Softmod or Hardmod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Majroa, May 13, 2009.

May 13, 2009

Softmod or Hardmod by Majroa at 5:29 PM (1,304 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. Majroa
    OP

    Member Majroa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So a friend of mine wants to mod his Wii. I told him that softmod > hardmod. Is this true?
     
  2. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    To some people it is, I personally prefer hardmodding over softmodding, but thats just me.
     
  3. afnuke

    Member afnuke GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Tornado Alley
    Country:
    United States
    I had one softmodded.......until the GPU was fried. It worked great, with some tweaking on some of the software. It took about a week to get everything just the way I wanted it, and everytime I ran something I was holding my breath, always expecting a brick. It never did, and was okay, but now I got a new wii and put a chip in it. Ive never messed with any settings ......all my games work just fine with no tweaks or adjustments..........so Im going to say the 34 dollars was welllllllllll worth the money. Maybe after bootmii comes out, it will be a little "safer" ....and more control over stuff. as he said above, its my opinion after trying both. good luck.
     
  4. afnuke

    Member afnuke GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Tornado Alley
    Country:
    United States
    well........bootmii is out now.......so I guess it would depend if you can install mini into the boot or as an ios. I have a new one, which would make it impossible for the boot option, and its just not that special installed as an ios, a nintendo update could wipe it out easily....and again, just more work and risk of bricking. If you have the old wii's bootmii is the way to go (beta isnt fully functional yet, but no worrys, the team will have it tweaked in no time now) Does anyone know how to tell if you have one of wiis that you can install it to the boot? is it serial number based?
     
  5. adriande2

    Member adriande2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    United States
    It can be.
    I personally softmodded my Wii, It takes more steps but as long as you don't turn off your Wii in the process, you'll be ok.
    Just tell your friend that if you update your Wii to 4.0, your only choice to to hardmod.
     
  6. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    A hardmod will always work, you don't have to worry about system updates. That's the big advantage.
    And a softmod will read the disc a bit slower. Now for most games that isn't a problem. But in some games with full motion video for example, it will stutter.
    But if you're fine with a softmod, that will work just fine of course, and it's free! A chip will cost you about 30 to 60 euro I guess, even more if you don't install it yourself.
     
  7. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    modchips are detectable, and if ninty want to, they can easily fry your wii on any time they want, but you dont really have to worry about that...
     
  8. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    They also have a doomsday device. But don't worry cause they'll never use it.
     
  9. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if they really could detect modchips, they would have done something against it. The only thing that came close, was the new protection introduced with mario galaxy. But that was easily solved.
     
  10. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    here's a good site for you... http://wiiscenewatch.blogspot.com/
     
  11. Ch4iS

    Newcomer Ch4iS Newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Australia

    They are not allowed to do this, the absolute maximum they can do is ban you from the online side of the console. ie. like the xbox 360.

    They will have a legal battle on their hands if they start frying consoles.


    Only problem with hardmods and the new D2 Nothing/D3 is the read speed on the Drivekey or wasabi DX. From what I have read the console itself locks the read speed to 3x so I am not sure if they will get around this, but it is not a major issue all games run fine just a few videos play a bit laggy from what I have seen.

    But I have never tried a softmod myself.
     
  12. afnuke

    Member afnuke GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Tornado Alley
    Country:
    United States
    my old Homebrewed wii lagged more than my new one which is hardmodded with a xenowii version 2. its suppose to be locked to 3X also, but I had way more lag on games with the backup launchers, now there is very little. I still say hardmod is a plus
     

Share This Page