So what to keep my Wii up-to-date?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Rock Raiyu, Sep 3, 2009.

Sep 3, 2009
  1. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    So yeah, I've been out of the Wii scene for a long time. Haven't played a Wii game in several months and I plan to pick up my Wii again by playing Okami (for the first time) and other games I missed out on. Including playing Muramasa when it comes out in a few days. So what I want to know is:

    1. I have Softmii 2.0 installed on my Wii now. And I want to play both Wii and Gamecube games through the disc channel. What do I need to get full compatibility?
    2. Anything I need to install on the Wii so it won't brick?
    3. Can the Wii play DVD-9 games if I have Softmii installed? I plan to play Metroid Prime Trilogy.
    4. Is there anything new (like IOS) I should be aware of?

    Also, please put any input any info you may have or know that I need to be aware of cause I don't want to risk messing up the family Wii.

    Thanks.
     
  2. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    1] use cioscorp 3.3
    2] install bootmii as boot2 and make a nand backup
    3] softmii is not a mod, its a guide. cioscorp will handle all your loading of games.
    4] IOS60 lets you play wiiware/virtual console games off the sd card and is the only IOS needed to update to 4.1
     
  3. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so I need cioscorp 3.3? How do I go about installing it? Do I just install it over Softmii? or do I have to uninstall then install cioscorp?
     
  4. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    softmii is not a program. it a guide.
    you dont need cioscorp, its not essential.
    it allows you to play backups via the disc channel.
    just install bootmii and make a nand backup then
    just find out where to get cioscorp then install it.

    just install cioscorp 3.3 and your good.
     
  5. iceissocold

    Newcomer iceissocold Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Cioscorp 3.3 will play all backups through the disc channel Wii and GC. It will also play your real Wii games but will not play real GC games and give you an error when loading up from the menu screen and disc screen.
     
  6. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Install 3.3 only, no need to remove an old version.

    Also, never uninstall the cIOSCORP wads in wad manager. That deletes all your IOSes and leads to bricking.
     
  7. EtherealX

    Member EtherealX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    It's not direct disc channel loading, but you should take a peek at SoftChip. It's a backup loader with an autoboot feature. It effectively works just like the disc channel (with custom settings) but without the game banner. Oh.. and, you don't need to install CiosCorp.
     
  8. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Install BootMii to Boot2 first and make a NAND Back up FIRST!
    BootMii is the best way to fix a bricked Wii, 99% of Bricks can be fixed with BootMii.

    If BootMii will not install to Boot2 then install Pre-Loader v29 its the next best thing.

    This way if you install anything you don't like or some how brick the Wii installing anything you can fix it real easy!

    Good Luck.

    I cant wait for Muramasa, it looks alot like Odin Sphere a grate 2D PS2 game.
    Lol, here's proof.
    http://ps2.ign.com/objects/884/884204.html
     
  9. markedmanner

    Newcomer markedmanner Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United States
    I say use Neogamma R7 there is even a channel for it if you look in the forums. I dont why people insist on using Cioscorp. It reeks havoc on your system. I simply have Waninkokos cIOS38 Rev14 and Neogamma R7 for loading backups and USB Loader GX for usb loading. No need to install Cioscorp. I have yet to find a dame NTSC or Pal that I cant play with these things.
     
  10. oxMUDxo

    Member oxMUDxo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Missouri - USA
    Country:
    United States
    I second that!
    I sometimes hear horror stories about CiosCorp..
    Tho those problems may have been fixed.
     
  11. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States

    Those horror stories were usually not really problems with CIOSCORP itself, but just noobs that don't understand what it actually does and how to deal with it when doing other things because it kinda affects EVERYTHING.
     

Share This Page