SSBB Burning Strategy?!?!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by mastermanna123, Mar 16, 2008.

Mar 16, 2008
  1. mastermanna123
    OP

    Member mastermanna123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Under your bed.
    Country:
    United States
    Someone please help me!
    Alrite here the briefing on the situation:

    I finally downloaded SSBB.
    However, my computer does not have the ability to burn DL-DVDs. (Only regular DVD's)
    So now, not only do I need to transfer a file that's about 8 gigabytes to another computer, I also need to get it burned.
    Fortunately, my uncle has portable hard drive to get the file to his computer and a computer with a DL-DVD writer. Sadly, it's a Mac. I have no idea how to use a Mac, let alone burning a dual layered file with it.

    So my problems are these:

    1. Will this work?
    2. Do I need any special burning software for the Mac? (If yes, please state.)
    3. Is it better to do all this on a Linux?

    Please help me!!!
     
  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    This news is EXTREME
     
  3. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can see this on the front page in the near future!

    Epic news!
     
  4. mastermanna123
    OP

    Member mastermanna123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Under your bed.
    Country:
    United States
    It's more of a tragic news, rather than epic.
    I blame my dad for getting a $250 Dell desktop. T_T
    I need help! Any ideas?
     
  5. danci

    Newcomer danci Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Philippines
    i dont think so... ive read others burning dual layer in the mac

    in my experience, i did noit use any layerbreak since i have DVD-R DL and not the DVD+R DL that most of the people here have

    FYI
    DVD+R DL -can set layerbreak manually
    DVD-R DL - can't set layer break manually

    so i guess if the burner can burn dual layer disc, there's no problem
     
  6. Truliche

    Member Truliche GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    Ecuador
    You sure can't take a hint can you?
     
  7. webyugioh

    Member webyugioh GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    530
    Location:
    10KM East of Nowhere
    Country:
    Japan
    What is with all of these people posting questions in the news section?
    I mean is it that hard to figure out?
     
  8. Reduxed

    Member Reduxed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Vancouver baby!!!
    Country:
    Canada
    well, this is great news!
     
  9. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    Holy shit! [​IMG]

    That's some exciting news!
     
  10. bmwu14

    Newcomer bmwu14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I sympathize with you because I was in the same boat as you are a few days ago.

    Please note that in order for Windows to recognize a file greater than 4 gigs, the hard disk needs to be in NTFS format.
    Unfortunately, Mac only recognizes FAT32 and not NTFS. In order for Mac to recognize a NTFS formatted hard disk,
    you need a software made by Paragon.

    Alternatively, you can compress and divided the 8 gig iso into zip or rar files and reconstitute them on a Mac.

    Now, to the burning issue.

    1. I have tried Toast. An utterly useless software. Just makes coasters. Don't even go there.

    2. If your Wii is uses a D2B chip, then you can use the Disk utility software that came with the Mac to burn.
    The software is automatic. You don't need to do anything. It just works. (I have 3.2J and Wiikey 1.9g)

    3. If your Wii uses a D2C or newer, you need to specify layerbreak which has been mentioned plenty of times in this forum.
    The author at Nukedsoftware website wrote a program OSX360. It's in beta. The author uses it to burn Xbox360 games.
    However, with the requests of wii users, he has modified it to allow the user to specify layer break.
    There are some other minor points that you need to specify in order to burn properly. You can search for it in the afterdawn forum.

    Good luck.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. bosscolor

    Member bosscolor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Location:
    Toulouse
    Country:
    France
    NEWZ OF THE MONTH [​IMG]
     
  12. sid0101

    Newcomer sid0101 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    I was also in the same boat a few days ago.
    I'll just add some helpful tidbits to bmwu14's post.

    On Transfering
    You can compress everything into god knows what size. OR, you can hook both computers up on AIM and file transfer. Some would say to just network the two, but since you are dealing with Windows and a Mac you might just reduce the hassle of figuring how to network them by going on AIM to do a file transfer. The file transfer took me only 20 minutes for about 8 gigs. But, both computers were on the same network - so this important.

    On burning
    Fortunately, I have a wiikey (I can't believe I said that....those bastards). So I don't need to layerbreak. I just needed to burn on Verbatim DL in Disk Utility! This is important on a mac. I have a fairly recent macbook pro. I had Memorex DVD+R and it the superdrive could not read it.
     
  13. omegakyogre

    Newcomer omegakyogre Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Glendale, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I can't help you with transferring the file, but as far as burning goes you can use the Mac's Disk Utility to burn the .iso without any problems at all.
     

Share This Page