strange error in preloader stopping mate from installing

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by madeirabhoy, Sep 14, 2009.

  1. madeirabhoy
    OP

    Member madeirabhoy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    i soft modded my wii ages ago using older methods, and a mate asked me to get him instructions on how to soft mod which i got from one of the threads here..
    He's stuck at installing preloader, with the error

    failed to get root, current iso 36 has the fake sign bug fixed


    below is the steps i gave him, with his comments, and his serial no

    first bit....

    Prerequisites:
    --SD card
    --Wifi Connection (Ethernet doesnt work)
    --Unplug any Gamecube Memory Cards, Gamecube Controllers, USB Devices
    --Read the FAQ and be prepared with a general knowledge of Wii Homebrew

    download
    http://www.mediafire.com/?mwoyhnanm3t (07-22-09)

    1) Format your SD card to FAT16. Copy the contents inside the sd folder to the root of your SD card

    If you have bootmii with a nand backup, the homebrew channel, and cios installed already you may skip to step 8

    2) Insert the SD card in the Wii and go to Data Management>Channels>SD Card press YES on the dialog box that asks to load boot.dol

    3) Install the Homebrew Channel and install BootMii as boot2 if possible or as an IOS if boot2 is not available.

    4) Launch Bootmii (if you installed to boot2 just reset the system if you installed to IOS go to the HBC and press the Home button)

    5) Open the config menu (gears) and choose backup NAND (green arrow) wait for it to finish and restart the Wii you need a game cube controller to move cursor - I got one moved to gears chose backup NAND and cant enter(eject) nothing works
    6) Run Trucha Bug Restorer and choose "IOS36" and pick "Downgrade IOS15" and "Download IOS from NUS" then restart

    7) Run Trucha Bug Restorer again and choose "IOS15" then "IOS36 menu" set "IOS to slot 36" and "yes" "yes" "yes" to the 3 options then press "Install patched IOS36" and "Download IOS from NUS"

    8) Install cIOS36 rev10 to IOS249 using Network install mode

    9) Downgrade system IOS files using IOS Downgrader

    10) Downgrade to 3.2 using cIOS Downgrader even if you are already on 3.2 run this

    11) Run 4.1 Firmware-Updater.

    12) Using Dop-IOS install IOS60 v6174 with Sig Hash Check.

    13) Install preloader. On the install screen press 1 says failed to get root, current iso 36 has the fake sign bug fixed
    14) Set your preloader settings. In preloader hacks enable "Skip disc update check" how do you get to preloader hacks is it because the last step failed?



    I have version 4.1E and my serial number starts LEH23



    any advice appreciated thanks
     
  2. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Well here is the answer from the same guide if you scrolled down a bit you would have seen it

     
  3. Arendo

    Member Arendo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Netherlands
    once you have preloader installed, you can get there through the preloader menu ...
    as long as it isn't installed, you can't get to the hacks ... doh
     
  4. madeirabhoy
    OP

    Member madeirabhoy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    thanks and you are right i should have seen it.

    cheers
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Lol. The dfference if that is part of the guide or if it's missing is very small. IOS36v1042 does not work on new Wiis, and if you install it there, you have a lot of fun to restore IOS36, because 98% of homebrew stopped working.
     
  6. madeirabhoy
    OP

    Member madeirabhoy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    shit what is the answer then, ive told him to do that!
     
  7. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    he didnt do the trucha bug restorer part correctly.

    follow it from my guide word for word, watch what IOS to use and when to use it.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  8. madeirabhoy
    OP

    Member madeirabhoy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    cheers xzxero

    if he's done the ios36-64-v042.wad before he see's my message, will it have done any harm? he's not interested in homebrew for anything else than putting his games on a usb drive
     
  9. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If he installed IOS36v1042 and it's not working on his wii, he would be here right now, because no usb loader would work anymore.
     
  10. madeirabhoy
    OP

    Member madeirabhoy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    xzxero

    he followed the online version of your guide and this is what he sent me

    un Trucha Bug Restorer
    Press B to choose No IOS Reload
    Wait till it says Press 1 then press it
    Go to Downgrade IOS15
    Press A to downgrade.
    Everytime it says "load IOS from SD", press right twice to make it say "load IOS from NUS" then press A.

    Done - worked ok

    Run Trucha Bug Restorer
    Choose IOS15 and press A. (Important)
    Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
    Choose IOS36 menu. In there use these settings:
    Install IOS to slot (36)
    Hash check (trucha) YES
    ES_Identity YES
    Nand Permissions YES
    Then press A on install patched IOS36.
    Everytime it says "load IOS from SD", press right twice to make it say "load IOS from NUS" then press A.

    Got error at end saying

    Inializing netwok...net_init failed: -16 error reading IOS memory IOS36 instalation failed. Press any key to exit.

    Note:The top right hand corner says I am in screen IOS15 Rev 257 and I also have the connect 24 set to ON
     
  11. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    WiiConnect24 will brick your Wii evenutally and has nothing to do with this.

    wifi or usb lan adapter? I'm actually surprised the wifi install using IOS15 works for anyone, maybe i change that somewhen. Right now you shuld just use the offline method in TBR.
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    yea the offline method works perfect everytime for me.
     
  13. madeirabhoy
    OP

    Member madeirabhoy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Country:
    ´

    should i suggest he starts the offline guide from the beginning, or just the trucha bug restorer
     

Share This Page