Successfully Modded my Wii Few More Questions

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by aN4rK1, Jul 13, 2009.

Jul 13, 2009
  1. aN4rK1
    OP

    Newcomer aN4rK1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello,
    I used this guide here:
    http://www.biline.ca/wii_softmod.htm

    To mod my wii and it is working perfectly. However i decided to make a few changes and use the Neogamma Backup loader and USB LoaderGX instead of the ones listed there.
    My Wii was running 3.1U before modding and is now running 3.2U after as per the guide.

    My first questions is. Is there anything else I need to be complete safe/brick proof? I dont quite understand what the IOS files are and CIOS and what not. Iam reading a lot of the threads which state Cios rev10 and so on, iam not completely sure what these are.

    I would also like to get SSBB working, I have tried it on the USB loader and it doesnt work. If I were to burn it on a DVD-R DL, would it load in the backup loader? I have downloaded the official scene release ISO for SSBB from another source.

    Lastly, my friend wants me to try and mod is wii which is running 4.0U. He originally bought it last year and has been updating the firmware since. I was going to use this guide here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=144835

    this will work correct?
     
  2. Xoo00o0o0o

    Member Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    1. bootmii and preloader
    2. ios is the system menu files (i think)
    3. i hope you mean SSBB anyways yeah you may need to burn it to a disc
    4. yes
     
  3. aN4rK1
    OP

    Newcomer aN4rK1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks! How do I install bootmii and preloader?
     
  4. Xoo00o0o0o

    Member Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    Softmii or miiwii
     
  5. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    What the...?

    Preloader
    BootMii
     
  6. Xoo00o0o0o

    Member Xoo00o0o0o Xoo00o0o0o is in the house

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Country:
    United States
    sorry the softmii i got had preloader and bootmii
     
  7. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    2. IOS is not the System Menu. Each game and application (homebrew or not) run on the Wii uses IOS (excepting BootMii). While the System Menu needs IOS, they exist seperately. IOS runs on what Team Twiizers calls Starlet, an ARM processor in the Wii that handles all the input and output of the Wii (from running the bluetooth for controllers, to wireless, to NAND access, to SD stuff). IOS is like the operating system that runs on Starlet, so pretty much everything on the Wii relies on IOS in some way. Go here for more and probably better info than I could give you.

    3. Really? It works perfectly fine on USB Loader Config for me. What loader do you use?
     
  8. aN4rK1
    OP

    Newcomer aN4rK1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    The softmii guide says it has both bootmii and preloader in it. I might just install them seprately. And yes it didnt work for me on the USB loader. I tried it on USB Loader GX the latest version.
     

Share This Page