1. baseline007

    OP baseline007 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    hi all!

    I just wanted everybody to know that something weird happened.. I have played ssbb-u before but i got semibricked because of its update.. i have also played ssbb-j. Yesterday, I tried out the VCs via WAD.. and that turned out quite well and I have them installed up until then.. Today, my cousins came over and wanted to play brawl, when I inserted my SSBB-U it asked for an update again. I was like whaaat?? how could this be? Didn't OK the update since im already semi-bricked because of SSBB-U before, and i started to get worried if i get bricked fully. Anyway, I tried inserting SSBB-J, it didnt ask for an update and we played that instead.

    Can anyone help? Any ideas?

    EDIT: Tested my other NTSC-U games w/o WBB.. it asks for an update again... I just remember I applied the duplicate channel remover v2.1. Since then, it asks for updates. Should I update? I think I have fw 3.1J_v2 from SSBB-J until i got semibricked because of SSBB-U.
     
  2. ZeD

    ZeD GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    i have that prob.
    what it is dup channel removers gets rid of the channels. This means the disc think it hasnt been updated.

    The updates have something to do with those channels?

    I just use the freeloader twice to avoid this
     
  3. jan777

    jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,830
    Country:
    freeloader disables update?
     
  4. mwaddoups

    mwaddoups Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Just out of interest, does that mean you could use the dupe channel remover that isn't for your region, and fix a semi-brick by then inserting a jap disc (if you are semi-bricked with SSBB-U, like me and this guy?)
     
  5. prinzhernan

    prinzhernan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Yeah it does. That's how I run my SSBB-U so that it won't ask to update.
     
  6. Prime

    Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    actually you can make it disable updates or run the update.

    I had to run the NTSC update from brawl on my pal wii. No damage was done [​IMG]
     
  7. baseline007

    OP baseline007 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    so, you never reupdated your semibricked wii with the ssbb-u? what happens if we do? dual channels again? [​IMG]
     
  8. jan777

    jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,830
    Country:
    just retain those channels until you dont want to play SSBB anymore then delete it
     
  9. B4rtj4h

    B4rtj4h Gaming addict #2 and some
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,235
    Country:
    Netherlands
    LOL... like nobody wants to play it >
     
  10. jan777

    jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,830
    Country:
    i for one hasnt experienced any wii game with mario's game embedded on the cover
     
  11. baseline007

    OP baseline007 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    so your saying its safe to reupdate again? im worried about totally bricking my wii.. its already semi-bricked.. [​IMG]
    im planning on reburning the whole dual layer.. adding in some wbb and stuff..

    EDIT: dont care if i get the dual channels again.. i could remove it if and when i dont wanna play ssbb, which is next to impossible.. hehehehe
     
  12. prinzhernan

    prinzhernan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    How do you make the freeloader disable or run the update?
     
  13. baseline007

    OP baseline007 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    fwik, freeloader skips the update and loads the game... this is what i did. i inserted the freeloader (burnt) dvd. the blur thing happened (which they say is normal) after the blur thingy took the disc out.. put in ssbb-u, went in the disc channel and poof! didnt ask for an update and the logo/banner of ssbb-u came out. clicked start to play and brawl away! lol..

    hope this helps
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Something, happened, really