SSBB - Is the same LB (2084960) for the US release?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by spirity, Mar 13, 2008.

  1. spirity
    OP

    Newcomer spirity Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Brazil
    I want to confirm if the LB trick used on JAP release is the same of US release?
    The ISOs are different, and is the same LB for both?

    Please let me know, why the 2084960 sector is the LB?
    Using the auto setting by ImgBurn or CloneCD a LB is set, its impossible to burn a DL disc without a LB, so why the burn just work with 2084960?

    Generally a LB is set on the optimized point, using a random point it's possible to split a file in the middle, for example, and it can make slowdowns or DREs at the read. So please, let me know, is a strategic point or just a random point?

    The original LB can't be made for sure, just because the size of the layers of recordable media is lower than a original disc, but on GOW II (PS2), for example, the Layer 0, 1 can be fitted on both layers respecting the data.
    Since the Wii have his own disc format, i think is more difficult to respect the data on layers.

    What i try to explain is more or less like this.

    file 1, file 2, file 3 on L0
    file 4, file 5, file 6 on L1

    And this repeat at the burned media.

    I'm affraid that's are happing this.

    file 1, file 2, file 3(part 1) on L0
    file 3(part2), file 4, file 5, file 6 on L1

    Sorry for my poor english, and thanks if anyone can explain that.

    Thanx
     
  2. richieroro

    Newcomer richieroro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    I don't actually know how or why the Wiinja team initially recommended 2084960 for the layer break on the Japanese SSBB. But I do see your point. Most likely, it is random and probably splitting up a file.

    However, many people have had success w/o setting the layer break, so I wouldn't say it's an essential step. It's just an alternative option in case it doesn't work one way.
     
  3. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I burned the US version three times with LB 2084960 and all weren't recognized by the Wii. Then I burned it without custom LB and it's working flawlessly so far.
     
  4. spirity
    OP

    Newcomer spirity Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Brazil
    What is your Modchip?

    I have a D2CKey, and the game just loads for me with the custom LB, with slowdowns and some DREs but working.
     
  5. richieroro

    Newcomer richieroro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    If anyone has the original SSBB US disc and one of those Wii-compatible LG drives, can you check what the Layer Break is with ImgBurn? (It should say it if you go to the Read mode in ImgBurn)
     
  6. spirity
    OP

    Newcomer spirity Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yep, but we can't reproduce the original LB, because the DVD-/+R DL media have a smaller L0 than a original DVD-ROM DL.
    But, if the original LB is not on the L0 boarder, yes we can! Fingers Cross!

    Can anyone confirm the original US LB?
    I tested with Wii Sports Disc and ImgBurn can read the disc info [​IMG] Takes about 5 minutes but can!
    I have a LG H10N, but don't the original SSBB [​IMG]

    On the gray window at the left, check the Last Physical Sector in Layer 0 info a post that, please!
     
  7. spirity
    OP

    Newcomer spirity Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Brazil
     
  8. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
  9. spirity
    OP

    Newcomer spirity Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Brazil
    No, this is the last sector of L0, the LB is the 2084960.

    Layer 0 Sectors: 2,084,960 (50.17%)

    If you having DREs or Not Loading, try to buy a quality DVD Burner as i do!
     
  10. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    If it's the last sector of L0, then 2084960 CANNOT be the layer break because it is less than 2281568. See what I'm trying to get at?

    I don't pretend to understand this very well, so if there is someone that can explain that would be great.

    Edit: I think I'm maybe just a bit confused with the terminology. Is the layer break maybe where the data itself is divided, but the physical change in layers on the disc occurs later? I generally thought they were one and the same.
     
  11. spirity
    OP

    Newcomer spirity Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Brazil

    The LB is something like that:
    After this point go to L1, the LB can't be set after the last sector because is no writable space, simple like that!

    I this case the sectors between 2084960 to 2281568 are empty.

    Resuming, LB is a FLAG to end of data on the layer, anything after that is on the second layer.
     
  12. spirity
    OP

    Newcomer spirity Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Brazil
    Finally a full working copy!

    Yep, the key is how you burn, media quality, burner quality, speed.
    ALWAYS USING THE CUSTOM LB, IT´S THE ONLY WAY TO REPRODUCE THE ORIGINAL LB.

    First i burned on H22N 1.02 with 2.4x, the ImgBurn has reported 2.4x, 4x a 6x as supported speeds. The copy as loading but with some slowdowns and DREs.

    Now i burned on H55N 1.05 with 4x, the ImgBurn has reported 4x as the only supported speed (this drive is more accurate, newest FW). Yes, i think 4x is the ideal speed for that media, Verbatim DVD+R DL (Singapure), just because this copy are working flawless. No slowdowns and DREs, player for more than 2 hours Very Happy

    If the media are optimized for certain speed, slowing that speed can produce a poor burning. Sure the burner quality can affect the quality as the media too. So we can conclude thats many factors can affect the final product.

    Try to check the optimized speed for burning the media are you using a be sure that your PC can handle that speed (if ImgBurn don´t sustain the selected speed you computer need some upgrade or the media are burning at the wrong speed!.
     
  13. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Wiikey 1.9g.
     
  14. richieroro

    Newcomer richieroro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Thanks for confirming the layer break! This makes me feel a lot better when recommending to manually set it.
     
  15. Torup

    Newcomer Torup Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Custom layer break is recommended for all chips?

    Wiikey here.
     
  16. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yes, wiikey firmware somehow dont matter where the layerbreak is, but this can change in future firmware.

    I ue pioneer dvd burner and verbatim dvd+r dl with correct layerbreak, discs works fine in wiikey and d2ckey console without slowdown or other problems.
    Always burn at 2.4X!
     
  17. Torup

    Newcomer Torup Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately , I have and old LG GSA-4167B here.

    Did my first burn, got DRE in all movies (none in common play).

    Other question: the recommendation for DL DVD+R are only for layer break purposes (DVD-R dont have this feature, I think)???
     
  18. tbprince

    Newcomer tbprince Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    France

    before you burned it without LB, what was your error ?


    i burn my first iso with LB set and i have the black screen at launch, but i see the smash bros channel.

    my system
    wii pal 3.2E
    wiikey 1.9g

    super mario galaxies works perfectly
     
  19. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    The game wasn't recognized in the channel at all.
     

Share This Page