some of my show as nero showtime...what should they be?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by groggy, Jan 30, 2011.

  1. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi
    some of my files show as nero show time when i put my memory card on my laptop
    for example
    r4dldi
    ds_menu

    what should they be shown as , as this doesnt seem right?
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    It's just what the computer associates (most likely) .DAT files with.
    .DAT is a generic extension for many files usually indicating "DATA", or something that isn't user-readable.
     
  3. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ahhh ok cheers

    should i change program that reads it to somthing else? what do yours show as?
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Either Unassociated or Media Player Classic, .DATs can sometimes be video files.
    But it doesn't really matter as your PC won't be able to use them even with a DS Emulator since they're encrypted to the R4.
     
  5. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok thanks for that.
    just on a side note my .nds files show as a blank white rectangle , is there some icon i could use for them?
     
  6. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If have an emulator for DS ROMs, you can associate .NDS files to that emulator with
    Right click file > Open with... and browse for the file. The ROM will use the icon given by the emulator.
     
  7. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    You can also use EvoTools to show the GameIcon in Windows:
    [​IMG]
     
  8. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    excellent!!!
    but it dont work [​IMG] ...i installed but they still the same
     
  9. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Try restarting your computer.
    If it doesn't work and you run 32bit Windows (not 64bit or x64) let me know and I'll post my fix.
     
  10. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ahhh ive not restarted yet
     
  11. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I've written a pair of batch files (and a registry file) that can fix the icons not showing up after an install of EvoTools. It will also look for and associate NDS files with an emulator of your choice (No$GBA/No$Zoomer/DesMuMe), since normally assigning an emulator to the files will cause the icon to change.
    You can either choose to keep EvoTools installed or remove it before running this:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?vx72qg3qthdrdzy


    Since batch files are a collection (or "batch") of commands stored in plain text, anyone can look through the "source" so it would be difficult for them to do malicious things without someone seeing it. I invite anyone who would like to, to look at the code and hopefully make use of some of it in their own works.
    RUNME.bat
    files\ndsExt.bat
    files\ndsExt.reg
     
  12. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it didnt work [​IMG]
     
  13. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Are you on 32bit or 64bit windows?
    Right click Computer and choose Properties. It will tell you on that screen.
     
  14. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Then you should be able to use this to fix your icons: http://www.mediafire.com/?vx72qg3qthdrdzy
    It will also search your computer for No$GBA/No$Zoomer/DesMuMe exe files and associate the emulator (your choice) with NDS files.
    If you want to add another emulator, it should be simple to modify the batch file to do so (or you can PM me the name of the exe file and I can add it).


    More info in my post above, http://gbatemp.net/t277128-some-of-my-show...t&p=3432690
     
  16. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    excellent .....works perfect...can i uninstall evotools now?
     
  17. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    You can uninstall EvoTools if you want, but it will most likely end up breaking the icons again (maybe not right away, but after a restart or after you close/start Explorer.exe).

    To solve that, you should be able to just run the fix again.
     
  18. groggy
    OP

    Newcomer groggy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    uninstalled and all icons still there...tremendous!

    thank you


    edit....just read your edit!!
     

Share This Page