Something weird happened after formatting my micro sd....

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by solange82200, Apr 27, 2008.

  1. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Instead of defragmenting, I took my files off my card, formatted (FAT 36) and put them back on again, since alot of people recommend doing that, but I found that when I tried to put my games folder back on the card it wouldnt fit anymore. I had to take like 6 or 7 games out of the folder to get it to fit. Does anyone know why this happened? And yes, I'm positive it was exactly the same files that were on there originally, I didnt add anything else. Please help! Thanks...
     
  2. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    So, how many MBs does it have now? Before? Did you check the properties of the card via My Computer?
     
  3. PigVenus

    Member PigVenus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    I hope you mean FAT32. [​IMG] If the card is less than or equal to 2GB you can use FAT16.
     
  4. drkshinigami

    Newcomer drkshinigami Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    make sure when you format its not "quick format"
     
  5. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I did check afterward the space and it was 1.81 or something like that. But I didnt check the before.

    And I did do QUick Format, I guess I wastn supposed to? I thought I had read somewhere to do quick format [​IMG]
     
  6. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    It's possible that before the card was FAT 16, and I chose FAT 32 when formatting. Would that make a difference in available space? I know I sound like an idiot, when it comes to these types of things, quite frankly, I am [​IMG]
     
  7. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    Changing from fat16 to fat32 might make difference if the sector size was increased.
     
  8. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Is it best to put these in Fat 16 or Fat 32? The only reason I changed it to fat 32 is because i heard its better
     
  9. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    Just tried using Kingston MiJ 1GB:

    Format FAT - free space: 982MB
    Format FAT32 - free space: 980 MB

    There is a size difference, although fairly small. I have seen test results showing that FAT32 is slighty faster. In all my tests the difference was extremely small like +/-.0002 microseconds. I never noticed any difference in loading/saving/soft-resetting times or "smoother" gameplay.
     
  10. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks Grateful buddy. Out of curiosity what do you guys have your SD cards on? FAT or FAT32?
     
  11. Sticks

    Member Sticks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Australia
    FAT32. There's really no compelling reason to use FAT16 at all.
     
  12. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    I use FAT on my 2GB cards cause I'm not giving up those few megs for no benefit. FAT32 on all the 4GB cards (no choice there.)
     
  13. solange82200
    OP

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. after changing my son's 2 gig fron FAT to FAT32, and losing almost 7 games worth of space, I read that you should only do FAT 32 for the larger size cards. Now I have to go back and do it again lol
     
  14. SleepingDragon

    Member SleepingDragon GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    770
    Location:
    P3X-719
    Country:
    United States
    That's correct.
     

Share This Page