DEMOv3

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Jul 24, 2010.

Jul 24, 2010
  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    [​IMG] Super Mario Galaxy DS DEMOv3
    NDS Homebrew
    [​IMG]

    This Homebrew attempts to capture the feel of SMG on the NDS.



    [​IMG] Download 
    [​IMG] Source
     


  2. JinTrigger

    Member JinTrigger Asentrix Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Location:
    Lunesta/Mysteria
    Country:
    United States
    Ok you use the word attempt.....how good is it
     
  3. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i said "attempt" because its still a DEMO. grab it and test it out =P.

    -another world
     
  4. monkat

    Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty sure the download isn't independent. The readme mentions two 'homebrews' that need to be on the card, while the archive only contains one .nds file. This file loads a file loader / browser (I don't know how else to describe it - it looks exactly like Micro Lua DS), asking to load fat.
     
  5. Freudian Lemur

    Member Freudian Lemur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Super Mario Bros Galaxy? Anyway, I have the same problem as monkat.
     
  6. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i updated the filetrip upload with the file from the project post release, it contains two .nds files.

    cheers,
    -another world
     
  7. Bowler67

    Newcomer Bowler67 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    US of A
    Country:
    United States
    Judging by the .gif image, it looks really neat. Might give this a try, thanks AW.
     
  8. shake31

    Newcomer shake31 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    it does not work in R4 with YsMenu
     
  9. Freudian Lemur

    Member Freudian Lemur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And fixed your heinous typo! BTW, you should use a capital "I" when referring to yourself...
    ...
    ......
    .........OK, I'll shut up now.
     
  10. .Chris

    Member .Chris Pffft.

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't work on the R4 with Wood R4...
    or my Acekard 2i with AKAIO 1.7.1...
     
  11. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    please don't tell me if i should or should not type in caps. of my 4,000+ "comment/discussion" posts 99.99% are in all lower case. i do as i wish.

    i didn't realize i was being graded on "forum grammar" and that i would be judged by some random person who i've never talked to. thats just one of those personality traits you should keep in check. people don't like to be told what to do, especially on some random geek-influenced web forum.

    a simple thank you for grabbing the correct file off a site that isn't in my native language would have sufficed.

    @RoboticBuddy: works on my acekard with akaio 1.7.1. follow the instructions, you have to run the 1 nds file first (which is a file browser) and then load the second nds file (which is the demo). after that it took a few seconds to actually load and went to a black screen during that waiting peroid. its not really worth checking out yet. the physics of the thing are pretty fun, the dev got the math right. it shows potential but its just a demo. its a few small places you can jump to and nothing more.

    -another world
     
  12. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,596
    Country:
    United States
    This idea + possible 3DS homebrew = would be awesome!!! [​IMG]

    From the gif it looks alright and thx to AW [​IMG]
     
  13. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just had a small playthrough. Works on Acekard 2i akaio 1.7.1. It's just a demo so there's not much to do, and the games quite buggy but that's to be expected.
     
  14. Freudian Lemur

    Member Freudian Lemur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just so you know, I wasn't "grading" you on your grammar or anything. I was just making a joke about how you subtly fixed a typo in your first post, and then I was just continuing it with a silly comment on your grammar. I thought the "I'll shut up now" bit made that obvious. I was just messing around light heartedly.
     
  15. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    front page posts represent gbatemp, thus they are formatted correctly and spell checked. sometimes when i'm posting at 3am i type something incorrectly and will later fix it. often people point out what the problem was in the public thread, as though its a game that earns them points. any post that follows the front page post represents only myself and my opinions. with that said, i've been typing since around 1983 and i can type 128 wpm. at this point in my life i don't care to take that extra step which includes hitting shift+letter to put something into caps. after you have been typing for almost 30 years you will feel the same way.

    -another world
     
  16. geoflcl

    Member geoflcl Permanent GBAtemp Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,373
    Country:
    United States
    This is actually a pretty neat little thing, here. It's really nowhere near "game" completion yet, but as a proof of concept, very cool.


    Unrelated:
    Not caring to capitalize, yet never failing to add that little extra bit of custom signature to every post. You really are something, Another World! [​IMG]
     
  17. Freudian Lemur

    Member Freudian Lemur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I fail to see your point. I was not attacking you. You seem to be convinced that I'm criticising you. Please just calm down and drop the issue (that really didn't need to be an issue in the first place). If I offend you, I will never make reference to any of your comments ever again.
    Are we OK now?
     
  18. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    my point was, why do you even care how someone types or doesn't type? this isn't your word and people will do as they wish. pointing it out just wastes time. when you pointed it out to me you came up against someone very opinionated who doesn't back down. so now you have to deal a bit with my critical blocks of text which are trying to explain to you that i don't really care how you feel about it.

    @geoflcl: =P

    -another world
     
  19. Freudian Lemur

    Member Freudian Lemur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My point was, I don't care how someone types or doesn't type. It was a joke. I'm so terribly sorry it wasted your time. But you really need to learn to chill out.
     
  20. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    you should stop assuming. you have no idea if i'm chill, not chill, joking, serious. you don't know me at all, just as i don't know you at all. so the only conclusion is to take your comments at face value, if you will. if you had just stopped, took a step back, and considered... you might have thought "nah i won't post this because we aren't friends and my comments (while i consider it a silly joke with no meaning and isn't intended to make fun of someone’s typing habits) might be taken exactly as they are typed, which consequently was in the wrong way."

    -another world
     

Share This Page