1. Mamothstard

    Mamothstard Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    France
    Cloned, compiled, tested. Works like a charm.
    Your implementation of the analog stick is very good and leagues above the wii and wii u VC.
    Many thanks <3

    F.Y.I. used Msys2 on win10

    @AboodXD BTW, did you get rid of Mario LOD when the camera is zoomed out?
    Or was it made prior your port?

    Because I can't trigger it for some reason.
     
    Last edited by Mamothstard, Nov 7, 2020
  2. Sushi8756

    Sushi8756 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Can somebody make a tutorial on how to get this?
    I would like to build it as Render96 v1.3 with Msys2 for win10
    Please give intructions and downloads! (and discord if you can)
     
  3. Lostbhoy

    Lostbhoy HEY YOU GUYS!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    887
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. Sushi8756

    Sushi8756 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    PLEASE can somebody help me get this with Render96? I have no clue how.
    Please give tutorial for easiest way because I have really no knowledge for this.
    Pls
     
  5. CrisMod

    CrisMod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Italy
    Please, can someone help me to unlock this situation, when I start to making the file by MSys2, arrived to one point I get the following error:


    audiofile.cpp: In function ‘status _afOpenFile(int, File*, const char*, _AFfilehandle**, AFfilesetup)’:
    audiofile.cpp:14640:28: error: ‘strdup’ was not declared in this scope; did you mean ‘strcmp’?
    14640 | filehandle->m_fileName = strdup(filename);
    | ^~~~~~
    | strcmp
    make[1]: *** [Makefile:7: audiofile.o] Error 1
    make: *** [Makefile:53: audiofile/libaudiofile.a] Error 2
    Makefile:216: *** Failed to build tools. Stop.
     
    Last edited by CrisMod, Nov 29, 2020
  6. CrisMod

    CrisMod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Italy
    Ok, I solved everything by my self; thank you anyway and works wonderfully except the well know bug as mentioned in the first page of this thread and I would like to report another little one bug by the rpx launching :):

    - Don't try to start another app such as the Internet Browser or eShop while SM64 is running! It will prevent you from being able to exit the game unless you do a hard reboot. (Press down the power button for 4 seconds)
    This appears to be a bug in the Homebrew Launcher; if you install the game RPX in the home menu (using NUSPacker), you shouldn't run into this problem.


    So, I can confirm that creating the icon/ forwarder (both method Haxchi- NUSPacker) to be launced from the Wii U Home Menu the game starts and works, but if you need to close it once you close/ exit from the game; the Wii U will be stack in "loop" on the Wii U Menu loading screen and you must to do some Hard-Shut Down, like to press down the console base power button for 4 seconds.
    Instead of, from fresh launching the rpx game file by the HBL, the game will works perfectly and it close normally; but for some reason once close the game/exit and without to restart the console if I would like to open some apps (like Haxchi) after finish to play, the apps from HBL will not start anymore and if you want to use them (I didn't test all of them) you have to restart the cosole. It seems, that in back ground the game or the HBL, keeps open some instance that crashing with the apps. Hope this bug can be solved in the future ;) .
     
    Last edited by CrisMod, Nov 30, 2020
  7. CrisMod

    CrisMod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Italy
    The easiest way there is, and you can use sooooo many alternative mods on it (to replace Mario with Wario or Sonic or many others HD textures and so on), google and looking for sm64pcbuilder2, trust me you will enjoy it :).

    This will be for PC porting; instead to Mod for Wii U porting I believe the modder it needs to implement the directory three files, nothing impossible because there is already this port to support the Wii U (so it will be good start base) and almost of the texture (someone maybe it needs more implementation) are keeping the same name and so on and replaced the internal "Actor Texture", but it needs to be implement anyway for the Wii U functionality......as I tested and know for now....
     
  8. MikaDubbz

    MikaDubbz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,608
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm, that's odd, I have mine installed as an .rpx channel created via NUSPacker, and I can hit menu after launching the game and hit home to go to the home menu and it all functions appropriately without any hangs, freezes, or loops.
     
  9. CrisMod

    CrisMod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Italy
    @MikaDubbz , you are the MAN!!!!

    Thanks man to tell me this, because I started to be jealous about you of what you told me :D, just then I remade one fresh NUSPacker installer from my newer sm64 rpx file and for the mystery of the Holy Lord now it's working perfectly everything - open-working-and closing go back to the Wii U Menu......:grog:.

    So, maybe because I installed one old installer that someone gives to me in the past and I don't know why was like that, I will correct my lines above.........

    I can correct and confirm that the game working perfectly and I can open the haxchi installer after closed the sm64 (as x my example above). So the little problem (about if you open the rpx file by HBL and close and try to open example Haxchi app) as I have re-tested now, it still persist this; but in this case it's not important because the game it's installed from the Wii U Menu that it works amazingly.
     
    Last edited by CrisMod, Nov 30, 2020
    MikaDubbz likes this.
  10. Sushi8756

    Sushi8756 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Ok yes thank you, but I already have sm64pcbuilder2 and I have already got it on my computer. On my post I meant "what is the easiest way to get SM64 Wii U port with Render96." Sorry that I didn't specify. I also have Msys2, but I have barely any knowledge on it. So Please, you did it already, can you help me get this to?
     
  11. CrisMod

    CrisMod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Italy
    These days, I have already tried to build it up with the textures Render96, after faced some problems on the process that anyway I fixed; I successfully got the worked RPX file considerably bigger (the entire folder it's over of 4GB and the RPX around 150 mb). Anyway, when I tried the RPX the game starts, but it miss the wording and the new textures that I added (so will miss the mario eyes and more others details that I replaced) . So, my ideas tests fails, because I don't have such knowledge how to build up the entire scripts and how to implement these textures in such technical way. I also hope that someone here will read this and can implement such texture for WiiU. As per my understanding, the problem it's that on PC use some special emulation to implement these texture that will influence so much on the system CPU/GPU. And maybe the Wii U it doesn't has so much power to handle this type of emulation to apply these textures considerably more high and heavy resolution. But , take this "with a grain of salt", I hope someone here can " contradict me" about that ;)
     
    Last edited by CrisMod, Dec 5, 2020
  12. armaldodo

    armaldodo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Peru
    Ok, the psvita has already this textures implemented and is less powerful than the Wii u, so that cant be right.
     
  13. elk1007

    elk1007 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States

    How do you fix this error, buddy?

    I had the same error building a 3ds port. I had given up on it :cry:
     
  14. CrisMod

    CrisMod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Italy
    I can imagine your frustration mate, I was the same...... let's find out to fix it, we need to unlock or find what it's create from.....

    Let's suppose that you installed all the 3DS libs, if not, you can check it if you write this command into MSys2 (important the MSys2 from C:\devkitPro\msys2 64bit or 32bit (mingw64 or mingw32)):

    pacman -Sl dkp-libs

    And if you miss somenting that it's not installed into it, you can see next to each libs if there is the voice "Installed" in green color, if there is nothing next to each 3DS voice libs have means that you don't have installed some of them; and for install the missing one, you need to write this following command for each every voice (one time each) without the number version of it:

    pacman -S (and the name of the lib package)

    EXAMPLE: pacman -S dkp-libs 3ds-bulletphysics

    So, one of the problems and related to the audiofile.cpp and so on, it's happen because almost everywhere you read that you need to install MSys2 separately of the DevkitPro and on the base of your OS 64bit or 32bit you have to start the version of MSys2 64bit or 32bit, that it's located in the start menu or more sure and simple in C:\msys64 (mingw64 or mingw32). So, this it's an half true from my experience, wich means you have anyway to install it separately to let the MSys2 to be installed with the latest software update and so on but for some reason the MSys2 software installed separately from the DevkitPro folder structure cannot well communicate with it, because it needs some extra settings that maybe it's not really frendly using if we can say...
    So to go around of this problems you should use the MSys2 software into the DevkitPro folder structure, exactly into this address C:\devkitPro\msys2 , and all the libs mentioned above you have to install into this MSys2 , it's important that you start the related MSys2 on the base of your OS System 64 or 32 (mingw64 or mingw32).

    Once you installed all the libs and be sure to start the related mingw64 or mingw32 on the base of your OS System, you can try to build up again the SM64.....

    Let me know ;)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Thanks to tell me this, because someone more accreditive for building such packaging tried to explain to me the reason why cannot be, but I was a bit skeptical about his explanation, because it's true that the Wii U it's not a monster Ryzen CPU with an Nvidia 3080 or AMD 6800XT but I believe that the console has enough capable to run well this porting game even with higher texture structure.......
     
    Last edited by CrisMod, Dec 14, 2020
  15. elk1007

    elk1007 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the help!

    So I can see all of the packages that are not installed in pacman. When I try to install any of them I get the error:
    pacman -S dkp-libs 3ds-bulletphysics
    error: target not found: dkp-libs
     
    Last edited by elk1007, Dec 14, 2020
  16. CrisMod

    CrisMod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Italy
    HMMMMM.... but I have the doubt that you miss something here.......try to do as following:

    pacman -Sy

    once finished then make the following command:

    pacman -Syu


    Let me know what happen, if you will see that install many "things" have means that you missed everything
     
  17. elk1007

    elk1007 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    So this "installed many things" as well as updated Msys2. After all of these updates I tried again and I get:


    $ pacman -S dkp-libs 3ds-bulletphysics
    error: target not found: dkp-libs

    Am I missing some PATH setting? I can query dkp-libs, but can't sync them?
     
  18. CrisMod

    CrisMod GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    Italy
    I believe that you didn't prepared at all the 3DS enviroment :D........

    Digit this now:

    pacman -S 3ds-dev


    and when ask you to "Enter a selection" don't write anything and just press enter again, it' should install everything that you are missing here....once finished restart the PC.

    And then try again if persist the problem we will do somenthing else.....
     
    Last edited by CrisMod, Dec 14, 2020
  19. elk1007

    elk1007 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    I entered this command into MSYS2 and every entry said "reinstalling"...
     
  20. MikaDubbz

    MikaDubbz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    1,608
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, is the Render96 mod running well on the Wii U now? Last I heard it ran so slow on Wii U that there was no good reason to use it on Wii U at this point beyond a proof of concept. Though I also understood that if you just lifted a single model or two like the updated model of just Mario, that that would run fine. Is this still the case? Or has someone found a way to have the full Runder96 version run much more smoothly on the Wii U?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Super, Mario,