So Wiikey config disc only works on v3.0?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Brian117, Aug 12, 2008.

Aug 12, 2008
  1. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Was browsing some installation guides and found a FAQ on some website, and found this:
    I have v3.2U on my Wii...and is now worried about this. I haven't installed my Wiikey yet. Will install it Thursday. But what should I do? I have already burned the config ISO to a DVD+RW disc. I also have V3 of a Wiikey.

    So basically my question is, Am I screwed since I have v3.2U?
     
  2. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm on 3.2E (E, U and J are all the same, really) and they all boot fine. There's nothing to worry about. You're not screwed at all. It'll boot fine, don't worry.

    Can I just say though, if the config disc doesn't boot, it's because you have used a DVD+RW disc. DVD+x discs tend not work, whereas DVD-x discs usually do. Bug they might boot fine, but if it doesn't, there's your problem.
     
  3. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    Get the GCOS one, thats what I have and it works perfectly.
     
  4. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, so I'm fine with keeping my firmware to v3.2U while installing the Wiikey and inserting the config disc afterward to configure the settings?

    I don't own a gamecube controller. But I heard you can use the reset button on the wii to scroll and select the settings for the wiikey if you don't have a gamecube controller.

    I'm really worried now about owning DVD+RW's though. Spent $15 for them. I would hate to be owning useless DVD's. But I shouldn't worry because on the Wiikey official website, it says it supports DVD+RW.
     
  5. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What it says is not what it seems to mean, though. I'v not used DVD+x's, so I can't comment, i've only ever used DVD-R/W's which work perfectly every time.
     
  6. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    The FAQ you quoted is correct. Your region free will probably not be set to 'ON' when you install your WiiKey. Since your Wii is already at 3.0 or above it will see the header/title of your config disc and reject it. As a previous poster said just download the GCOS version for your region and it will work fine. Set the region free to 'ON' and then it will accept all GC discs since this also bypasses the header/title checks added in 3.0 and up.

    I've used DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD+R DL and DVD-RW with my WiiKey. I've only tried one brand of DVD+RW (Sony) and my Wii couldn't recognize them at all.
     
  7. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Uh I am so confused x_x!!!

    Whats the deal with this GCOS? You just said that the Wii won't read discs since I have firmware 3.2.

    Do I have to use the Wii downgrader and downgrade to 3.0? Then after configuring the Wiikey update it back to 3.2?

    Right now I regret buying this thing if I have to do all this crap. When I looked up information about it. It said NOTHING about having to have 3.0 in order for you to install it and make the config disc work.
     
  8. IceClimbers

    Newcomer IceClimbers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    I dunno 'bout Starfall, but are you Brian on TPS?
     
  9. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Relax. It's not that confusing or difficult. The update that was introduced in 3.0 only blocks certain GameCube discs based on the header/title. The config disc is one of them. You can run the disc as a GCOS version or a "Hex'd" (the header is hex edited) version. These both have headers/titles that are not blocked by the Wii. You do not need to downgrade your Wii at all. Just go back to the site the FAQ came from (wiinewz.com) and you will see the disc images there in the WiiKey section of their forum.

    After you install your WiiKey try the original config you have already burned. If it works then celebrate. If not, follow the instructions in the FAQ. It's really nothing to be stressed about. Save that for when you solder your WiiKey [​IMG]
     
  10. Brian117
    OP

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Haha, ok sweet. Thanks tons Lazycus. I will go check out the website and browse around the forums there.

    EDIT: Wow...just wow. I found everything I need there...They even have pre-made files I can just burn to a disc. Amazing. Thanks like, millions Lazycus
     

Share This Page