Hacking some of my show as nero showtime...what should they be?

groggy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
84
Trophies
1
Age
50
Website
Visit site
XP
302
Country
hi
some of my files show as nero show time when i put my memory card on my laptop
for example
r4dldi
ds_menu

what should they be shown as , as this doesnt seem right?
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
220
Country
United States
It's just what the computer associates (most likely) .DAT files with.
.DAT is a generic extension for many files usually indicating "DATA", or something that isn't user-readable.
 

groggy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
84
Trophies
1
Age
50
Website
Visit site
XP
302
Country
twiztidsinz said:
It's just what the computer associates (most likely) .DAT files with.
.DAT is a generic extension for many files usually indicating "DATA", or something that isn't user-readable.
ahhh ok cheers

should i change program that reads it to somthing else? what do yours show as?
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
220
Country
United States
groggy said:
twiztidsinz said:
It's just what the computer associates (most likely) .DAT files with.
.DAT is a generic extension for many files usually indicating "DATA", or something that isn't user-readable.
ahhh ok cheers

should i change program that reads it to somthing else? what do yours show as?
Either Unassociated or Media Player Classic, .DATs can sometimes be video files.
But it doesn't really matter as your PC won't be able to use them even with a DS Emulator since they're encrypted to the R4.
 

groggy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
84
Trophies
1
Age
50
Website
Visit site
XP
302
Country
ok thanks for that.
just on a side note my .nds files show as a blank white rectangle , is there some icon i could use for them?
 

Sausage Head

Lord Sausage LXIX
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2010
Messages
1,675
Trophies
0
Age
21
Location
alanjohn check ur pm
XP
190
Country
Netherlands
If have an emulator for DS ROMs, you can associate .NDS files to that emulator with
Right click file > Open with... and browse for the file. The ROM will use the icon given by the emulator.
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
220
Country
United States
You can also use EvoTools to show the GameIcon in Windows:
DSIcons.jpg
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
220
Country
United States
I've written a pair of batch files (and a registry file) that can fix the icons not showing up after an install of EvoTools. It will also look for and associate NDS files with an emulator of your choice (No$GBA/No$Zoomer/DesMuMe), since normally assigning an emulator to the files will cause the icon to change.
You can either choose to keep EvoTools installed or remove it before running this:
http://www.mediafire.com/?vx72qg3qthdrdzy


Since batch files are a collection (or "batch") of commands stored in plain text, anyone can look through the "source" so it would be difficult for them to do malicious things without someone seeing it. I invite anyone who would like to, to look at the code and hopefully make use of some of it in their own works.
Code:
@ECHO OFF
%~dp0\files\elevate.js %~dp0\files\ndsExt.bat
ECHO Please finish with the second window before continuing.
PAUSE

:ResetExplorer
SET _Continue=no
CLS
ECHO.
ECHO Restarting Explorer.exe
ECHO.
ECHO This will close ALL Explorer windows (like My Computer). Please finish and
ECHO save any work you are doing in other applications to ensure no data is lost.
ECHO.
SET /P _Continue=Type "OK" to continue: 
IF /I NOT %_Continue%==OK GOTO ResetExplorer
TASKKILL /F /IM explorer.exe
START explorer.exe
Code:
@ECHO OFF
SETLOCAL EnableDelayedExpansion

:PrepFolders
MKDIR "%PROGRAMFILES%\Evolution Tools"
COPY %~dp0\ndsExt.dll "%PROGRAMFILES%\Evolution Tools\"

:FixRegistry
SET _Continue=no
CLS
ECHO.
ECHO Adding information to the Registry
ECHO.
ECHO This will remove then add some entries relating to .NDS files into your
ECHO Registry. It should be safe as none of the values are system-critical,
ECHO but modifying the registry always carries some risk.
ECHO.
SET /P _Continue=Type "OK" to continue: 
IF /I NOT %_Continue%==OK GOTO FixRegistry
%~dp0\ndsExt.reg

:FindEmulators
CLS
ECHO.
ECHO Searching for Emulators, please wait...
ECHO.
ECHO Note: Removable drives can cause an error message to pop up.
ECHO If this happens, simply choose Continue or Ignore to proceede.
SET _Count=0
FOR %%d IN (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) DO (
ÂÂIF EXIST %%d: (
ÂÂÂÂFOR /F "Tokens=* Delims=" %%I IN ('DIR /B /S "%%d:no$gba.exe" 2^>NUL') DO (
ÂÂÂÂÂÂSET /A _Count+=1
ÂÂÂÂÂÂSET _F!_Count!=%%I
ÂÂÂÂÂÂ)
ÂÂÂÂFOR /F "Tokens=* Delims=" %%I IN ('DIR /B /S "%%d:no$zoomer.exe" 2^>NUL') DO (
ÂÂÂÂÂÂSET /A _Count+=1
ÂÂÂÂÂÂSET _F!_Count!=%%I
ÂÂÂÂÂÂ)
ÂÂÂÂFOR /F "Tokens=* Delims=" %%I IN ('DIR /B /S "%%d:desmume.exe" 2^>NUL') DO (
ÂÂÂÂÂÂSET /A _Count+=1
ÂÂÂÂÂÂSET _F!_Count!=%%I
ÂÂÂÂÂÂ)
ÂÂÂÂ)
ÂÂ)

:SelectEmulator
CLS
ECHO.
IF %_Count%==0 ECHO No emulators found.&GOTO ProgramEnd
FOR /L %%I IN (1,1,%_Count%) DO ECHO %%I. !_F%%I!
SET /P _Choice=Please select an Emulator to open NDS files (Press Enter or 0 to exit): 
IF "%_Choice%"=="" GOTO SelectEmulator
IF %_Choice%==0 GOTO ProgramEnd
IF %_Choice% GTR %_Count% ECHO Please enter a number between 1 and %_Count%&GOTO SelectEmulator
SET _FileName=!_F%_Choice%!
REG ADD "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CycloEVO.nds\shell\Open\command" /D "\"%_FileName%\" \"%%1\"" /F

:ProgramEnd
ENDLOCAL
PAUSE
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

; Remove
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.nds]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{B7A69B96-3BCE-453b-A261-3B6C16B907C1}]
[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CycloEVO.nds]
[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.nds]

; Re-Register
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.nds]
@="CycloEVO.nds"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{B7A69B96-3BCE-453b-A261-3B6C16B907C1}]
@="NDS File"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{B7A69B96-3BCE-453b-A261-3B6C16B907C1}\InProcServer32]
@="C:\\Program Files\\Evolution Tools\\ndsExt.dll"
"ThreadingModel"="Apartment"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CycloEVO.nds]
@="NDS File"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CycloEVO.nds\DefaultIcon]
@="C:\\Program Files\\Evolution Tools\\ndsExt.dll"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CycloEVO.nds\shellex]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CycloEVO.nds\shellex\IconHandler]
@="{B7A69B96-3BCE-453b-A261-3B6C16B907C1}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CycloEVO.nds\shellex\{00021500-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}]
@="{B7A69B96-3BCE-453b-A261-3B6C16B907C1}"
All registry entries taken from EvoTools.
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
220
Country
United States
groggy said:
groggy said:
twiztidsinz said:
groggy said:
excellent!!!
but it dont work
frown.gif
...i installed but they still the same
Try restarting your computer.
If it doesn't work and you run 32bit Windows (not 64bit or x64) let me know and I'll post my fix.
ahhh ive not restarted yet
it didnt work
angry.gif
Are you on 32bit or 64bit windows?
Right click Computer and choose Properties. It will tell you on that screen.
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
220
Country
United States
groggy said:
Then you should be able to use this to fix your icons: http://www.mediafire.com/?vx72qg3qthdrdzy
It will also search your computer for No$GBA/No$Zoomer/DesMuMe exe files and associate the emulator (your choice) with NDS files.
If you want to add another emulator, it should be simple to modify the batch file to do so (or you can PM me the name of the exe file and I can add it).


More info in my post above, http://gbatemp.net/t277128-some-of-my-show...t&p=3432690
 

groggy

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
84
Trophies
1
Age
50
Website
Visit site
XP
302
Country
twiztidsinz said:
groggy said:
Then you should be able to use this to fix your icons: http://www.mediafire.com/?vx72qg3qthdrdzy
It will also search your computer for No$GBA/No$Zoomer/DesMuMe exe files and associate the emulator (your choice) with NDS files.
If you want to add another emulator, it should be simple to modify the batch file to do so (or you can PM me the name of the exe file and I can add it).


More info in my post above, http://gbatemp.net/t277128-some-of-my-show...t&p=3432690
excellent .....works perfect...can i uninstall evotools now?
 

twiztidsinz

Taiju Yamada Fan
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2008
Messages
4,979
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
220
Country
United States
You can uninstall EvoTools if you want, but it will most likely end up breaking the icons again (maybe not right away, but after a restart or after you close/start Explorer.exe).

To solve that, you should be able to just run the fix again.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • DTApple
    please let me look cool as well
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtzMUJIofNg