Stuck in M&L: Superstar Saga

Discussion in 'GBA - Console and Game Discussions, Help and Tips' started by odyssy, Oct 2, 2009.

Oct 2, 2009

Stuck in M&L: Superstar Saga by odyssy at 3:40 AM (1,089 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. odyssy
    OP

    Newcomer odyssy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Canada
    This is really odd (and hopefully, I'm just not overlooking something embarrassingly obvious..).. but I'm stuck in the game and I don't know what the issue is.

    I'm at the part where you have a tutorial on how to high jump (L+B). I press the L button and.. nothing happens. (I've tried pressing L and then B.. holding L and then pressing B.. all that happens is Luigi jumps regularly)

    Just for debugging purposes, I'm playing the game on my Nintendo DS Lite on a G6 Lite flash cart (all default settings used when copying the ROM).

    Any idea what the problem is? Is my DS broken? Is this some anti-piracy thing? Am I just stupid?
     
  2. geminisama

    Member geminisama Metsu

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,045
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    It's not Anti-Piracy, and you're not dumb. It sounds like it's either a bad dump, or a G6 issue if the command action doesn't change when you press L.
    If Mario is in the lead, and you can't do it, it's either the rom or cart.
     
  3. odyssy
    OP

    Newcomer odyssy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Canada
    OK downloaded a different (actually, I have no way to check if it actually is any different..) rom.. same issue.
     
  4. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    There is no piracy on M&LSS. You're not stupid...

    Well, my first guess would be a broken L button on your DS. It's an incredibly common issue, esspecially on the lites. It's not a bad dump, since you already re downloaded. The L button will be required throughout the entire game. Playing the game via computer emulator is no fun, and your DS probably can't play the game at all. So my suggestion would be to run the game on a hacked wii (If you have one) using VBAgx. I'm actually doing that right now. It's awesome.
     
  5. odyssy
    OP

    Newcomer odyssy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Canada
    Is there any way I can verify the button is broken (I can't offhand think of any games that use it..)?

    Edit: Fixed it! Must have been some dirt or something stuck under there..
     
  6. geminisama

    Member geminisama Metsu

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,045
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    There is a diagnostic homebrew for the ds you can use, to see if it's registering your L clicks; or you can try another game that needs that button, and see if it works.
     

Share This Page