strange xbox issues with dvd drive

MarioMasta64

hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
2,260
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
github.com
XP
1,749
Country
United States
i have two xbox's one with a sdg605 (samsung) and another with a tgm600 (thomson)

the one with the samsung is a 1.6b revision motherboard

for some reason it only boots properly with either

the original hard drive & the original dvd drive [works fine]
the original hard drive & the thomson dvd drive [works fine]
the new hard drive & the original dvd drive [works fine]
the new hard drive & the thomson dvd drive [error 13]

the thomson also works perfectly fine in my other xbox and plays original game and works in the new xbox as well but only with the original ide drive for some reason

im extremely confused as to why this happens and ive made sure it makes a flush sit with the system

i have the latest xbox dashboard on both the old and new drive [5960]

what could be wrong?

im also using the same files to format the old and new drive
 

MarioMasta64

hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
2,260
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
github.com
XP
1,749
Country
United States
Are you using a SATA adapter? Is it using Cable Select?
yes, yes

its set to cable select

and note: i only get this error when either the hard drive is swapped OR the dvd drive

it works fine if i use:
the samsung drive and the either of the hard drives
the thomson drive and the original hard drive
 

MarioMasta64

hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
2,260
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
github.com
XP
1,749
Country
United States
interestingly if i take the ide cable from the other system and use it instead i get error 21 instead of 13

and ive constantly changed back to the samsung and it boots flawlessly then so i dont believe it to be the hard drives itselfs fault
 

MarioMasta64

hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
2,260
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
github.com
XP
1,749
Country
United States
Try setting it to Primary.
same issue
i tried master, slave, cable, and acd
the original hdd uses cable select so i went with that and it works with the samsung drive but not the thompson one
the original hard drive & the original dvd drive [works fine]
the original hard drive & the thomson dvd drive [works fine]
the new hard drive & the original dvd drive [works fine]
the new hard drive & the thomson dvd drive [error 13]
 

MarioMasta64

hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
2,260
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
github.com
XP
1,749
Country
United States
it seems that its because im using a 40pin adapter with an 80pin drive and that causes the issue
thats why everything but the thomson drive and the new adapter works

which is unfortunate :creep: now i have to spend money on another sata adapter lol.
 

MarioMasta64

hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
2,260
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
github.com
XP
1,749
Country
United States
update to the update:
maybe not exactly tho

im looking into it further cause it doesnt explain why the drive works with the adapter that was in the xbox and the old hard drive :/ (without replacing cable)
 

MarioMasta64

hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
2,260
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
github.com
XP
1,749
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: koffieleut

MarioMasta64

hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
2,260
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
github.com
XP
1,749
Country
United States
Thank you for posting all the research you did.
of course, i always contribute to things that help me when possible

example: updating the piprom project for instructions on using a raspberry pi 4 and a 1.6 revision xbox (still currently not merged tho) https://github.com/grimdoomer/PiPROM/pull/6 since i could only just barely find the info about using these

i always try to give back when i can
 
  • Like
Reactions: koffieleut

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
2,807
Trophies
1
XP
3,869
Country
I've had strange issues with drives, on my Pentium 3 PC I replaced the DVD drive. For some reason the DVD drive causes the system to hang on booting if set to A->CDROM->C

Otherwise it worked perfectly fine.

Bearing in mind the old drive did not have this issue.

Someone elsewhere suggest it might have been CS (hence the prior post), but I hadn’t had a chance to check, now I might need to try changing the IDE cable.

Note: The DVD was one the secondary IDE whilst any HDD/SSD was primary.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MarioMasta64

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
1,802
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
5,084
Country
United States
It is always recommended to use an 80 wire IDE cable instead of 40 for SATA HDDs, specially for +250GB HDDs as they need more juice to power both the HDD & the disc drive in order for both of them to work correctly, since they share the same cable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MarioMasta64

MarioMasta64

hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
2,260
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
github.com
XP
1,749
Country
United States
It is always recommended to use an 80 wire IDE cable instead of 40 for SATA HDDs, specially for +250GB HDDs as they need more juice to power both the HDD & the disc drive in order for both of them to work correctly, since they share the same cable.
whats strange tho is it works fine with the samsung drive but not the thomson one
then again i hear the thomson ones build quality isnt great so expected
 
  • Like
Reactions: CoolMe

MarioMasta64

hi. i make batch stuff and portable shiz
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
2,260
Trophies
0
Age
24
Website
github.com
XP
1,749
Country
United States
update on the situation:

got the 80 pin cable and the thomson drive and adapter work

afaict most drives will require an 80 wire cable if you use a sata adapter

samsung i didnt need one but for philips and thomson i did

i cannot confirm or deny the requirement for hitachi-lg drive

so the will 40 wire cable work guide:
samsung: yes
thomson: no
philips: no
hitachi-lg: ???
 
  • Like
Reactions: CoolMe
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: You're thinking of the Wii u