1. Anakin1138

    OP Anakin1138 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I inherited an extra Corona 360, so I thought I'd challenge myself and see if I could hack the thing. I was able to install the Nand reader and read the nand, and create and write the ECC file. I then hooked up the x360ace v5. As best as I can tell, I got the soldering done without bridging anything, but when I attempted to turn things on, I'm getting no response or loading screen.

    From what I understood about v5, it came preloaded, so I didn't think there was anything I needed to do after hooking up the v5. Did I miss a step after I installed the glitch chip? Is there anything I can to check if I did the soldering right, or if the chip is working?

    Thanks for any advice. I figured there was a risk I might sacrifice this box to improving my soldering skills, but I don't want to give up quite yet!
     
  2. brickmii82

    brickmii82 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,321
    Country:
    United States
    Pics of install please, let’s see what the points look like.
     
  3. Anakin1138

    OP Anakin1138 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    First time having my soldering job critiqued since college. Be gentle!
    The second picture shows the front side if you keep scrolling.
    057E6F38-BC36-47E6-8BE3-F1E1936F9709_1_105_c.jpeg F69FFD64-954A-4354-96D5-EAE4FB84316A_1_105_c.jpeg F69FFD64-954A-4354-96D5-EAE4FB84316A_1_105_c.jpeg 057E6F38-BC36-47E6-8BE3-F1E1936F9709_1_105_c.jpeg
     
  4. DinohScene

    DinohScene hail p1ngpong
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21,247
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Soldering job looks fine.

    You sure it came pre-configured for your Corona board?
    Only thing I can think of it trying different timing files and making sure wires aren't near any sources of interference like coils and MOSFETs
     
  5. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    18,652
    Country:
    United States
    soldering looks good. my skills are modest, but my dad's are top notch (builds guitars). I don't know much about an rgh though as I have 2 jtags. one with regular smc; the other with aud clamp.
     
  6. Anakin1138

    OP Anakin1138 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the feedback (and the vote of confidence in the soldering!). With the all the fiddling around, I wound up taking off the NAND reader to get the ace on. I'll reattach it this weekend and try configuring the ace as if it wasn't pre-configured (they said it was, but it's certainly possible it's not). At least that should tell me if the ace is connected, so I might have a better idea if the issue is soldering, or either software or board.

    Thanks!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Corona, trying, Stuck