Hacking Some Wii games won't start at vWii's Disc Channel.

Dahlia098

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
221
Country
Brazil
I don't know if this is the right thread so correct me if I need to move.

Some games like Mario Kart Wii and Super Smash Bros. Brawl will get me a black screen when starting them from Disc Channel. However they start fine from USB Loader GX and from the Wiimmfi Disc Patching homebrew program. Other games though like Metroid: Other M and Lego Star Wars start fine directly from the Disc Channel. This is a problem from a long time ago, so I don't remember what I did wrong. But probably I messed up the IOSses of the vWii (pardon for my dumbness).
Is there any way to fix this problem? Like with a NAND backup or other methods?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,839
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,630
Country
Austria
I don't know if this is the right thread so correct me if I need to move.

Some games like Mario Kart Wii and Super Smash Bros. Brawl will get me a black screen when starting them from Disc Channel. However they start fine from USB Loader GX and from the Wiimmfi Disc Patching homebrew program. Other games though like Metroid: Other M and Lego Star Wars start fine directly from the Disc Channel. This is a problem from a long time ago, so I don't remember what I did wrong. But probably I messed up the IOSses of the vWii (pardon for my dumbness).
Is there any way to fix this problem? Like with a NAND backup or other methods?

Hello.:)

First: I am not a vWii or WiiU "expert".I do not own a WiiU.

But your Issue points me to the IOS36:

Games needs this:
  • Super Smash Bros. Brawl
  • Mario Kart Wii
  • Castlevania Judgement
I only know the version (v3864) you have to use in vWii Mode.
Maybe you can only check of this is YOUR Version.:)

I hope this helps you a little.

Thank you.:)


 

Dahlia098

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
221
Country
Brazil
Hello.:)

First: I am not a vWii or WiiU "expert".I do not own a WiiU.

But your Issue points me to the IOS36:

Games needs this:
  • Super Smash Bros. Brawl
  • Mario Kart Wii
  • Castlevania Judgement
I only know the version (v3864) you have to use in vWii Mode.
Maybe you can only check of this is YOUR Version.:)

I hope this helps you a little.

Thank you.:)

I'm kind of afraid of doing this though, will it be safe? Also, I just realized I lost my NAND backup, so this mean I could lose my vWii access forever if I did more careless modifying, and even if I created a new backup, it certainly would bring the broken IOS36 to it.
Some trivial thing I discovered though: I got Mario Kart Wii CTGP-R yesterday and the game did start fine, I wonder what these channels and programs have to not have any problems with this.
Also, Mario Kart Channel doesn't work through Wii Menu, must use the same IOS. Didn't test it on Loader GX yet though.
Well, thanks for the advice anyway!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,839
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,630
Country
Austria
I'm kind of afraid of doing this though, will it be safe? Also, I just realized I lost my NAND backup, so this mean I could lose my vWii access forever if I did more careless modifying, and even if I created a new backup, it certainly would bring the broken IOS36 to it.
Some trivial thing I discovered though: I got Mario Kart Wii CTGP-R yesterday and the game did start fine, I wonder what these channels and programs have to not have any problems with this.
Also, Mario Kart Channel doesn't work through Wii Menu, must use the same IOS. Didn't test it on Loader GX yet though.
Well, thanks for the advice anyway!

That is good,to NOT do it without a NAND Backup.:)
As i said I am no WiiU User.Maybe some other people read over here about your Isssue and can help you.
Sorry,i am not really helpful this time.
Thank you.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dahlia098

Dahlia098

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
221
Country
Brazil
That is good,to NOT do it without a NAND Backup.:)
As i said I am no WiiU User.Maybe some other people read over here about your Isssue and can help you.
Sorry,i am not really helpful this time.
Thank you.:)
No probs, though I'd like to know if formatting the vWii would replace the broken IOS with the correct one, then I would softmod it again but no messing with IOSses for no reason this time. No need to answer if you don't know :P.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,839
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,630
Country
Austria
  • Like
Reactions: Dahlia098

Dahlia098

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 14, 2015
Messages
24
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
221
Country
Brazil
Hmmm... what I could guess is that formatting may not correct the IOS, so the vWii formatting would be completely in vain. Too bad that apparently there aren't any reports related to this specific issue I'm having...
Also, it seems that you can't format the vWii without formatting the Wii U together? If that's so, then big oof. I guess I'm not doing anything by now, until a solution comes (if there's any). Hope some Wii U expert sees this and help me.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,839
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
2,630
Country
Austria
NEVERMIND THAT I got a ios36 wad on the internet then used it with the IOS236 installer (vWii patch version) then installed the wad through YAMM and now everything is working fine again :lol::lol:

Hello.:)

Thank you for your reply and telling us your Solution.

Great to hear now you got it.:yay:
I am happy for you,now you can still have fun with your vWii again.:yayu:

Thank you.:)
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,

whorewolf

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
Newcastle Upon Tyne
XP
81
Country
United Kingdom
236BFE39-1BC2-4D18-8BF8-3397AC6DD24D.jpeg
NEVERMIND THAT I got a ios36 wad on the internet then used it with the IOS236 installer (vWii patch version) then installed the wad through YAMM and now everything is working fine again :lol::lol:

Hi
I think I did a very similar thing with iOS 236 yesterday also as I can’t get into my hbc & wiifm channels that are on my vwii & even though there still showing on system menu there is now a saved file on sd card menu of the hbc but whatever I try I still can’t get into the hbc & ive had the same letter sent 2 days in a row on the vwii side (See pic) I don’t know what it’s meaning as I only tried once this morning on the hbc & not at all on wiifm yet the letter says 10 times I’ve tried??? I’ve also ended up with a folder full of wads from iOS 80 side but don’t know what these are for or where they even go? I don’t wanna mess on with the vwii anymore really until someone can possibly help me out here with any idea of what has gone on please? Thanks in advance
 
Last edited by whorewolf,

whorewolf

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
Newcastle Upon Tyne
XP
81
Country
United Kingdom
I have now gone through some folders also that I created yesterday & I am now on a 50/50 pedestal that when I installed ios236 I might have accidentally done it with version 6 from 2011 (which would be a Wii not vwii version) instead of the intended mod v8 special VW version as I’ve just literally found them both in the same folder that I’ve just come across for some reason that I created yesterday? I have also found iso.36 In My wad folder! But not found any wad over 80 I’m still non the wiser though lol
 
Last edited by whorewolf,
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: when i have to mix it, on the other hand