Hardware started intensive gaming on my laptop

Zalda

OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
i got a beast of a laptop, i7 processor, ATI 5700 graphics card, 4GB ram. i started playing some mw 2 online recently but the laptop gets really hot. i'm getting worried, I don't want to damage my laptop or shorten it's life span by gaming. at what temperature should I really stop gaming? my cpu is i7 Q720.

my laptop is on a stand so there's a good airflow and I leave my window open for some fresh airs. but after half an hour gaming i'm already at 70 degrees celsius.

can it damage my laptop?

MaxNuker

GBATemp's Official Shinigami Substitute
Trophies
Website
facebook.com
XP
Country
Portugal
pffft... 70ºC... once i got my GPU to 90ºC + xD

and no damage here... working as always
smile.gif

Originality

Chibi-neko
Trophies
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
Country
Yes, heat can damage your laptop. HDDs start to wear out at 50C, and a lil higher and it will create its own vibration that'll begin to damage the spindle. CPUs are usually rated to around 90C but set the limits at 70-80C (before throttling or emergency shutdown). GPUs are probably rated at around 100C (they're expected to run hotter) and 60-80C is pretty normal for high end laptop graphics. Enthusiasts aren't happy if the GPU runs over 65C though, so they'll take a number of measures to keep temperatures down.

First and most important bit of advice: maintainance. Clean out the dust. Do this every month. Dust is one of the 3 worst enemies of laptops (along with heat and movement), and it will build up no matter what you do (clogging the vents, lining the heatsinks, weighing/slowing down the fan, and potentially creating static fields). Clean it out, and be thorough.