STYX DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Metaluna, Feb 13, 2007.

Feb 13, 2007

STYX DS by Metaluna at 4:53 AM (5,862 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. Metaluna
    OP

    Newcomer Metaluna Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Pixifoly
    Country:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    STYXDS is Atari ST emulator programmed by Kyuran, the author of Croco DS and PenkoDS.

    The very first release 0.1a is able to run most games at 60% speed allowing you to enjoy Xenon 2, Rick Dangerous, David Braben's Virus and many more...



    01a features (rough translation from author's website)

    - .ST files support
    - sound
    - DLDI support

    How to :

    copy Atari ST TOS and .ST files in the root or /roms/st directories of your card, patch the .nds with DLDI and... that's it! :-)

    Tos 1.xx and 2.xx should run ok, but note that I used v1.02. Make sure to rename the file to tos.bin

    Don't forget this is an early alpha release. There are many bugs, I'm quite aware of that.

    Author's website : http://deadketchup.kyuran.be
    File : http://media.kyuran.be/temp/styxds-dldi-v01a.nds
     


  2. mthrnite

    Former Staff mthrnite So it goes.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,523
    Location:
    th' south
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, man, I'm jonesin' to play Virus again.. Superb!
     
  3. Elrinth

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Location:
    Home @ UMEÅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    ooo Popelous and Dungeon Master! [​IMG] sweeeet
     
  4. rest0re

    Member rest0re GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    WINLAND
    Country:
    Finland
    WHAT! THE! FUCK! omfggfokdsfsko ATARI ST this is so great, hope creator continues this emulator... DAMN DAMN DAMN .. i love deadketchup dude [​IMG]
     
  5. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    !!! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] I grew up with an ST, seeing it emulated on GBA/DS is one of those things I'd always hoped would happen but never seriously thought it would. And now it has! Gods, Timebandits and Dizzy on the DS, how cool would that be?! (Okay so Gods was 2 discs and won't work well on a tiny screen so maybe not).
    (sorry for the emoticon flood, I was lost for words)

    Much much love for the developers [​IMG]
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,719
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice, more emulators are always welcome.

    @Elrinth (or anyone else that might know) I never played the Atari version of Populous, how does it compare to the amiga/dos ones?

    ooh a quick search tells me cannon fodder also appeared on the ST.

    Two of my favourite games seem to be within reach now.
     
  7. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's practically the same as the Dos one. [​IMG] (with the exception that IIRC it doesn't need the "passwords off the instruction book" to load the game)
     
  8. rest0re

    Member rest0re GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    WINLAND
    Country:
    Finland
    its not amount of disks.. its quality of emulation [​IMG] it doesnt matter if gods is two discs.. but yea. gods.. i own that game .. original. nice cover [​IMG]
     
  9. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    rest0re: Your post confuses me. I was just running down a thought train, I don't mind if it doesn't support 2-disk titles (it might even do it already, I don't know), what they've done so far is more than enough to keep little me happy. (and incidentally I have the original too in my bookcase, with our old savegame backup disc in there as well [​IMG] )
     
  10. kev3458

    Member kev3458 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Canada
    Sweet. Dungeon Master old school all over again [​IMG]!
     
  11. rest0re

    Member rest0re GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    WINLAND
    Country:
    Finland
    sorry my native tongue is not english but i still got good grade from matriculation examination [​IMG] i love that simon bistley artwork but its bit homosexual.. some bodybuilder type guy fighting with monsters [​IMG]
     
  12. Shtroodle

    Newcomer Shtroodle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Stankonia
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    I was wondering if anyone got mouse support to work? I was able to load some games but coudn't find a way to run them from TOS since the mouse cursor was just sitting there, right in the center of the game PRG file [​IMG] Other than that this really has a great potential - most of adventure and RPG games should be playable just fine (if you could use a mouse that is). I think this emu deserves a mention on the front page, don't you? [​IMG]

    EDIT: I'm using R4 and TOS102(US)
     
  13. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't test it myself, but I assume the split rectangle beside the floppy disc lets you pick whether the touch screen controls the mouse or the keyboard. Tap the upper half of it (the bit that looks like a screen) and then see if that switches the touchscreen to mouse mode.
     
  14. Shtroodle

    Newcomer Shtroodle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    Stankonia
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Thanks for the tip Psyfira but I already tried that. I did actually made some progress when I discovered that swithcing the "Key layout" to mouse allows you to control the cursor with D-Pad (but not by touching your screen). Unfortunately, this works only sometimes and when it does, you do actually get to run the game from TOS, but don't get past the intro screen - since the emu is running in a "mouse" mode you can't press the SPACE key (or any other key at that matter), thus you're stuck again. When you try to change the key layout on the fly it garbles the game screen and you have to reset the emulator. Bugger - I was so close :'(

    EDIT: Added a sadder smiley to better express my sadness [​IMG]
     
  15. Methanoid

    Newcomer Methanoid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No updated version since 0.2 in March [​IMG]

    This was the one emu that I was waiting for to buy my own DS (and not just play with my son's DS). I'm so surprised that no-one here is excited or seems interested in ST emulation on a DS? [​IMG]

    If he isn't using Cyclone for the 68k core and did then the thing would be even faster?
     
  16. Elrinth

    Member Elrinth :Master beyond your imagination:

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,795
    Location:
    Home @ UMEÅ
    Country:
    Sweden
    I recently packed in my Atari ST into the storage... Don't have anywhere to put it [​IMG] But oo I will have to download and try this when I come home today [​IMG]
     
  17. 4ppleseed

    Member 4ppleseed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Amiga was better [​IMG]


    (Now bring me a working Amiga emu for the DS and I'd be over the moonstone.)
     
  18. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Who said noone was excited, we're just quiet about it [​IMG] I came in here thinking the topic had been revived because there'd been an update, lol never mind. I'm not going to fuss when people are doing this stuff in their free time. [​IMG]

    The EZ-V and Styx don't get along particularly well, so I spent ages swapping OS's and disk images to find out which ones do and don't work. Forget the keyboard, and it won't run anything with a fancy menu on the front (like the multi-game Automation packers), but I had limited sucess with games with trainers (the ones that load to a plain screen with a "press t for trainer" option) and an image of one of my old discs. Crystal Castles is way easier than I remember it being as a kid [​IMG] It takes about 5 minuites to crawl through the (mostly black screen) intro of Magic Pockets, but once the game loads it runs okay.

    Nice reminder though, I started writing something to add it to the Wiki but it was down at the time and I forgot about it. Now where on earth did I save that txt file...?
     
  19. Methanoid

    Newcomer Methanoid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The author responded to an email and told me an update would be forthcoming "soon". Nice to get a response from an author!
     
  20. dudereno

    Member dudereno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Good job Methanoid. Please keep us posted if their are any new developments.
     

Share This Page