Strange Wii Problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Chloros, Jun 17, 2008.

Jun 17, 2008

Strange Wii Problem by Chloros at 1:23 PM (2,858 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Chloros
    OP

    Newcomer Chloros Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Here's my problem: after playing a game on my Wii (original or backed up) any disc I use after that asks to update my Wii. It appears to happen only when I actually play a game. Even if I eject the game I was playing and put it right back in, it asks to update. The only way is to turn the Wii completely off for a while (time needed varies). I don't think standby works, has to be red light off. This all just started happening the last couple days.

    Background: I have a launch Wii (D2A). About a month ago I tried to mod my Wii with a Wiikey and ended up lifting/burning a pad on the last connection [​IMG]. Last week I got a wii-clip and was able to get it working.

    Any ideas on what could be wrong? Faulty Wiikey or Wii-clip? Did I mess up the drive somehow? Overheating?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. bosscolor

    Member bosscolor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    Toulouse
    Country:
    France
    Did you ever updated your wii?

    What game ask you tu update
     
  3. abort_user

    Newcomer abort_user Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    i think some games require an update and have updates on the discs. however, DO NOT UPDATE FROM ANOTHER REGION. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. as for if you can update using a modchip i wouldnt see why not, but i would ask around first. i hear its better to keep auto update off though. i do not have a modchip yet (im waiting to get it back from nintendo first).
     
  4. Chloros
    OP

    Newcomer Chloros Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the misunderstanding. My Wii is already updated properly to 3.2U. After playing a game, my Wii will start asking for updates on every disc I put in, Wii Sports included.

    1. Turn Wii on.
    2. Put Wii Sports in and play a set of tennis.
    3. Return to Wii menu.
    4. Eject Wii Sports.
    5. Put Wii Sports back in.
    6. Wii thinks Wii Sports (or any other game) has an update for my Wii (can't play anything until I turn my Wii off for a while).
     
  5. Chloros
    OP

    Newcomer Chloros Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    No ideas? [​IMG]

    I opened my Wii up again to check the connections and try it without the Wiikey/Wii-clip. No difference...

    I'll give the drive a close inspection and maybe clean it with alcohol later today.
     
  6. bosscolor

    Member bosscolor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    Toulouse
    Country:
    France
    I think you should format your wii
     
  7. OrcMonkey©

    Banned OrcMonkey© Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Country:
    try updating
     
  8. callmebob

    Member callmebob The Grandpa of Awe!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG] Have you tried updating your Wiikey firmware to 1.9s, and then use the config disc to switch on the update blocker?
     
  9. OrGoN3

    Member OrGoN3 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    NO! If he clicks yes and the Wii updates via online, he'll have 3.3U firmware and the TP hack and Trucha Signer won't work anymore.
     
  10. Chloros
    OP

    Newcomer Chloros Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I'm updated to 1.9s, but I didn't have the update blocker turned on. I turned it on and no difference.
    Great idea, though. It didn't occur to stupid me at all [​IMG]
     
  11. Chloros
    OP

    Newcomer Chloros Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    So it's gotten worse. Now it's asking to update with the first disc I put in, too [​IMG]
    So all Wii games are doing this, but Gamecube ones are fine.

    It's having this problem whether the Wiikey/Wii-clip is attached or not, so I guess it's the drives problem?

    Should I order a new drive or do you guys think the problem is elsewhere in the Wii (maybe just need to replace the laser or circuit board)?
     
  12. SkankyYankee

    Member SkankyYankee GBAtemp Advanced Skank

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    507
    Location:
    In front of the PC
    Country:
    United States
    if you get an sd card you can transfer saves to your pc. i dont know about those specific games
     
  13. callmebob

    Member callmebob The Grandpa of Awe!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG] mmm, ´nother idea. As far as I can remember the Datel Freeloader overrides updates. (not 100% sure, just for some reason it pops up in my head)

    Get a copy of it, and give it a shot. Also if you can run homebrew, the new Gecko OS might help.

    Also you might want to get a RW and make a backup of any game patched with the brick blocker. If that works though, you´ll prolly have to burn EVERY game this way.

    Bet your problem is still the burnt/lifted solder point. Anyway good luck, hope you find a work around.

    (edit) If you update your Wii FW to 3.3 the Free Loader won´t work anymore anyway.
     
  14. Chloros
    OP

    Newcomer Chloros Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    But my original games that should not have updates on them (i.e. Wii Sports) are doing this, too.

    I can't make sense of it. What could cause it to think there's an update when there isn't? Say, if something was overheating and cause the Wii to read the next disc improperly, wouldn't it give a disc read error instead of thinking there's an update? Hmm, frustration makes me write run on sentences [​IMG]

    Edit: I saw a bunch of people with the same problem on the Nintendo support forums, but of course the answer was send your Wii to Nintendo [​IMG]
     
  15. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Is the system clock reading OK? If not maybe its a problem with the CMOS battery?
     
  16. Chloros
    OP

    Newcomer Chloros Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    It resets every time I open it up and try to find out what's wrong, but I do set it afterwards. Odd thing though, it used to reset back to launch day, but now it resets back to a much closer date. Today (Thursday) it reset back to Wednesday.
     
  17. Chloros
    OP

    Newcomer Chloros Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I'm getting a strongish feeling that I need to replace the laser. Is it possible for a badly burned disc (0% reliability according to DVDInfoPro) to have this effect on the laser after just a handful of uses?

    Edit: And by laser, of course, I mean lens [​IMG]
     
  18. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Every time you open it - you have to remove the cmos battery (which stores the clock info) so thats why it is being reset.
     
  19. Chloros
    OP

    Newcomer Chloros Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    A bit late, but here's an update.

    If you have this problem, send your Wii to Nintendo [​IMG]

    I tried replacing the laser with to results, so I decided to send it in. When I got it back, it was the same drive, so that wasn't the problem. The repair description was replaced "component(s)" (motherboard or Wii equivalent?). Oh, also my save files and Mii's we're gone [​IMG]

    Anyway, new problem! My Wii won't let me transfer my backed up saves back on to it. Every time I try, it says "The data was not copied." I'm looking at the Savegame-Installer/Extractor to force my Wii to take my save files, but I still need a tool to turn my data.bin into something compatible with the Savegame-Installer. Is there such a tool out there? Or should I ask this in the hacking section?

    Edit: Forgot to mention that Nintendo support wasn't helpful in this matter. Being told to do the same things over again and that "it should work."
     

Share This Page