Soul Calibur works on PSP Slim/M33!

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by dgwillia, Sep 1, 2009.

Sep 1, 2009
  1. dgwillia
    OP

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    In the root of your memory stick, delete the 2 .IND files (Memstick, and Mstk_Pro), then enable Boot.bit in your advanced configuration. Start the game up, leave your name as default (765player), and dont create a save. Bam, it should work, works for me. Hopefully PSPState or something will allow saving
     


  2. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Heard this only works for some PSP 2000s. It won't work on all of them, though I may be wrong. Just repeating what I read.
     
  3. dgwillia
    OP

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, i got a 2001 vader PSP, works fine, just no saving.....gonna test out PSPStates in a bit though
     
  4. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Well I have nothing better to do tonight...might as well give it a try.

    Edit
    Well what do you know, it works.
     
  5. dgwillia
    OP

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Using PSPStates will allow you to save, i just tested myself. But i dont think im allowed to post a link
     
  6. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Why wouldn't you be allowed? It's homebrew. If we can talk about Custom Firmware and post links then I'm pretty sure you can post a link to homebrew. [​IMG] I think its just emulators you can't post links to.
     
  7. dgwillia
    OP

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Lol its pretty easy to find anyway, Dark Alex's wiki page has it, and i lost the link anyway =/
     
  8. godsakes

    Member godsakes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what does the 2 .IND files do?

    does removing them impact on other games/homebrew?
     
  9. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks. I got the game to boot on my slim with 5.00M33-6, but when I go to quick match and select a player the game stops loading on the VS screen before the match.
     
  10. dgwillia
    OP

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Did you make a save? Or do you already have one on your PSP? If so delete them (You can only use PSPState to save currently). And no, the IND files do nothing, infact, whenever you save on another game (I think not confirmed), or whenever you reconnect with a USB cable (I know for sure), they come back.
     
  11. ComplicatioN

    Member ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    Would this method work with the 1000s?
     
  12. dgwillia
    OP

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Dunno, doesnt hurt to try though. It should
     
  13. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Okay I got it to work. I made a save before but I deleted it and now it works. PSP savestates also work so you can use that to save. The game is great. It runs smoothly and plays exactly like a portable Soul Calibur 4.
     
  14. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Except it doesn't have online.
     
  15. Izzy

    Member Izzy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'm willing to try the PSPState/PSPSaveState but I've looked in DA's Wiki but can't seem to find it. [​IMG]

    I can get it to work while not saving and play matches, but it would be great to save the game...
     
  16. DivineZeus

    Member DivineZeus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Rovigo, Republic of Venice
    Country:
    Italy
    Thank you dgwillia, now the game works flawlessly! and pspstate is a good save alternative... take this sony! [​IMG]
     
  17. Excellentnuke

    Member Excellentnuke GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    On a boat
    Country:
    United States
    Is deleting the 2 IND files necessary?
     
  18. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it is neccessary to delete them.
     
  19. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Even if it does, pretty sure save states do not.
     
  20. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    This is a step in the right direction. Hopefully someone else finds a way to either modify the ISO itself or find a plugin or something so we can play the game and actually save (without PSPStates) on 5.00 M33.
     

Share This Page