Someone pleeease help me on this damn card!!!

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by DSblonde!, Jul 7, 2009.

Jul 7, 2009
  1. DSblonde!
    OP

    Newcomer DSblonde! Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi tech friends!

    I have just recieved my dstt card which I ordered through a friend of a friend-he pre-loaded all my games on for me (bcoz i am thick lol!).It was working fine and now it freezes when i click on any of the games.As i havent obviously got any software i was wondering if there was anything i can do i.e download the software or is it only good for the bin????!!!!Pissed off bcoz I cant return the card to him for 8 weeks and my daughter is distraught!

    I know its a legit card as had 3 off of him already and they worked perfectly.

    So if you can help a damsel in distress it would be much appreciated

    Louise xxxx

    [​IMG]
     


  2. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Please read the FAQ stickied to the top of the "DSTT / TopToy DS" forum, and follow the directions under "Q: My DSTT used to work, but doesn't work any more. What do I do?".

    -Bri
     
  3. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I guess that you are getting pass the boot-up Icon without any problem (the black one with 'Loading' showing)
    [​IMG]
    since you say it is freezing on clicking on a game

    Not sure if this will help but -
    > If you have a PC with a Card reader capable of reading MicroSD cards (or SD cards but you need an adaptor) then I suggest taking the Memory card out of the DSTT (you need to push it in slightly until it 'clicks' & then release - it should then stick out enough so that you can pull it out fully)
    > Put it into your PC's Card reader & copy EVERYTHING (there may be some hidden files as well) from the memory card to a folder on your PC
    > Then I suggest you 'format' the memory card using Panasonic SD formatter (Don't use Windows own format program)
    > & finally copy all the files back from the PC onto the memory card
    > 'Safely Remove' the memory card from your PC card reader & put back into the DSTT (push it in until it 'clicks' & the memory card should be roughly level with the edge of the DSTT)

    Put your DSTT back into the DS & see if this has cured the freezing (or not - as the case may be)

    EDITED: Oopps a bit too slow - Bri beat me to it, but personally I don't think DSBlonde really needs to do EVERYTHING in the thread as she's sure she has a genuine DSTT anyway & it use to work

    And also to Bri - I see you 'borrowed' my Graphics from My post and placed them on the front page [​IMG]
     
  4. DSblonde!
    OP

    Newcomer DSblonde! Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Bri!

    Will have a go but am worried i will lose all my data and screw the whole thing up lol!It all looks very technical to me!

    I haven't got the card to put the sd card in (sorry im sure it has a proper name!) can i buy one of them from anywhere?

    Sorry I must come across as dumb!!!PMSL!!!!
     
  5. DSblonde!
    OP

    Newcomer DSblonde! Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Cannon

    Yes getting past the loading screen and brings all my games up for me it just freezes when i select them.I dont understand why they were all working and now they dont-just wondered if my daughter had messed around with it in some way?

    Your way seems easy than bri's (no offence Bri!!)will try that way first then if all fails I will throw it in the bin!.....no only joking!
     
  6. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm guessing you're talking about a 'SD to MicroSd adaptor' so that you can put it into your PC card reader - if so, I'm not sure if you can buy them seperately as they USUALLY come with a MicroSD memory card.

    [​IMG]

    I see you're in the USA - so I doubt you have a place called 'ARGOS' there, so I would say your best bet is to pop into a local camera shop (that does digital cameras) or a mobile phone shop & ask there
     
  7. DSblonde!
    OP

    Newcomer DSblonde! Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No I am in the uk-just changed it lol!

    Yes I have an ARGOS pmsl!!

    They guy I got it from must have taken it out-the last ones i ordered had one but think i threw them out-damn!!!!
     
  8. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    The microSD might be loose as Im having the same problem and it freezes at random time. rebooted the DSTT and it's not being detected. have you rebooted your DSTT and came that it wasnt recognized anymore?
     
  9. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    If you're sure your DSTT is real, follow ConnonFoddr's instructions. Both the FAQ and CannonFoddr's instructions tell you to make a backup of all the files on your microSD card so you won't lose all your data. As CannonFoddr said, you can use any widely-available card reader that will read a microSD card (or a card reader that will read an SD card if you have a microSD to SD adapter).

    -Bri
     
  10. DSblonde!
    OP

    Newcomer DSblonde! Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep I told you!I screwed it up well and truly!

    All it shows now is lines running down the screen-Oh shit!!!
     
  11. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Don't panic. You really can't screw it up permanently.

    First, put your DSTT into your NDS without any microSD card in it and turn on the NDS. You should see a "No Card" icon. Then make sure your microSD card is backed up and reformatted with the Panasonic formatter. Insert the newly formatted and empty microSD card into the DSTT and then turn on your NDS. You should see a "Menu?" icon.

    If the above worked, follow these steps:[*]Grab this archive: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=6377[*]Copy the "TTMENU" folder and "TTMENU.DAT" file from the archive to your microSC card. Note that these are in the "English" folder. The "English" folder itself should NOT be copied to your microSD card.[*]Create a folder on your microSD card named "games".[*]Copy a few .nds files into the "games" folder.[*]Use "safely remove hardware" to remove your microSD card from your PC.Report back here if it still doesn't work.

    -Bri
     
  12. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If I didn't want people to use my graphics - I wouldn't put them on the net would I ??
    Oh & as for the last 'error' graphic - I couldn't get it either

    - that one was in fact a copy of the 'Menu?' one altered in PaintShopPro [​IMG]
     
  13. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    So how do you know that's what it looks like?

    -Bri
     
  14. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I read a thread a while back (can't remember where) that asked the question 'I've got a red icon shaped like a memory card similar to the menu? one but with the word error on it instead' (That's not the exact words but it was something like that) - the reply in thread was that the DSTT was possibly NFG

    I've just done another google search to see if I can find it again - no luck on THAT particular thread but I've found this one.
    Post 3# shows the icon,which you can see is similar to the Menu one,but post #8 thinks it's the memory card that NFG & not the DSTT - I suggest you should change your first post to say that it could be EITHER the DSTT or the microSD card
     
  15. DSblonde!
    OP

    Newcomer DSblonde! Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is Bri or cannon online for any help???!

    Got past the first section and now confused!!
     
  16. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which section have you managed to do & Which part are you stuck on ?
     
  17. DSblonde!
    OP

    Newcomer DSblonde! Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think I have sussed it just putting the games back onto the sd card
    Will let you know how I get on-thanks for speedy reply x
     
  18. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Are you done putting the firmware back on? Try YSMenu. Or just use the normal one if you'd like. There's a new version right below your thread.
     
  19. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Aw come on Kingdom - DSBlond has only just learnt about DSTT firmware & now you're going to get her confused about YSMEnu [​IMG]
     
  20. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Then I'll x out YSMenu. Maybe just go with the new unofficial one. Just the same with more features.
     

Share This Page