Ssbb wont work on my wii O_O

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Sahduk, Feb 16, 2009.

Feb 16, 2009

Ssbb wont work on my wii O_O by Sahduk at 6:27 PM (1,356 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Sahduk
    OP

    Member Sahduk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United States
    Its an original disk, and worked fine on my cousins wii, all my other games work perfectly except ssmb, lately I installed CiosCorp and I get an error message as soon I put the disk in the disk channel, and on gamma the game will work until I choose a level.

    This is the only game this happens on. Does anyone have a clue why this is happening?
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    What error do you get?
    Its probably because ssbb is a Dual Layer game and your lens has issues reading it
     
  3. Sahduk
    OP

    Member Sahduk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United States
    Issues?? what issues? how do I get id of these issues? and did I get them O_O
     
  4. NeoNight

    Member NeoNight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United States
    lol, get a new wii and don't install/use homebrew/mod it?

    I get issues reading ssb too, using cios rev 7(wiigators ver) when ever i use the video sequences. It would give an error once or twice but play fine when I run it again (even using the disc channel).
     
  5. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    No no
    It has nothing to do with softmod
    The fact that SSBB uses two layers makes that your wii lens has to do more to read the disc
    If your lens is dirty, it might have a problem reading the layers
    Nintendo can clean the lens for you
     
  6. Wilson735

    Member Wilson735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Alternatively you can open up your system and try cleaning the lens yourself. If that doesn't work, you can replace the lens or even the whole DVD drive.
     
  7. ItsMetaKnight

    Member ItsMetaKnight GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Denmark
    just get a new wii and stop smoking
     
  8. e46saugen

    Newcomer e46saugen Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Germany
    Uninstall CiosCorp. With CiosCorp you can't play Dual Layer Games (Backups and Originals).
    It has nothing to do with your lens.

    Edit: Install cIOS rev. 6 to 248, burn your Dual Layer Games and patch them to use IOS 248. Now everything works fine.
     
  9. kwf001

    Newcomer kwf001 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Wrong. SSBB works fine on my wii with cioscorp. The problem is more than likely a dirty lens. I had to take apart my friends wii, and cleaned the lens using rubbing alcohol and a q-tip, slapped the wii back together and ssbb worked like a charm. Also, some older wii's need to be sent to nintendo before ssbb will work.

    If you want my suggestion, I would get rid of softmii altogether and just use gamma, it seems to play games a little better than softmii.

    There is a guide on GBAtemp that tells you how to restore your wii.
     

Share This Page