Softmod n00b - slight confusion with conflicting guides

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WhyAyeMan, Nov 23, 2014.

1. WhyAyeMan
    OP

WhyAyeMan Newbie

Newcomer
    Nov 23, 2014
    Hi modders !

I'm OK as far as computers go, but Im new to Wii modding.

I want to mod a black Wii 4.3E (recently acquired) with a nice collection of games I'd like to run from a removable drive. I've read a bunch of guides and watched a load of youtube vids but I'm a little hesitant to get stuck in.

First off, obviously there are a load of out of date guides so I've done my best to ignore these. From what's left there seems to be several ways to do it. Fair enough. However I'm getting some conflicting info from various sources. I'm hoping someone can help me go in the right direction.

Here are some of the issues that confuse me.

• Most of the things I read say use the letterbomb hack then hackmii to install the homebrew channel, looks straight forward enough and thought that's the way I'll do it. I recently read a couple articles saying modmii is the way to go these days but the guides were pretty vague saying just do this, do that, do the other and your done. No mention of homebrew channel or hackmii etc. Now I know some of these guides may be written by fools who think they are pros, so I'm not sure which to trust. Can anyone briefly give me pros/cons regarding these methods?

• My wiimote has built-in motion plus. Some guides say you can't use it to softmod. I've read a couple that say it is OK to use it. Others don't mention it as an issue (especially those "mod any wii" guides). Whats the situation with this? Will I need a none motion plus wiimote for softmod?

• From what I'm reading it appears USB HDD is the only way to go. Will a cheapy USB stick be OK to use instead of HDD?

OK, so besides those little issues here is my goal :

• I'd like to softmod and run Wii games from wbfs files (not interested in GC, VC or wiiware).