SRAM patching for EZ3in1

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Ammako, Mar 7, 2010.

Mar 7, 2010

SRAM patching for EZ3in1 by Ammako at 9:02 PM (1,847 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Ammako
    OP

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I got an EZ3in1 and I've heard that games that don't use SRAM need to be SRAM patched.

    I know for sure games that use EEPROM need to be SRAM patched.
    But what about games that use Flash?

    Do they need SRAM patching?

    I've got Pokémon Emerald, LeafGreen and Sapphire in Japanese on my CycloDS. These games use Flash save type.
    When I run them with the 3in1, they do save correctly.

    I've did a bit of search on the internet and I've read that you must SRAM patch a game if it doesn't use SRAM.

    So my question is, do I need to patch games that uses Flash save type?
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Patch only games that don't work, why waste your time to patch something that works. If you got a save type that already works, why bother to patch it.
     
  3. Ammako
    OP

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    But what if I get problems later on?

    Also, I noticed I posted this in the wrong section. Could a mod move this to "Flashing hardware and software"?
     
  4. Danny Tanner

    Member Danny Tanner GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I would just patch everything non-SRAM with GBATA. I'm pretty sure Flash doesn't save.
     
  5. stuffnflufff

    Member stuffnflufff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Canada
    what is SRAM patching? what does it do? could this be the reason my saves in Metroid Fusion and Zero Mission on the iPlayer do not save after shutting off?
     
  6. Ammako
    OP

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    ... No.

    iPlayer GBA emulator =/= EZ3in1

    You have to quit the game before shutting down your DS if you want your games to save properly on the iPlayer.

    The reason why 3in1 needs SRAM patching is because it only supports SRAM save type.
     
  7. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    From my experience, the CycloDS is quite clever when it comes to GBA saves with a 3in1. Games which I couldn't myself get to work/save correctly on an AK2 or an EZV (using the same 3in1, mind) simply 'worked' on my CycloDS. Games like Pokemon, Advance Wars, WarioWare and the Classic NES series.
     

Share This Page