SSBB Jap with English text files from USA version

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Sonikku, Mar 10, 2008.

Mar 10, 2008
  1. Sonikku
    OP

    Newcomer Sonikku Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I was wondering if its possible to replace the text files from Super Smash Bros Brawl with the ones from the USA iso (like Mario Galaxy)

    Has anyone tried this?

    You might be wondering why somebody would want it. I came up with a few reasons:

    ------------------------------------
    You want the game with English texts, but:

    1. You don't want your save data from the Jap version go to waste

    2. You can't burn Dual Layer disks (at the time of writing, there is no Single Layer rip of the USA version)

    3. You hate the dubbed voices of Pit, Sonic, Ike, etc... in the USA version
    -----------------------------------------

    If you tried, and it worked(or not), please post here.

    Edit: I couldn't replace all text files because some were too big. So I tried the other way around, by replacing ROOT/sound/smashbros_sound.brsar with the file from the japanese ISO. This seems to work, although I'm not 100% sure.
     


  2. mikagami

    Member mikagami GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    I'd like to know this as well.
     
  3. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    so far we can only edit multi-language games like here http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=77757
    We don't know what files are what exactly etc. Also, they have to be identical in structure. Therefore it can't have changed from the jap release to the us release, which is not likely. So unless you want to try it and burn a thousand DL discs i'd say you're in for a wait [​IMG]
     
  4. Sonikku
    OP

    Newcomer Sonikku Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'll just use the DVD5 version of JAP Brawl instead.

    I checked the DVD5 with Trucha signer and in some folders there are files xxx_jp.xxx. Maybe if I replace those with the xxx_en.xxx from the US version (I hope those files exist, still downloading) it might work.

    Is there a way to replace a file with a file that is larger than the original file. Cos if the en files are larger, it's no use.
     
  5. PurpleSkunk

    Newcomer PurpleSkunk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Le Mans
    Country:
    France
    Yes, there is a way, you must modify the fst.bin file.
     
  6. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    France
    Only this file?
     
  7. PurpleSkunk

    Newcomer PurpleSkunk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Le Mans
    Country:
    France
    No, to put things simply, this file is used to tell the ISO about the files it contains and the size of them. The trick is to modify it to the sizes you need, replace it with trucha signer, resign, reload the ISO and then replace teh files you want.

    waninkoko explained here the structure of the fst.bin file : http://www.elotrolado.net/post_Cambiar-voc...#post1711132730

    (spanish language)

    Maybe I will translate it someday if I have enough time.
     
  8. Sonikku
    OP

    Newcomer Sonikku Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thnx for the help. I will try when I get the US version
     
  9. fthepress

    Newcomer fthepress Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    China
    actually, some Chinese guys have replaced the jp language file with the en file successfully in the JP ver SMG, below is the screenshot.

    http://lh5.google.com/stormywii/R8bim9KXqr...aU/s800/m04.JPG

    http://lh4.google.com/stormywii/R8bintKXqs...Cs/s800/m05.JPG


    BTW, is there anybody could supply the EN language file of SSBB? so others can try to replace it in SSBB D5 JP ver.
     
  10. SleepyPrince

    Member SleepyPrince GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    I doubt it if you replace file larger than the original by editing fst.bin
    It is possible that you'll overwrite onto the next file

    waninkoko's interpretation of the fst.bin is a bit wrong
    Maybe I will write a new one
     
  11. yomiko

    Newcomer yomiko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    France
    Interesting, I tried to extract and edit the fst from an iso in order to be able to replace it by a bigger one, like the one from Trauma Center NB I extracted with WiiTools..499ko, really huge compared to the other fst I looked at like Dragon Quest 73ko..or 14ko for OneeChanbara. But all I had was a "This never could have happened" error or something like that when I replaced the fst by the edited one and reopened the iso.
     
  12. PurpleSkunk

    Newcomer PurpleSkunk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Le Mans
    Country:
    France
    What's the point in doing this ? The fst.bin must be a modded version of the original one from the same ISO, not a file from another game.
     
  13. siokzz

    Newcomer siokzz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Singapore
    i believe the replacing of jp language files for SMG was also discussed here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=76917

    for SMG the following files were replaced:
    \JpJapanese\MessageData\Message.arc
    \JpJapanese\layoutData\HomeButton.arc
    \JpJapanese\layoutData\WiiRemoteStrapReplace.arc

    are there any corresponding files in SSBB?
     
  14. SleepyPrince

    Member SleepyPrince GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    There are a lot of _jp files in jp version and _en files in us version
    the problem is quite a number of the us version files are larger than the jp one
     
  15. yomiko

    Newcomer yomiko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    France
    Didn't know it must be a modded version of the original one from the same ISO. ; ;
    So we can't mod fst in order to be able to use all the content from an other game?

    The point was to find why Trucha fails opening Trauma NB and WiiTools can.

    I noticed the game uses a lot of files, more than usual..maybe the problem is somewhere here or maybe I need to sleep and search an other solution.
     
  16. KrooLa

    Newcomer KrooLa Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    France
    What's the problem with the US version... only voices?

    Is it possible to replace the us voices by japanese voices?
     
  17. Sonikku
    OP

    Newcomer Sonikku Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, I got the US iso and I tried replacing the _ja files with the _en files. It worked, mostly. Because a few files were bigger than the original. So unless there is a way to replace those files with bigger ones, the game won't be fully English using this method.
     
  18. paOol

    Member paOol GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    what parts were in english and what parts werent?
    would it be easier to modify the US ISO and just replace the voices?
     
  19. Sonikku
    OP

    Newcomer Sonikku Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Maybe it is. I'll try it when I get back from school
     
  20. abc99

    Newcomer abc99 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    Good luck on your project. If you want to make a patch for your new iso to share with us, try xdelta. I made a 9mb dvd9 -> dvd5 SSBB (U) patch with this app.

    xdelta:
    http://code.google.com/p/xdelta/wiki/CommandLineSyntax
     

Share This Page