1. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,628
    Country:
    United States
    Man... I can't believe they were so skint with the ram. They could have just left a full 8MB, and that would have cost the nothing.
     
  2. Mnecraft368

    Mnecraft368 I hate my name.
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,750
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's been like, what, 10 days since the thing came out?
    Give them some time.
     
  3. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    Germany
    Most important...can it run minecraft?
     
  4. tech3475

    tech3475 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,085
    Country:
    What I find weirder is how Nintendo went for a more 'efficient' design compared to e.g. the NES Classic (256MB RAM, 512MB Flash).

    Something like the G+W is closer to what I'd have expected the NES classic to be spec wise.
     
  5. Teletron1

    Teletron1 Space Tech Engineer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    They probably purposely did it to prevent this .. bottlenecks n64 games :(
     
    Zense likes this.
  6. Lostbhoy

    Lostbhoy HEY YOU GUYS!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    690
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. Zense

    Zense GBARunner2 config: Touch the touchscreen + press R
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,839
    Country:
    Italy
    I mean you wouldn't want to play n64 with a dpad and less buttons anyways, unless it's MM by treasure.
     
    Teletron1 likes this.
  8. aadz93

    aadz93 GBAtemp Аdministrator
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    738
    Country:
    Korea, North
  9. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,628
    Country:
    United States
    Since there's hardly any RAM on the device, I think they could write some kind of "bank-switchung" code to stream the assets being used into RAM as they're being called for, instead of loading them all into ram at once. That should get you fully textured maps with better performance.
     
    Teletron1, peteruk and Scott_pilgrim like this.
  10. 64bitmodels

    64bitmodels GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    769
    Country:
    United States
    how the fuck would you even be able to play SM64 on a console like the game and watch XD
     
    Scott_pilgrim and Zense like this.
  11. Ajlr

    Ajlr GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Philippines
    There needs to be a Lemmings port here. Some Turbografx, Master System, Game Gear, Amiga, Genesis, Atari ST, Atari 8-bit, 2600, 7800, Game Boy, Game Boy Color, Neo Geo Pocket and Pocket Color games would be nice. Oh and of course Mario 3 and other NES games.
     
  12. ShadowOne333

    ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,285
    Country:
    Mexico
    I was just making a joke.
    Oblivious people sure know how to kill a joke.
     
  13. CPG

    CPG good morning.
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Messages:
    724
    Country:
    Canada
    but why? WHY NOT?
     
    Scott_pilgrim likes this.
  14. xdarkx

    xdarkx GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    Canada
    Not as impressive as someone porting Doom to a pregnancy test.
     
    jimbo13 likes this.
  15. Lodad

    Lodad GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    Cool, I'm gonna run straight to a scalper and pick one of these up for double the price of retail!

    Seriously though, screw Nintendo for not announcing preorders were available, and screw best buy for never emailing me that they were in stock or on sale. Just went from "not yet available" to "out of stock." I absolutely hate all of this electronics scalping and I hope hell is real only so these people have to try and buy a ticket to heaven from scalper demons.

    /rant sorry, but I had to vent somewhere.
     
    wartutor likes this.
  16. RichardTheKing

    RichardTheKing Wolf Blass Shiraz Drinker
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2020
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    Australia
    ...This is news? I mean, "someone porting over DOOM to Weird Device" isn't surprising.

    Now if it was DOOM 2...
     
  17. Scott_pilgrim

    Scott_pilgrim Gbatemp’s official Scott pilgrim fanatic ™
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2020
    Messages:
    650
    Country:
    United States
    Because we need to port doom to everything
     
    Lostbhoy likes this.
  18. Unleanone999

    Unleanone999 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,008
    Country:
    Togo
    The ram and storage in this thing is so damn small that I doubt it's even worth it to hack it.
     
  19. tomasowa

    tomasowa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    United States
    That's all well and good, but all I would want is the ability to play all the official Game & Watch titles on this, sans the two-screen versions.

    Octopus was my first Game & Watch, so it holds sentimental value for me.
     
  20. Bladexdsl

    Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19,290
    Country:
    Australia
    but...can it run crysis :creep:
     
    peteruk likes this.
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Someone, ported, Watch