Spin down explanation

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Tranquil, Jul 1, 2009.

Jul 1, 2009

Spin down explanation by Tranquil at 8:34 PM (1,053 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    I see a lot of threads discussing spindown on external hard drives and how they affect loading backups. Is it simply a hard drive turning off when it's idle or what? How does this affect games since they're being constantly accessed from the drive anyway?

    Some background info would be much appreciated :3
     
  2. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Well the games get loaded piece by piece and not entirelly, so after loading the first part/level/map of a game, there´s no need to load anything untill you reach the 2nd level, and depending on how long it takes to you, your HDD can enter into idle, the problem is not that, it is what happens when you reach the 2nd level and the info needs to be accessed, the game can freeze without a chance to even reset it, and you´ll have to hard-reboot the Wii, some HDD have it some don´t, but there is no database to determine wich kind have that problem and wich don´t (IDE/SATA wise)...!! [​IMG]
     
  3. Dan_Aykroyd

    Member Dan_Aykroyd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    But now it all seems to be fixed with cIOS >= 13 because it sporadically accesses the drive in order to keep it "awake"!
     
  4. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Is this statement accurate?
     
  5. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    The reason people consider it a problem is because if your playing a game and the drive spins down, it will cause a lag or maybe even a crash because the drive must spin back up before it can continue reading data and that may take a few seconds to happen.

    I believe that's the answer you were looking for.
     
  6. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Quite simply no.
     
  7. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States

    Why not? Are there still bugs or something?
     
  8. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    cIOS Rev13 introduced the code to access the drive (a simple read command, even in game) every 10 seconds, so that there is no spindown/idle errors.
     
  9. Dan_Aykroyd

    Member Dan_Aykroyd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    318
    Country:
    United States
    Yessssssss! I was righttt! [​IMG]
     
  10. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    And apparently Hermes's cIOS223 too, right...?? [​IMG]
     
  11. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it definitely is. I had the spindown issue, and it's gone with rev13. In previous revs, I could do the Mario Kart test, the Wii Fit test, etc etc, and my drives (WD Passport and MyBook) would go into idle... plus, they both have leds that flash whenever accessed. When no data was being accessed, just a solid light. At 20 minutes, the drives go black. In cIOS rev13a and b, this no longer happens. Any program (loader, game, etc) that is running through 249 and uses usb accesses the drive every few seconds. I can now leave Mario Kart paused for hours if I wish, no problem. I can sit in the loader for as long as I want, and watch my drive being accessed, and never sleeping.
     
  12. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    This is good to hear.

    So does anyone know why Ghostbusters doesn't work with the Freeagent Go?
     
  13. Tranquil
    OP

    Member Tranquil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    bump, anything new with the freeagent go?
     
  14. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's completely irrelevant to this thread. Post that somewhere else.
     
  15. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    It works perfectly with my FreeAgent Go. The FreeAgent Go comes with software to turn off the spindown but that's not an issue with Ghostbusters. Just check one of the many...many threads about this game to find your fix.
     

Share This Page