Hacking Some NTFS HDD issues - games on usb loader and wiiflow don't run

hagis

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
22
Country
Poland
Hi all
I get a wiiU recently and I wanted o run a few games from ISO images from my hdd with NTFS file system.
On HDD are 2 partitions. I created wbfs folder and put a isos of some games (mario mostly - galaxy 1 and 2, new super, another super mario).
Softmod by Bathtrax and by this forum tutorial. UsbLoader is not finding any images no matter if i change partition in settings.
Wiiflow is finding them, no covers of course , when opening title, it showing "preview" of game but when hit "A" button all is going black and freeze.

Tried to use Wii Backup Manager to rename isos with some NTFS option (it put every rom in a folder and rename it to a nintendo game code) -after that WiiFlow lost ability to see games at all.

When i connected hdd back to pc I noticed that few games missing at all :|
I copy them manually from another hdd back with default names to wbfs folder and problem remains - games are seeing, previewed but hangs on run.

Please - can someone advice me where is a problem? Usb Loader is so more user friendly but is cant see games at all.
I don't want to conwert my hdd to wbfs because I use it everyday on PC with Doplhin and others :)

Sorry for language mistakes - I hope everything is quite clear.
 

Kippykip

j e f f
Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2013
Messages
539
Trophies
0
Website
kippykip.com
XP
481
Country
Australia
I remember I bought a 500gb external harddrive (USB powererd) and it didn't work
then I took it back and got a 2tb external harddrive (Powererd by wall outlet) and it worked

also they were both USB 3.0
 

Warlord698

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
224
Trophies
0
XP
321
Country
United States
yea, people found that fact early on, you either have to have a powered drive, or get a special "Y" cable that takes up two usb slots but fully powers the drive (usually there are docks for the drives that have 2 USB plugs to power it (and usually adds to a speed boost on ports that would power it with just one plug)
 

hagis

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
22
Country
Poland
I use CFG loader personally and it seams to work for me, just make sure that
A: you tell it to look at the correct partition
B: it is set to the right IOS for loading the images


I also used THIS method for installing the Cios on my system
http://gbatemp.net/threads/simple-guide-to-install-cios-on-vwii-backup-nand-and-keys.339890/

I did exactly everything like in this tutorial.
NTFS Disk with two partitions is connected over Y cable and it ios working fine. CFG USB Loader see 2 partitions that i can swap in options.
But:
1. I have created wbfs folder on both partitions and put there 2 isos files with custom names (f.e - mario galaxy.iso) - USB Loader is not seeing these files. WiiFlow is seeing them but after preview (title is showing, some animations) and hitting A button console just blackout
Should i change folder or files names?
Why USB Loader is not seeing files???
2. How can i know what IOS should i use? I'm mostly interested with New Sup. Mario right now :)
Do i Have to chose different IOS for different game???
 

Kippykip

j e f f
Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2013
Messages
539
Trophies
0
Website
kippykip.com
XP
481
Country
Australia
I did exactly everything like in this tutorial.
NTFS Disk with two partitions is connected over Y cable and it ios working fine. CFG USB Loader see 2 partitions that i can swap in options.
But:
1. I have created wbfs folder on both partitions and put there 2 isos files with custom names (f.e - mario galaxy.iso) - USB Loader is not seeing these files. WiiFlow is seeing them but after preview (title is showing, some animations) and hitting A button console just blackout
Should i change folder or files names?
Why USB Loader is not seeing files???
2. How can i know what IOS should i use? I'm mostly interested with New Sup. Mario right now :)
Do i Have to chose different IOS for different game???
You gotta convert them to a WBFS format
 

Warlord698

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
224
Trophies
0
XP
321
Country
United States
generally, when using that tutorial, 249 should be your default (on my Wii i had 222 ad my default Cios and had to change my settings when it came to vWii)

try this, leave the NTFS partition blank (if you have the space on your computer that is) save for a few files so it can see there is SOMETHING there and not try to format it right off the bat.

use one the loaders to "install" a game to that partition so you can see exactly where and how it puts the games on there (what format it uses)

then i would use that as an example to work with


here is an example of my mine is set up

loader example.jpg
i have my first partition as a FAT32 32GB partition for homebrew purposes (although i do wish i could use it as Wii U space so it would quit asking me to format every time i forget to unplug the drive before booting up

the rest is devoted as a NTFS drive mainly for my loaders, but also for some movies I have converted from DVD for my Vita
 

hagis

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
22
Country
Poland
Thank You Kippykip
Thank You Warlord698
Your advice is reasonable but it looks like a hell of combinations :) Probably i will do it when i'll be at home. I have enough space on disk (500 GB splitted for 2 partitions ~ 100 GB is free)
There is no way to run ISO? I Have to convert all games to wbfs? (BTW - What tool is best to do that?)
I have Lego Batman that I will try to install, then we'll see :)

Thank you for replay gentlemen.
I will probably still asking... - wii(U) is completely unknown to me.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Kippykip

Kippykip

j e f f
Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2013
Messages
539
Trophies
0
Website
kippykip.com
XP
481
Country
Australia
Thank You Kippykip
Thank You Warlord698
Your advice is reasonable but it looks like a hell of combinations :) Probably i will do it when i'll be at home. I have enough space on disk (500 GB splitted for 2 partitions ~ 100 GB is free)
There is no way to run ISO? I Have to convert all games to wbfs? (BTW - What tool is best to do that?)
I have Lego Batman that I will try to install, then we'll see :)

Thank you for replay gentlemen.
I will probably still asking... - wii(U) is completely unknown to me.
I use Wii Backup Manager to convert games to wbfs, it compresses it too!

So open WiiBackupManager, in the files tab click Add>Files (Or for your case, folders for your isos) then after they are imported, click transfer>WBFS File and point it to the DRIVE:\wbfs folder
It may take a little while but hope this helps!
 

hagis

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
22
Country
Poland
I converted games and all is working fine. Shame that none of loaders fully support ISO files. It is stupid to keep the same games in 2 versions.
Almost all games are working on CFG loader but f.e. Wii Sports not. But it is working on USB loader. I think settings will fix this issue.

Anyway - thank YOU good people for advices - i didn't know at all about CFG loader and conversion need. Now I'm looking for good source of games...
 

Warlord698

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
224
Trophies
0
XP
321
Country
United States
i usually made use of my gamefly account for a while, cheap enough if there a distributor relatively close (especially if you do the two game plan,can usually get about 2-3 games a week depending on when you mail them back). I ended up just putting my account on hold because I have so many games I haven't even touched yet.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • impeeza @ impeeza:
    I want yo eat more veggies.
  • impeeza @ impeeza:
    but I am anticoagulted so no can do ;(
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    You wouldn't like my veggie
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    BUMPER CARS
  • kenenthk tempBOT: @ kenenthk
    Into the thick of it
  • XAIXER @ XAIXER:
    Pretty quiet Shoutbox
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Chit chat move at too fast a pace. Before when it was like 4 people I could keep up.
  • SylvWolf tempBOT:
    SylvWolf has left the room.
  • XAIXER @ XAIXER:
    True
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    Nowadays, everybody wanna talk like they got something to say, but nothing comes out
  • MochaMilk @ MochaMilk:
    New update looks clean as heck!
    +1
  • XAIXER @ XAIXER:
    Never seen it get to 0 before...
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    I have.
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    but the issue is, when you start talking, it increases to 1
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    So I guess it counts the active people in the chat.
    +1
  • CeeDee @ CeeDee:
    howdy gbatempers it's ya boi(tm) ceedee
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    I almost misread that as "CeeDeez"
  • sTo0z @ sTo0z:
    fancy
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    hi sto0z
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    Big fan of the sTo0Z Zone
  • CeeDee @ CeeDee:
    irc with a color feature is powerful tbh
  • CeeDee @ CeeDee:
    coolllooorrrrrrrr
  • S @ Shape:
    Ehhh? Who gave *me* permission to post in the chat? :wtf:
    S @ Shape: Ehhh? Who gave *me* permission to post in the chat? :wtf: