Strange issue with Wii and SD card

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by roncore, Aug 27, 2009.

Aug 27, 2009
  1. roncore
    OP

    Newcomer roncore Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    This actually isn't strictly about hacking, although that is where I found the issue first.

    I have a wii and have upgraded to the newest FW (4.1u).
    I have tried 5 different SD cards, with different files (photos, softmod files, etc). No card I have will show up in the wii, anywhere

    Data Managment > Channels> SD says the card in the slot is not usable

    Photochannel > Card is not usable

    Even the main SD browser on the home page gives me that. 5 different cards (SanDisk For Wii 2gb SD
    , Lexar 128mb SD, Kingston 2gb SD, Canon 32mb SD, Noname 256mb SD). I have tried formatting these with FAT and FAT32. I have used the SDformatter program. All of these read perfectly fine on both PC's that I have tried.

    What is even stranger is that when I insert the cards into the Wii, it gives me the sound notification and light up SD card on the home page saying that it sees the card. Its just when I try to access it that it tells me it is not usable. Any ideas on this? I'm stumped and have search the web up and down. Should I reformat the Wii at this point? Everything else works fine.
     
  2. OncleJulien

    Member OncleJulien tool of peers

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    that's really f'en peculiar...did you try blowing some compressed air in the slot (thats what she said) to see if that helps any? different sizes, different vendors, same result? very peculiar indeed.

    they arent all locked, right?
     
  3. roncore
    OP

    Newcomer roncore Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, tried compressed Air, all different brands of cards. It's got me puzzled, it seems if it was a contact in the Wii it wouldnt see it inserted. None locked either, i tried both locked and unlocked to be sure.

    Reformat the Wii possibly?
     
  4. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    could it be possible that your sd reader is simply broken?

    youre on 4.1, does it make a sound when you insert the card while on the system menu?
     
  5. roncore
    OP

    Newcomer roncore Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, makes the sound, the SD card image glows blue, otherwise I would think the SD card is toast.
     
  6. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    have you tried a non-sdhc sd card?
     
  7. 0M39A

    Member 0M39A GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    i would assume from his first post that they are all non sdhc cards (32MB to 2GB)
     
  8. ChrisRX

    Member ChrisRX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It could just be a dodgy connection inside the sd card slot. An sd slot has a separate pin on it to indicate when a card has been inserted that is completely independant from the rest of the pins.
    So if one of the data or power pins is not making a decent connection it may see that a card is inserted but not be able to transfer data.
     
  9. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im guessing so, sdhc cards start from 4gb and over anything under 4gb is standard sd
     
  10. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Try reformatting your SD cards as fat or fat32.
     
  11. roncore
    OP

    Newcomer roncore Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    All are SD cards I've tried, I did try one SDHC 4gb Kingston, and no go on it either.

    I've tried formatting to FAT and FAT32 using SDformatter and built in windows disk management. I'm at a loss, my friend that has a wii is tied up at college so I can't get him to test in his. Maybe I should just go with a hardware mod like drivekey, still doesnt solve my save game states and photo viewing, ugh...
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    ouch, i think chrisrx has your answer
     
  13. roncore
    OP

    Newcomer roncore Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Sucks, lol. Anybody know what a repair of this would cost? Cheaper to just buy a hardware modchip?
     
  14. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    a SD Card is the very essence of the Wii Hacking, without it, your Wii will never be fully modified
     
  15. roncore
    OP

    Newcomer roncore Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Anybody know what it would cost to get it repaired?
     
  16. HellFireXS

    Newcomer HellFireXS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    Nintendo charges about $75 (plus shipping) if you are not still under warrantee
     
  17. roncore
    OP

    Newcomer roncore Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. Arghg. I just tried two more SD card, same thing.
     

Share This Page