Strange Question About Homebrew Chan

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dakota76, May 8, 2008.

May 8, 2008
  1. Dakota76
    OP

    Member Dakota76 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi all
    I have the homebrew channel installed on my wii
    I want to copy it to my sd card, im sending my wii in to get the dvd drive fixed
    So ill need to remove the channel before i send it in
    But i want to be able to reinstall it, so i want to put it on my sd card incase they dont fix the dvd drive
    I then can copy it back to my wii like VC Games
    But the homebrew channel wont copy to my sd card
    Any one know if there is a program i can use to do this
    or maybe an updated homebrew channel
    Thanks in advance
    Dakota76
     
  2. mark187

    Member mark187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just reinstall it via the regular method, that is, assuming you're using the unlimited version.
     
  3. Dakota76
    OP

    Member Dakota76 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
    i cant reinstall it with the regular method because my dvd drive dont work
    thats why im sending it to nintendo
    but if they dont fix it for whatever reason
    i want to be able to put homebrew chan back on
    is there a way i could do it with nand dump or something
     
  4. mark187

    Member mark187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, because you need a way of launching the twilight hack to install a WAD created from a NAND dump.

    What's wrong with the drive anyway?
     
  5. Dakota76
    OP

    Member Dakota76 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
    it stopped reading disks
    i called nintendo and they said they would look at it and maybe fix it
    they said maybe it depends on if the console has been opened (which of course it has) but i know a few ppl that had to send their wii's in for warrenty work and they had chips and took them out before they sent them in and got fixed

    As for launching wads i can use the homebrew chan
    i can copy VC games installed from wad from the wii and then back again
    i even tried the nes channel and that works also
    But i cant seem to do it with the homebrew chan
     
  6. mark187

    Member mark187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You probably have a blown fuse on the drive board. If you have a multimeter you can find which one it is and jump it to bring your drive back to life.

    It's actually not an unheard of problem.

    edit: Like this.

    [​IMG]

    The pic shows the most commonly blown fuse. You can either attach a wire as shown, remove the fuse with an iron and connect both sides with solder or just put a big blob of solder over the whole fuse so it shorts.
     
  7. Dakota76
    OP

    Member Dakota76 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah i checked the fuses
    did a search for the most common fuses to blow and also tested a few more that i seen
    i think its the laser myself
    cant even get a reading on the pot
    so do you think there is any way to copy the homebrew chan to sd card or am i snafu'd
     
  8. mark187

    Member mark187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think you can do it. Team Twiizers must have coded it the same way as the other Wii software that can be transferred.

    If they do fix your laser than it's no problem. If they refuse then you could always buy either a new drive or a new laser unit and hope for the best.
     
  9. Dakota76
    OP

    Member Dakota76 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you know anywhere i could buy either a new drive or a new laser unit
    And will either solution fix my problem for sure
     

Share This Page