Suddenly completely unable to access GBAtemp.

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Tamyu, Feb 23, 2007.

Feb 23, 2007
  1. Tamyu
    OP

    Member Tamyu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Just outside Nagoya, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    Right now I`m accessing it through a US proxy server. It will not load, and does not even respond to pings if I don`t do it through proxy. It doesn`t time out, but tells me \"Destination net unreachable\". As if I were being blocked by this end...
    Prior to today I have never so much as had one problem accessing the site. What is going on? Has my ip been blocked or something?

    I know I`m not the only one with this problem. Help.
     
  2. phoood

    Member phoood taking it to a whole new level.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001
    Location:
    Jewgoslavia
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
    Oh-oh



    okok, Are you sure it's not the proxy it self? And I see you got through.
     
  3. Tamyu
    OP

    Member Tamyu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Just outside Nagoya, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    I don`t usually use a proxy. I`m only using one to access GBAtemp today because I can`t get through normally.
     
  4. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I can't think of what it would be. We haven't changed anything on our end.
     
  5. Tamyu
    OP

    Member Tamyu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Just outside Nagoya, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    Nothing has changed on this end either - I even called and confirmed. And it`s only GBAtemp...
    In PMs, 4saken said he was having trouble and ended up using a proxy. I didn`t think much about it until I also couldn`t access the site at all. I remembered the proxy bit, tried it, and had no trouble at all.

    I`m wondering if there are more people out there who are having similar problems, but think the site is down (as I did until I recalled the PM)

    ETA: For some reason, the proxy loves to insert \\s in random places. Please excuse that.
     
  6. Tamyu
    OP

    Member Tamyu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Just outside Nagoya, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    Just confirmed that my husband can`t access it from work either - totally different ISP, etc. Same message from your server saying that it is \"unreachable\" - a common message when an ip has been blocked or banned.
     
  7. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Well there is no ip or range ban on your IP address. I suggest sending a message to Costello about it, he's the best person to talk about this to.
     
  8. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Like Tamyu, I've been having exactly the same problems. The site is working now atm with my Australian IP.
     
  9. Tamyu
    OP

    Member Tamyu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Just outside Nagoya, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    And suddenly working... Nothing changed here. I am guessing there is probably some sort of problem inbetween GBAtemp`s servers and us. In fact, I believe Japan and Australia both use the same backbone, so it would make sense.

    Very weirdly frustrating.
     
  10. laurenz

    Member laurenz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I had the same problem a hour ago! But i don't live near japan or australia at all! I live in the Netherlands!
    Everything seems to work fine now though.
     
  11. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    Unreachable would mean there's no route to the network where gbatemp.net is - so nothing gbatemp itself could influence.
     
  12. Tamyu
    OP

    Member Tamyu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Just outside Nagoya, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    That may be true, but I`m used to doing ip range blocks that give the unreachable message. It wasn`t a big leap to thinking that for some reason there may be a block on Japanese ips, etc.

    It seems that it wasn`t, and I hope whatever the problem was that it doesn`t happen again. If it had been something on GBAtemp`s end, fixing it would have remedied the problem... But something else between here and there could happen again anytime. Argh.
     
  13. Gestahl

    Member Gestahl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Moscow
    Country:
    Russia
    I had the same problem but GBATemp is reachable now. Can't say the same about M3Wiki. :-\ Is it gone for good this time??
     
  14. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    For several hours earlier today (technically yesterday) I was getting DNS errors, even the DNS lookup sites I googled couldn't find GBATemp.net.

    It isn't The Man trying to keep you down, is it?
     
  15. digitalforums

    Member digitalforums GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Cheshire, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    same probs here as well, not being able to access
     
  16. fermio100

    Newcomer fermio100 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Brazil
    had pbms too. i'm in Brazil...
     
  17. Logan_

    Newcomer Logan_ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    it seems like the DNS server(s) are down for the m3wiki.com domain
    see http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/lookup.ch?na...wiki.com&type=A

    Code:
    How I am searching:
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at c.root-servers.net [192.33.4.12]: Got referral to B.GTLD-SERVERS.NET. (zone: com.) [took 11 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at B.GTLD-SERVERS.NET. [192.33.14.30]: Got referral to nssec.dedibox.fr. (zone: m3wiki.com.) [took 269 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at nssec.dedibox.fr. [88.191.254.71]: Got referral to c.gtld-servers.net. (zone: com.) [took 86 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at c.gtld-servers.net. [192.26.92.30]: Got referral to nssec.dedibox.fr. (zone: m3wiki.com.) [took 12 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at nssec.dedibox.fr. [88.191.254.71]: Got referral to d.gtld-servers.net. (zone: com.) [took 86 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at d.gtld-servers.net. [192.31.80.30]: Got referral to nssec.dedibox.fr. (zone: m3wiki.com.) [took 33 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at nssec.dedibox.fr. [88.191.254.71]: Got referral to h.gtld-servers.net. (zone: com.) [took 86 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at h.gtld-servers.net. [192.54.112.30]: Got referral to nssec.dedibox.fr. (zone: m3wiki.com.) [took 95 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at nssec.dedibox.fr. [88.191.254.71]: Got referral to e.gtld-servers.net. (zone: com.) [took 85 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at e.gtld-servers.net. [192.12.94.30]: Got referral to sd-5815.dedibox.fr. (zone: m3wiki.com.) [took 76 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at sd-5815.dedibox.fr. [88.191.37.100]: Timed out. ÂTrying again.
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at nssec.dedibox.fr. [88.191.254.71]: Got referral to g.gtld-servers.net. (zone: com.) [took 86 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at g.gtld-servers.net. [192.42.93.30]: Got referral to nssec.dedibox.fr. (zone: m3wiki.com.) [took 82 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at nssec.dedibox.fr. [88.191.254.71]: Got referral to d.gtld-servers.net. (zone: com.) [took 86 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at d.gtld-servers.net. [192.31.80.30]: Got referral to nssec.dedibox.fr. (zone: m3wiki.com.) [took 32 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at nssec.dedibox.fr. [88.191.254.71]: Got referral to k.gtld-servers.net. (zone: com.) [took 86 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at k.gtld-servers.net. [192.52.178.30]: Got referral to sd-5815.dedibox.fr. (zone: m3wiki.com.) [took 84 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at sd-5815.dedibox.fr. [88.191.37.100]: Timed out. ÂTrying again.
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at nssec.dedibox.fr. [88.191.254.71]: Got referral to e.gtld-servers.net. (zone: com.) [took 87 ms]
    Searching for m3wiki.com A record at e.gtld-servers.net. [192.12.94.30]: Got referral to sd-5815.dedibox.fr. (zone: m3wiki.com.) [took 80 ms]
    
    Error: It looks like you've stuck me in a loop!.
    
    Details:
    I am programmed to stop after 20 DNS queries, since most DNS lookups can be finished
    after about 3-5 queries. ÂIt sounds like you're stuck in a loop.
    nssec.dedibox.fr isn't returning the IP address for www.m3wiki.com/m3wiki.com, instead it looping back to each of the root DNS servers, and then repeats over and over.

    note: this was a hour ago, now it seems fixed now
     

Share This Page