Some black screens after turning on the TV when playing PS2

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,321
Country
Portugal
Lately, I've been having some black screens after turning on the TV when playing PS2. I have audio but no image.

I use a PS2 to HDMI Converter and I connect its HDMI cable to a HDMI switch. I changed the PS2 USB port in which the PS2 to HDMI Converter's USB cable is connected to, changed the PS2 to HDMI Converter's HDMI cable and even the HDMI port of the HDMI switch in which it's connected to but I still have this issue.

What's weird is that if I have this issue and turn off and afterwards on the TV, I stop having this issue (until it returns after the TV is turned on in a future occasion).
 
Last edited by Windows_10_User,

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
2,367
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
6,992
Country
United States
Well, you should try with composite cables every tv should have the ports.
And why are using an "HDMI switch"? Just plug it directly to the tv for now, and try other hdmi ports.
Does your tv work fine on itself without the PS2 hooked up, or not? If not, could be the backlight inside the tv dying or something else, and the problem is on the ps2's side..
 

rantex92

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2021
Messages
485
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
625
Country
Germany
wich ps2 to hdmi did you get?

wich hdmi switcher did you use?

i ask because there are some bad models out there who can blow your hdmi port (had some experience with cheap amazon hdmi switchers 90% of them wont work like it should they losing frames(blackscreen with only audio) or they mix up the signals or in one of my worst cases they will blow your hdmi port)

same thing for ps2 to hdmi the only one i could recommend would be the kaico one

my advice just get an ossc or a retrotink i know their pricey but you can use them with all of youre old consoles
 
Last edited by rantex92,

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,321
Country
Portugal
Well, you should try with composite cables every tv should have the ports.
And why are using an "HDMI switch"? Just plug it directly to the tv for now, and try other hdmi ports.
Does your tv work fine on itself without the PS2 hooked up, or not? If not, could be the backlight inside the tv dying or something else, and the problem is on the ps2's side..

I no longer have composite cables, only component ones, but after connecting the PS2 to the TV via non-Sony component cables, the screen is constantly flickering (it goes black for a second before it returns to normal).

Because I have 5 devices for two HDMI ports on the TV.

What do you mean by that? Yes, although the screen is slightly marked on the borders since I have it since 2009 and it doesn't even have LED backlight. Anyway, what does that have to do with this? I'll try connecting the PS2 to other ports of the same HDMI switch, try connecting it to the other HDMI switch (I have two) and even connecting it directly to the PS2's HDMI port.

wich ps2 to hdmi did you get?

wich hdmi switcher did you use?

i ask because there are some bad models out there who can blow your hdmi port (had some experience with cheap amazon hdmi switchers 90% of them wont work like it should they losing frames(blackscreen with only audio) or they mix up the signals or in one of my worst cases they will blow your hdmi port)

same thing for ps2 to hdmi the only one i could recommend would be the kaico one

my advice just get an ossc or a retrotink i know their pricey but you can use them with all of youre old consoles

I used this PS2 to HDMI adapter and this HDMI switch.

Which HDMI port might be blown are you talking about, the TV's or the PS2's?

It's the first time I have these issues and before that I used different HDMI switches which had more than 3 HDMI ports (the current HDMI switch has only 3) since I have 5 devices that use HDMI (a set-top box, a PS5, a PS3, a PS TV and a PS2) but although they were new they stopped working and I don't know why they needed a USB port to work unlike this one so I returned to this one (I use two of these HDMI switches of the same brand and model with the same number of HDMI ports since they always worked fine).

One thing I've noticed recently and that I don't know if it happened before is that sometimes after turning on the PS2 its led starts to change from the HDMI port 1 to the 2, goes back to the 1 and then returns to the 2 when the PS2 is connected to the 2 and another device that isn't even turned one when I turn on the PS2 is connected to the 1.

Also, I don't know if it's important, but every day I click on the PS5's external HDD's extension cord's red button before going to bed because the PS5's external HDD or the extension cord does a weird and annoying buzz-like noise when the former is connected to the latter (even if the PS5 is not turned on) and I'm afraid I can have a fire. I can't understand if the noise comes from the PS5's external HDD or the extension cord in which the PS5's external HDD is connected but it starts after connecting the PS5's external HDD to the extension cord.

I've changed the extension cord (and I still have this problem) and I already had this problem when the external HDD was connected to the PS4. Does this mean the external HDD may stop working, or even worse, may it fry all my devices connected to the extension cord or/and even have a fire? I only bought the external HDD two years ago and I've had this problem since then. Maybe the extension cord's red button broke the HDMI switch (the PS2 and both HDMI switches are connected to the same extension cord)?

What are OSSC and Retrotink? They're very pricy and I no longer have the original composite cables and I bought component ones but the screen is always flickering (it goes black for a second until it returns to normal) hence I bought this PS2 to HDMI adapter.

Maybe I should try changing the HDMI switch. Do you recommend one, mostly with 5/6 HDMI ports, 4K and with a remote controller?
 
Last edited by Windows_10_User,

rantex92

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2021
Messages
485
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
625
Country
Germany
I used this PS2 to HDMI adapter and this HDMI switch.

Which HDMI port that might be blown are you talking about, the TV's or the PS2's?

It's the first time I have these issues and before I used different HDMI switches which had more than 3 HDMI ports since I have 5 devices that use HDMI (a set-top box, the PS5, the PS3, the PS TV and the PS2) but although they were new they stopped working and I don't know why they needed a USB port to work unlike this one so I returned to this one (I use two of these HDMI switches of the same brand and with the same number of HDMI ports since they always worked fine).

One thing I've noticed recently and that I don't know if it happened before is that sometimes after turning on the PS2 its led starts to change from the HDMI port 1 to the 2, goes back to the 1 and then returns to the 2 when the PS2 is connected to the 2 and another device that isn't even turned one when I turn on the PS2 is connected to the 1.

Also, every day I click on the PS5's external HDD's extension cord's reset button before going to bed because the PS5's external HDD or the extension cord does a weird and annoying buzz-like noise when the former is connected to the latter (even if the PS5 is not turned on) and I'm afraid I can have a fire. I can't understand if the noise comes from the PS5's external HDD or the extension cord in which the PS5's external HDD is connected but it starts after connecting the PS5's external HDD to the extension cord.

I've changed the extension cord (and I still have this problem) and I already had this problem when the external HDD was connected to the PS4. Does this mean the external HDD may stop working, or even worse, may it fry all my devices connected to the extension cord or/and even have a fire? I only bought the external HDD two years ago and I've had this problem since then. Maybe the extension cord's reset button broke the HDMI switch (the PS2 and both HDMI switches are connected to the same extension cord)?

What are OSSC and Retrotink? They're very pricy and I no longer have the original composite cables and I bought component ones but the screen is always flickering (it goes black for a second until it returns to normal) hence I bought this PS2 to HDMI adapter.

Maybe I should try changing the HDMI switch. Do you recommend one, mostly with 5/6 HDMI ports, 4K and with a remote controller?
in my worst case the tvs hdmi port was blown

the ossc (https://www.retrorgb.com/ossc.html) and the retrotink (https://www.retrotink.com/product-page/5x-pro)
are both videoupscaler/line multipliers and they will greatly enhance your retro experience

hmmm for me it sound that your hdmi switcher doesnt like the ps2 to hdmi (usb cabel is for power on those models should be 3,3v /5v)

about your hdd problem no youre house wont burn down there are safety measures against that (at least in germany iv something went funky the power would go out)
that sound could be the hdd still spinning after the ps4/5 shuts down but it could be even a bad powersupply/powerbrick (depends on the sound if its more like coil whining screeching sound then its not the hdd spinning)
you should immediately check that where the sound originates from

and srry i cant recommend any hdmi switcher like i said from my experience most of them are e waste
im still searchin for the all in one device (like a framemeister but with more input variety more hdmi in and more upscaling /linemultipling features)


after reading your answer to cool me ; could it be that your tv is just dying and too old? if i understand your answer correctly your tv is from 2009?
 

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,321
Country
Portugal
in my worst case the tvs hdmi port was blown

the ossc (https://www.retrorgb.com/ossc.html) and the retrotink (https://www.retrotink.com/product-page/5x-pro)
are both videoupscaler/line multipliers and they will greatly enhance your retro experience

hmmm for me it sound that your hdmi switcher doesnt like the ps2 to hdmi (usb cabel is for power on those models should be 3,3v /5v)

about your hdd problem no youre house wont burn down there are safety measures against that (at least in germany iv something went funky the power would go out)
that sound could be the hdd still spinning after the ps4/5 shuts down but it could be even a bad powersupply/powerbrick (depends on the sound if its more like coil whining screeching sound then its not the hdd spinning)
you should immediately check that where the sound originates from

and srry i cant recommend any hdmi switcher like i said from my experience most of them are e waste
im still searchin for the all in one device (like a framemeister but with more input variety more hdmi in and more upscaling /linemultipling features)


after reading your answer to cool me ; could it be that your tv is just dying and too old? if i understand your answer correctly your tv is from 2009?

It looks like those OSSC and Retrotink are very expensive, especially since they are for an old console like the PS2.

But it makes this sound even before tuning the PS4/PS5 on.

What's a framemeister? Is it a device like OSSC and Retrotink, and if so, how many devices like that are there? Is it also very expensive?

Yes, it is, but the external HDD isn't even connected to the TV but to the PS5 and the extension cord.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,980
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,190
Country
Norway
It looks like those OSSC and Retrotink are very expensive, especially since they are for an old console like the PS2.

But it makes this sound even before tuning the PS4/PS5 on.

What's a framemeister? Is it a device like OSSC and Retrotink, and if so, how many devices like that are there? Is it also very expensive?

Yes, it is, but the external HDD isn't even connected to the TV but to the PS5 and the extension cord.
The Framemeister is the best/most expensive of the 3. The Retrotink is the "budget" (as it has less features, but still works very well) option. It's worth getting a good quality upscaler for better image quality and latency, and use it with all your retro consoles.
Well, you should try with composite cables every tv should have the ports.
And why are using an "HDMI switch"? Just plug it directly to the tv for now, and try other hdmi ports.
Does your tv work fine on itself without the PS2 hooked up, or not? If not, could be the backlight inside the tv dying or something else, and the problem is on the ps2's side..
TVs sold nowadays don't have composite (or component) ports anymore so it can't be taken for granted anymore.
 

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,321
Country
Portugal
The Framemeister is the best/most expensive of the 3. The Retrotink is the "budget" (as it has less features, but still works very well) option. It's worth getting a good quality upscaler for better image quality and latency, and use it with all your retro consoles.

TVs sold nowadays don't have composite (or component) ports anymore so it can't be taken for granted anymore.

I was searching an OLED's characteristics and it has a DVB-T2/T input which looks like a composite one. What is it and do all modern TVs have it?

maybe its your video output setting in the ps2? I know you can switch between RGB/the other Component format...

I selected the Y Cb/Pr Cr/Pr setting since with the RGB one I have no image.
 

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,321
Country
Portugal

Ok.

Not all newer tvs don't have composite, and i didn't suggest plugging to component btw, and since his tv is from 2009 it should definitely have composite ports.

It has, I used them on the past but I no longer have it. I bought component cables but after connecting them to the PS2 and TV the screens starts flickering. The official component cables are very expensive. What about composite/component to HDMI converter for when I buy a new TV in case they don't have a composite/component input?
 

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
2,367
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
6,992
Country
United States
It has, I used them on the past but I no longer have it.
Yep.
I bought component cables but after connecting them to the PS2 and TV the screens starts flickering.
Doesn't make sense, if your tv has component inputs they should work even with a lousy component cable.. "flickering" you say, or did it show up as green, cause you need to change the video options in the PS2 to get the image to show up properly.
Either way sounds like your tv is messed up..
What about composite/component to HDMI converter for when I buy a new TV in case they don't have a composite/component input?
You wouldn't find a new tv nowadays with component ports, they stopped including them since like 2012 or something.. But you can find new ones with composite ports, maybe the higher-end models wouldn't have them +1k, but you can find them in the consumer models below that, but certainly not all of them..
As for the converter, i guess it should work, just find/get from a reputable brand so it wouldn't cause you even more problems, minus the image quality if you're going for composite to hdmi..
 
Last edited by CoolMe,

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,321
Country
Portugal

And isn't it an old input like the composite one? Why do modern TVs still come with it?

Yep.

Doesn't make sense, if your tv has component inputs they should work even with a lousy component cable.. "flickering" you say, or did it show up as green, cause you need to change the video options in the PS2 to get the image to show up properly.
Either way sounds like your tv is messed up..

You wouldn't find a new tv nowadays with component ports, they stopped including them since like 2012 or something.. But you can find new ones with composite ports, maybe the higher-end models wouldn't have them +1k, but you can find them in the consumer models below that, but certainly not all of them..
As for the converter, i guess it should work, just find/get from a reputable brand so it wouldn't cause you even more problems, minus the image quality if you're going for composite to hdmi..

What I mean by "flickering" is the screen going black and in the next second or so returning to normal. This happens constantly with the components cables connected to the TV and the PS2. But isn't the component input more recent than the composite one?
 
Last edited by Windows_10_User,

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,321
Country
Portugal
Yep.

Doesn't make sense, if your tv has component inputs they should work even with a lousy component cable.. "flickering" you say, or did it show up as green, cause you need to change the video options in the PS2 to get the image to show up properly.
Either way sounds like your tv is messed up..

You wouldn't find a new tv nowadays with component ports, they stopped including them since like 2012 or something.. But you can find new ones with composite ports, maybe the higher-end models wouldn't have them +1k, but you can find them in the consumer models below that, but certainly not all of them..
As for the converter, i guess it should work, just find/get from a reputable brand so it wouldn't cause you even more problems, minus the image quality if you're going for composite to hdmi..

So, I changed the HDMI switch and I still have this issue. Do you think it's caused by the PS2 to HDMI Converter?
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,026
Trophies
2
XP
19,694
Country
United States
Had the same problem with this used ps2 I bought, but I also got no audio. I thought it might not be set for component, but I did the right button presses and still nothing.
 

CoolMe

Old Soul..
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
2,367
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
6,992
Country
United States
Had the same problem with this used ps2 I bought, but I also got no audio. I thought it might not be set for component, but I did the right button presses and still nothing.
No picture on the screen at all? Did you try changing the video settings on the ps2 to YPbPr? Also do composite cables work for you?
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Works for me.