Sterling

GBAtemp's Silver Hero
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Dungeon Siege III
The Diablo style RPG makes a great transition to the Console scene.

I'm new to the Dungeon Siege series, and this game makes a great impression. It's pretty, most textures look realistic, and the story is heartfelt and moving. It features couch co-op and four player online. Random and unique loot aren't in short supply and it can get very hectic. So far though, I've beaten the game on 2 out of 4 characters and it has gotten a bit old and repetative. Let's see how the game scores shall we?

I'll be deviating away from my usual scoring this time. I'll be adding a new category in addition to the other 5. Since I feel that RPGs need Likable characters there'll be a a Character category.

Gameplay - 6/10

Like most RPGs, you must kill monsters, fight bosses, and shine people's shoes. Unlike most RPGs though, many of such trivial tasks will progress the story, add lore, or result in a nice piece or pieces of loot. People make it worth your time in this game which is a nice change of pace. However, at the core, the hack and slash values can get repetative. Your character features a one handed stance and a two handed stance. Each character's stances are different. Lucas is the standard warrior. He gets a Sword and Shield, and a large and very sharp two hander. Katrina is a gun wielding witch. She carries a Rifle, and two small side arms. Anjali is a Archon. She wields a spear and can change into a element of fire at will. Reinhart is a mage. He can rend time and space. He features a debilataing stance which can attack from afar, and a dynamic stance which provide close range defense. Each one has a few great points, and a few bad ones. What matters most is their equipment.