Strange problem with preloader and homebrew channel

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Vamosi, Jun 15, 2009.

Jun 15, 2009
  1. Vamosi
    OP

    Newcomer Vamosi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I soft modded my Wii with the ULTIMATE System Menu 4.0 Guide using the network install and everything went fine and is working correctly. The thing im concerned with though is when turning the Wii on and going straight into the preloader v0.29 and using the launch homebrew channel it boots to the loading screen with corrupted gfx and is unusable.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Now if i go into the system menu then reboot preloader v0.29, loading the homebrew channel works fine.

    So as you can see im a little worried that if in the event i brick the Wii and can no longer boot to the system menu then im going to have problems running the hombrew channel to fix what ever it is i would need to do. Im not sure what i should do to try and fix this problem as i havn't come across this problem before so if anyone has any suggestions any help would be greatly appreciated.

    My Wii before any mods was on 3.4E i installed the latest homebrew channel v1.03 using the bannerbomb exploit because i didn't have a copy of Zelda handy then continued to follow the guide mentioned above. I don't have a modchip installed, the system menu is now on 4.0E and everything else is working fine.
     
  2. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd reinstall both preloader and the homebrew channel through teh hackmii installer.
     
  3. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i'd install bootmii, remove preloader and use starpatch? (in that order)
     
  4. Vamosi
    OP

    Newcomer Vamosi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Before i modded the Wii i tried to install bootmii but it wouldn't allow me to install into boot2. Would this still be handy in my case to install it with the other method?
     
  5. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    I have the same problem occasionally, always with booting bootmii into homebrew channel or going from preloader, never had a problem launching homebrew channel as a channel.

    You using nintendo brand component cables too? I think it may have something to do with it, I used to have that crash when booting homebrew channel from bootmii with video mode set to progressive in bootmii.ini. Never happens anymore when set as "NTSC".

    I'm running a replaced wii that shipped with 3.1 (now on 3.2 with added IOSes to play madworld) a year and a half ago and have installed bootmii as boot2 and i've never had any serious issues previously other than this. It's so random and with the launch application from preloader and bootmii nand restore I generally don't use the homebrew channel until I'm at the wii menu anyway so i didn;t make a big deal out of it, but yes that happens to me too.
     
  6. ginkster

    Newcomer ginkster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had exactly the same problem a few months back.I searched for ages and cuoldnt find an answer. I even started a topic but no one replied. I think it was down to having the external hard drive connected when booting hbc from preloader but im still not 100% convinced that was the problem.
     
  7. Vamosi
    OP

    Newcomer Vamosi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im using the standard av cables that came with the console, with 50Hz 576i mode selected in the settings.

    I also can run the homebrew channel fine from the system menu just having problems everytime launching it from the preloader menu.
     

Share This Page