1. Harsky

    OP Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,454
    Country:
    I have a site (can't give link, sorry) and when I was organizing the files, I decided to create some folders (such as picture etc) to make it more managable. But I noticed that if I type in something like www.nameofsite.com/picture it gives a full list of every single thing that I uploaded in the picture folder. How do I stop that happening?
     
  2. jumpman17

    jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9,085
    Country:
    United States
    put a blank html file called index.html into the folder. then when you try to go to that folder, it will show a blank page. or you could type something up if you want saying "ZOMG! Super secret haxxors page!"

    There is another way to block all folders but I don't know how.
     
  3. accolon

    accolon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    It's a setting of the server, you can enable or disable directory listing in the configuration file.
     
  4. Harsky

    OP Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,454
    Country:
    Don't want to make another topic so I'll post here. There's something I'm trying to do on my site. I made several pictures to use as the banner on top of my site. Only problem is, I can't settle on one picture. So what I was wanting to do is that everytime someone refreshes the site, the picture always changes. Unfortunately, I was told that can only be done in Javascript and I don't know the first thing to do. Thanks in advance.
     
  5. _Mazza_

    _Mazza_ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    arghhh i need to know the name of the site now or i'll go insane lol
     
  6. Harsky

    OP Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,454
    Country:
    Can't. It has pr0n..... AND BLACK JACKS AND HOOKERS. IN FACT SCREW IT, I'LL SET UP MY OWN CASINO.
     
  7. mthrnite

    mthrnite So it goes.
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,536
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] ^^^

    Whew!

    Well, here, do what I do, find a site that has what you want, and swipe the code. Monkey around switching out the graphics and whatnot until it works. That's how I learned HTML. [​IMG]
     
  8. Harsky

    OP Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,454
    Country:
    I can't think of any sites that does what I'm wanting to snatch the code.
     
  9. kernelPANIC

    kernelPANIC GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Japan
    http://www.aunder.org/
    Type refresh and the banner at the top changes...
    Is that what you were looking for?
     
  10. Harsky

    OP Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,454
    Country:
    Yeah, something like that
     
  11. Samutz

    Samutz Wet Tissue Sample
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Country:
    United States
    Well not solely Javascript only, but it can't be done with standard HTML. Like the above example, it can also be done with php. If you want to go that route, I could whip up a quick script that would work for you.
     
  12. SomeGuyGG

    SomeGuyGG GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    Canada
    Put this in the header, to add more just copy the banner[*] line, change the number to 1 above the last, and then change the numbanner to match [remember [0] counts as 1 too].

    CODE
        function getbanner() {
                banner = new MakeArray(100);
                numbanner = 4;  // Make this the number of banners you have.

                banner[0] = ""
                banner[1] = ""
                banner[2] = ""
                banner[3] = ""
               //Make more as needed

                var now = new Date()
                var sec = now.getSeconds()

                return banner[sec % numbanner];
        }

        function MakeArray(n) {
                this.length = n;
                for (var i = 1; i
     
  13. Harsky

    OP Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,454
    Country:
    I think I did something wrong as nothing is appearing
     
  14. Psyfira

    Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Country:
    It's working fine over here (assuming you've changed the image URL's cause the ones in the example don't exist)
     
  15. Harsky

    OP Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,454
    Country:
    Or maybe I'm such an HTML newbie and don't know what header is.
     
  16. Psyfira

    Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Country:
    The bit between the head tags [​IMG]
    CODE



    ...
    ...







     
  17. Harsky

    OP Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,454
    Country:
    Okay, I made up the banner, inserted the script between the head but when I try to put this where I want it to appear:


    CODE
    Â Â document.write(getbanner());
    Â Â

    It doesn't work
     
  18. Qith

    Qith GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Okay so your code should look something like this:

    CODE

    pr0n


    Â Âfunction getbanner() {
    Â Â Â Â Â Âbanner = new MakeArray(100);
    Â Â Â Â Â Ânumbanner = 4; Â// Make this the number of banners you have.

    Â Â Â Â Â Âbanner[0] = ""
    Â Â Â Â Â Âbanner[1] = ""
    Â Â Â Â Â Âbanner[2] = ""
    Â Â Â Â Â Âbanner[3] = ""
    Â Â Â Â Â //Make more as needed

    Â Â Â Â Â Âvar now = new Date()
    Â Â Â Â Â Âvar sec = now.getSeconds()

    Â Â Â Â Â Âreturn banner[sec % numbanner];
    Â Â}

    Â Âfunction MakeArray(n) {
    Â Â Â Â Â Âthis.length = n;
    Â Â Â Â Â Âfor (var i = 1; i
     
  19. Harsky

    OP Harsky Madmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,454
    Country:
    Yay, got it working. But what about the alcohol...... BTW, I found myself using quite a lot of banners which is making the code looking a little messy. Is there another banner refreshing option?
     
  20. Squiffy

    Squiffy GBATemp's Little Embarrassment
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Country:
    Well, we won't actually see the code, and since it's only text the filesize should still be small. So, I wouldn't worry about it getting messy, just tab it out, add new lines to make it neater.
    Have you ever seen the gbatemp portal source? It's horrible!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted