So I'm fixing a semi-bricked Japanese Wii...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by R2DJ, Jun 12, 2008.

Jun 12, 2008
  1. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Topic about the semi-bricked Wii

    So I have downloaded the Japanese firmware. On Friday, I will install it in their Wii. But I'm worried about things:

    1) Wii is Japanese. They are using it in an old PAL TV. I don't think it has NTSC because it' a small and old telly. From what I've researched, Japanese Wiis will show a distorted and black and white image on PAL TVs. Is this true? They currently have 3.2E (installed by a legit PAL Mario Kart Wii) so things are going good graphics-wise.
    2) The last time the Wii had an update was when they first played Mario Kart Wii (PAL, Legit). If I switch it to the Japanese firmware, will they still be able to play it? They also have other legit PAL games. Will they still work?

    Their legit games:
    Rampage
    Super Paper Mario
    Metroid
    Zack and Wiki

    They don't have an Internet connection so they only receive firmware updates via new games... [​IMG]

    I just want to update their Wii to change the system because the bad frame rate makes me sick (currently set to 50Hz)

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can someone reply...

    [​IMG]
     
  3. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    i think you will be ok.

    Btw, if you have the NTSC-J Internet channel, please dump it!
     
  4. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  5. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the answer was already given in the other thread.. use the semi-brick fixer.
    The video output the wii uses in the menu is hard-coded, is NOT changable thru a firmware update. So the wii output will remain the exact same as before.
     

Share This Page