soldering a YAOSM chip as we speak....

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zant, Dec 12, 2010.

Dec 12, 2010
  1. zant
    OP

    Member zant GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Country:
    United States
    Hey everybody. I was given a YAOSM chip about 2 years ago, and never got around to soldering it in. Well now I have. Is there an update disc for it? I do not have a programmer, and I was hoping there was an update disc for it.
     
  2. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Why put a chip in the wii when you can softmod...
     
  3. Social0

    Member Social0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Belgium
    a chip is still more awesome [​IMG]
     
  4. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States

    No, not really.
     
  5. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    as far as i know you need a programmer to program YAOSM

    and i hate it when people reply in EVERY topic about a modchip "just softmod". that is not what the op is asking, so lets keep it on topic. k?
     
  6. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,523
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    MOST families have people who are semi-retarded when it comes to using electronic devices. It is to complicated for them to mess with loaders and such and they would just rather put a disk in and play just like normal. This is where a mod chip comes in. Sure you can do it with DarkCorps but then the disk only reads at 3x and games like SSBB and Mario Galaxy tend to stutter a lot. A mod chip allows 6x read and prevents the stuttering.

    Need a better reason? Then you don't need a mod chip, but some people DO. 'nuff said.



    *edited for spelling
     
  7. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Or you can just buy a USB hardrive for like $50-$80 and use a usb loader. I would say that is easier then soldering a chip in or getting up every time you want to switch game.
    USB LOADING is more then 6x

    How difficult is it too have a channel called Neogamma on your wii menu so when you want to start a wii/GC game from disc you just click it and press A when it loads.
     
  8. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    Soldering the wii is actually pretty easy, and drivechips like YAOSM are cheaper than a hard drive. I can get a 100 pack of verbs for 17 dollars, which costs less than a hard drive, which would be more than enough for most people. Modchips have higher compatibility, too, I still see a few reds and oranges in gamecube and wii for usb loading. it is also easier to just use a modchip for something like it because you don't need to worry about incompatabilites or cios'es or updating, o.

    do not get me wrong, i am not against softmods at all, they have come a long way since 08... and i am sorry if it sounds like i am trashing them, my wii has a usb drive and is chipped, but i do have the problem, as i stated before about people saying this on every modchip thread. it is not what the op asked.
     
  9. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    IMHO, I prefer my old trusty WiiKey to all the USB loaders out there.
    Dunno, maybe I just like having DVDs of my games.
     
  10. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    The ideal setup is a combination of a hard mod and soft mods. Neither is worth naysaying.

    zant, if this topic is all for the question, you should be posting it on Ask GBAtemp to avoid terrible posts like the ones that follow.
    Also shame on you Riley and Twinretro, at least try to contribute to the topic rather than crap on it. For those that are experienced with soldering but not soft mods it is actually easier.
     
  11. Kiljaeden

    Member Kiljaeden GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    If the yaosm chip has already been programmed, you can upgrade it via a DVD IIRC. If it is not already programmed, you will need to program the chip using a programmer.

    I don't think yaosm has anyone working on it. Last upgrade was version 3.2 I think.
     
  12. thesund0g

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's funny, pretty much every thread goes that way.

    "Hey, I want a modchip, which chip should I get?"
    "Nah, you don't want a modchip, you want to softmod."
    "Hey, I want to softmod, how about running cIOScorp?"
    "Nah, you don't want that, use Neogamma."
    "Hey, I want to run Neogamma?"
    "Nah, screw that, try USB loading!"
    "Hey, I...uhh...want to do USB loading."
    "Nah, USB loading is so 2009, try SNEEK!"
    "Hey, what is SNEEK and how do I get SNEEK running?"
    "LOL noob, tl;dr, rtfm modmii etc."

    Yeah, very helpful for everyone.
     

Share This Page