Sony taken to court over PS3 'Other OS' removal

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Vidboy10, Apr 30, 2010.

Apr 30, 2010
  1. Vidboy10
    OP

Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

Canada
    [​IMG]
    Source

2. coolbho3000

Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

And they very well should be.

3. Gunmaster51

Newcomer Gunmaster51 Advanced Member

Canada
    It was wrong for Sony to remove this feature when they advertised it while selling their ps3s. I understand if they take it out of the newer models and tell everyone that they don't support it anymore but they don't have a right to take something back that they already sold. Next thing we know they could be taking B/C out of older ps3's if someone figures out how to play modded ps2 games on them.

4. ChaosBoi

Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

United States
    Seriously, I think people are going overboard with this whole Other OS removal issue. Although I have never used Linux on my PS3 before, I know for sure I won't miss it. I've heard numerous claims that it's really limited in some areas and not worth using. If people just want to keep it for the exploit, surely another one can be found in due time. Or, they can just get a new PS3 to update while keeping your old one from being updated.

5. purplesludge

Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

United States
    The point is some people paid the $599 for the ps3 and had to suffer through so much crap until it got better. Then sony removes a feature. Also it made for a good backup computer. If someone wanted the could also practice programming for cell processing. Telling people to get a new ps3 isn't helpful either because it tells sony by removing features they can sell more ps3s.

6. TM2-Megatron

Member TM2-Megatron Predacon Commander

Canada
    Lucky EU consumers, not having to resort to time-consuming lawsuits to settle these kind of issues.